We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but I think the Herodion is better value....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hera Hotel to your Saves list
Hera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falirou 9, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not bad, but I think the Herodion is better value....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

When we first arrived in Athens we were shunted to the Herodion Hotel, even though we had originally booked for the Hera. When we returned to Athens before leaving Greece we ended up at the Hera Hotel, but was left feeling that perhaps we should have opted for the Herodion instead.

The hotel itself was not bad. It is very conveniently located, within walking distance of Plaka and the Parthenon, although the narrow street in front was quite congested. We were given a room on the first floor, which had a very small narrow window with no view whatsoever. The room was small though not uncomfortable. The bed was somewhat saggy but did not interfere with our sleep comfort. What was problematic was the room heater, which was difficult to control, and we often ended up with an almost oven-like temperature in the room. Fortunately we could just open the small window to provide some cooling relief. The toilet was strange. I think it was meant to be handicap friendly, but that meant an over-sized toilet bowl which was extremely uncomfortable. The shower stall was also too narrow, with no proper screens, so every shower was a struggle which left the whole bathroom wet. There was free wifi in the room, but this was often not working for some reason on our mobile phones. Breakfast was decent and ample. The wifi is much better in the breakfast room.

There is a very small basement car-park, which was helpful if you had a rental car.

The reception counter deserve some specific comment, and shows how important it is for hotels to deal with this issue. When we arrived at the hotel after a very long drive from Varoia, we drove up onto the hotel front as the street in front was already over-congested and without any street parking. The evening male receptionist popped his head out and made some condescending remarks about our driving up to the hotel. He made no effort to help us unload our bags and to assist our arrival. It was only after I complained about the lack of street parking, that he pointed out there was a small basement carpark. Quite frankly, we were pretty turned off by this time, and if not for the fact that the room was already pre-paid, we might have gone down the road to find another hotel. Having made this point about the bad evening reception we received, I should be fair to point out that the next morning, the male receptionist was uber-friendly and helpful when I need to find the way to the car rental agency to return the car.

Overall not an unpleasant hotel, but I will rate it below par because of the poor reception we received.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am really sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay.

Regarding your comments on the room, as checked, you were allocated on Standard twin room, however, upon your arrival, you requested a double bed room, where the only available, was the one that we offered you. Indeed we do have some handicap friendly rooms, with a specially designed larger bathroom, as you were informed upon check-in. Each room has an individual heating control system. Perhaps you had turned on the heating, which could explain the warm atmosphere in your room.

For your arrival, I am sorry to hear that our receptionist didn’t assist you as you expected. However, as I was informed, he came out to check if everything was ok since you had parked the car at the entrance of the hotel, instead of the parking. Then, one of his colleagues assisted you with your luggages and parking the car, since the receptionist was occupied with other guests.

Once again I am really sorry that you were not satisfied with our services. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore our good reputation and hospitality on your next trip to Athens.

Best,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    216
    45
    19
    9
See reviews for
59
276
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We travelled with our entire family and needed 3 rooms. We were on the first floor so didn't have great views but we were able to have connecting rooms and were all together so didn't mind. The rooms are tiny as are most European rooms but they had nice cupboard and closet space to unpack in and we were very comfortable. The breakfasts were quite delicious. The staff extremely friendly and helpful and the location was superb! The only con we experienced was the rooms were very warm, even in December but opening the doors to the balcony solved that problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. Its so nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay!

Hope to see you and your family again!

Best,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

If I would have known the hotel before I stayed there, I would have remained there my entire time in Athens, Greece. The people at the front desk were extremely helpful. The hotel is in the Akropoli... right next to the Acropolis and train/subway. It was super easy to get around the city from there and to the port (Piraeus). There are wonderful places to eat all around the hotel and at the hotel as well. The best part about the hotel was the awesome coffee shop next door - best latte I've ever had and the coolest barista/owner!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review! Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope to see you again really soon!!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great location, in a quiet street, walking distance to the Acropolis, Plaka, Temple of Olympeion Zeus, and even Syntagma.
Hotel staff were, without exception, cheerful, friendly and helpful. We felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its so nice to hear that you felt comfortable , since it's one of our main goals.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends , once again, on your next visit to Athens.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I began my first Greek vacation in Athens at the Hera Hotel...a small, basic hotel with a big heart. The best thing about the hotel is its location. It's perfect walking distance (5 minutes) to La Placa and right in the center of the city perfectly accessible to the new Acropolis museum (10-15 minutes walking) and a few blocks away from the Acropolis train station (The subway is super easy to navigate and all stops have English sub-titles). Other walkign distance highlights include Hadrian's Arch and Temple of Zeus (10 minutes).

