We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Arnis Street, Athens 11528, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 324 hotels in Athens
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Highly overpriced worn out hotel, that can hardly be categorized as a 5-star hotel. Simple breakfast in a very small room. Location is OK, but still not close to the interesting sight-seeings. The only good point is the sleep quality as the hotel consists of small apartments on a quiet street.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
17
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

This place is not 5*, I would not give it a 3* even... may be 2*.
This place:
- has very outdated interior
- doesn't look very clean
- you cannot access the hotel when you have difficulties climbing stairs or your luggage is very heavy (nobody will help you)
- comes without room service

The receptionist was friendly although tried to cheat me with my credit card first (asked for my PIN number to authorize the price upfront... nice joke but wasn't meant to be one).
A non-smoking room was confirmed but non-smoking room here means that you don't have to smoke there (all other guests before and after will smoke) - they simply don't have non-smooking rooms. I got the keys for some rooms to have a look but this wasn't convenient at all. I also didn't feel very safe at this place, one room shown to me was actually used by someone else,...
They offered me to stay at the same rate in the newly renovated Crowne Plaza where they have non-smooking rooms (as the rooms in this hotel were really smelling bad). This was of course not true for this rate and my impression was that this was the originial intention of confirming a non-smooking room (to sell the higher priced rooms at another not so well known hotel of the same chain)...Anyway, I accepted because having no other choice at this moment.

The best thing is, that taxi driver don't know this place very well and will bring you to the Crowe Plaza (formerly Holiday Inn) first - stay there if you have the choice.

  • Liked — Nothing. May be this hotel is a good choice for heavy smokers as they can smoke everywhere.
  • Disliked — Everything. Cannot recommend this place. Stay in the airport's transit area better.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

The company I was visiting booked me here for April 10-12, 2008 but I only stayed one night: it's supposed to be an all suites 5 star hotel but it's not 5 stars. It is known as Holiday Inn Suites (it also appears on the page of the Holiday Inn) but it's not a part of the group. Pros: very quiet, and very large rooms with a nice couch-lounge area. That's about it. Internet for business traveler is a bad wireless that disconnects every 5 minutes. Decor of the room is like an 80s nightmare. There is no room service (this is bad for solo business travelers). Breakfast is forgettable. Price is high....and for an additional 40 euros, the following day I got an executive room at the Hilton, with terrace and view over the Acropolis. It's good for old travelers, as long as you do not pay over 100 euros a night because it's not worth more (and I paid 160...)

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

The hotel sits in a residencial area, with no nearby restaurants. This is an issue when the restaurant is closed by 9:30PM. The rooms are huge, that is true, and set up for the biz traveller, but be prepared to pay 19EUR a day to use the internet.

The non-smoking rooms are recycled smoking rooms and they haven't made a good job cleaning them, same goes with the carpet. Mould in the bathroom and dump around the windows.

The hotel is very outdated, and so says the bedding. Is crying for renovation! There are better hotels for the price. Unless you are planning to invite the whole office to your room, try some place else.

Reception floor rooms, very noisy.

  • Liked — Room size, huge rooms.
  • Disliked — Tobacco smell in rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

My hotel was changed just before I left for Greece and I didn't know what to expect. I was delighted with the entire experience. The web site pictures don't do this small, intimate hotel justice. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful always. The suites were large with plenty of closet space, a small kitchenette and good size bath. I didn't have a view but the street was extremely quiet in the evening and just a few steps from St. Sofias Avenue and access to the Metro and other transportation. There is a small convience store on one corner and a great bakery just around the other corner. I highly recommend the Holiday Suites for your stay in Athens.

  • Liked — The staff were amazing
  • Disliked — Location - no views
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Not to be confused with Holiday Inn, which is located within a block or two from Holiday Suites. Great location on a quiet street without car traffic, a short walk from the Megaro Mousikis subway station, two stops away from Syntagma Square. The hotel will not disappoint a demanding American tourist, as it offers everything that's needed for a pleasant stay, and more. There are only about 20-25 rooms, so the lobby is never crowded, checking in and out is no problem at all, and the friendly folks at the reception desk had the time and the patience to answer all our questions. Our room was large and clean, the bathroom was just as good. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

I have been travelling to Athens for years, being originally from Greece. For years I used the Athens Hilton or the Athens Caravel, until the Olympics came and made them too expensive. After a long search I was lucky to find the Holiday Suites. Located in a most convenient location in the near-center of town it offers much more than the price would suggest. Within two blocks you can jump on the subway. You can walk to the National Gallery and some of the Athens Museums, which are within a five to 10 minutes walk. You can also walk to the center of the city, Syntagma Sq. within 20 minutes. The rooms are large and able to accomodate two adults and two children in one room!! Now, that is a rarety in Athens. The rooms are large (more like a suite) and well set up with all amenities. The bathrooms are excellent. Being on a pedestrian street, it is quite and allows for a restful sleep. I have not tried the breakfast, which I find too expensive (not more so than other Greek hotels). However, within a block or two you will find a number of good breakfast establishments. A nice additional feature is that you can use all the amenities (pool, parking, etc) of the Holiday Inn Hotel which is just two blocks away. For the business as well as the two-children family this is a real gem!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Suites