The rooms were small - just like most European hotel rooms - but clean and definitely served its purpose. The only downside is the tiny elevator that fits 2 people at a time, so be prepared to walk up the stairs.

Highlights are the buffet breakfast (can you say yummy?) and the view of the Acropolis from the hotel restaurant.

Definitely a place to stay if you're making a quick stop in Athens and are interested in being close enough to the "action" to avoid taking taxis everywhere. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the Acropolis or the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review at Tripadvisor. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed our prime location is ideal for our visitors. You can reach almost everything within few minutes.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure of seeing you again!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location, just a few minutes walk to the metro station & Acropolis museum, and about 15 minutes to the Acropolis entrance. Safe area with lots of restaurants within a 2 - 20 minute walk.
We had a room with a balcony having a great view of the Parthenon, room was a little on the small side, but clean and well furnished. Bathroom was clean and had both tub and shower. HOWEVER, if you like to have a hot soak in the tub after a days walking be aware that plugs from the tubs have been removed! After some complaining the plugs were put back. I suspect they were trying to save on water costs. I suggest before booking you may wish to bring this point up. Although you would think for a 4 star hotel this should not be necessary. Also I recommend using the provided safe to lock up your valuables. We did this but my wife's new blouse disappeared sometime during our stay. We did bring this to the attention of the receptionist on checkout, but have not heard anything since. But for the these inconveniences I would have given the Hotel a top rating. Breakfast was excellent, location great, helpful staff, we stayed 7 nights and would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Richard R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On the matter of the bathroom, please note that the reason why we dont have plugs in the tubs is due to the problems caused by the blockage of the water pipes: As the pipes are narrow enough, when people take a bath and then they remove the plug, the water level in the manholes may rise above the top of the pipe. Consequently the water floods all over the bathrooms. For sure is not that we want to save water costs, but to avoid the unpleasant flooding problems.

Regarding your wife's blouse, I personally want to check the situation and find out what has happened. I would really appreciate if you could email me at info@herahotel and discuss the matter, in person.

Once again, thank you for your nice review. I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you once again.

Best

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ideal location close walking distance to all the sights of Athens in a reasonably quiet but safe residential area. Felt quite safe walking after dark as there is a very good selection of restaurants in the vicinity.
Now the Hotel:
Free three car garage which is a must if travelling round by car.Just watch the streets surrounding as the Athenians tend to park wherever they want to regardless of anything or anybody. Need to pull your side mirrors in on occasions as it gets quite tight and by the way, if you hire a car, the smaller the better as big doesn't fit. Watch the motorbikes as they are a law unto themselves and courtesy, safety and common sense were something that the riders were born without.
Well presented Hotel, clean reception with very helpful and polite staff.
Room quite small typically European but clean and well presented with balcony overlooking the street. If you want a room with a view of the Acropolis then be prepared to pay for a more expensive room on the higher floors.
Buffet breakfast was well supplied with hot and cold food and had a good choice of items available.Staff in the restaurant were helpful and unobtrusive, unlike some other hotels we have visited where they watch like hawks and intimidate to the extent that you feel guilty even eating.
There were a couple of cons
We had trouble with their free wifi connection...thought it was our computer but had it checked at a computer shop and it was working perfectly. Signal kept dropping out so can only assume that they have a router problem. The staff were extremely helpful resetting all the routers just to see if that helped but alas we continued to have the intermittent signal. The Hotel was having the system checked the day we booked out.
Warm rooms.....they turn off the air conditioner at the end of the summer season and turn on the heaters....don't know why as we were walking round Athens in short sleeve shirts in the last days of November. We slept with the balcony door open just to try and cool the room down..quite safe as there was only difficult access from the neighbouring balcony but that room was unoccupied. Would be fine later on in Jan and Feb but didn't work in November.

Overall this is an excellent place to stay and would thoroughly recommend. Located in the shadow of the Acropolis (500m) with a safe area full of restaurants and shops with public transport in the next street. We walked everywhere and found that the distances between places of interest were only a matter of a few hundred metres and so we just kept walking and were very glad we did so. Found some fascinating sights and spoke with some very interesting people. The only true way to experience Athens is to walk and discover thing that you would miss catching a bus or the Metro. Besides that it is good exercise!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your nice review.

I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Address: Falirou 9, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#54 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.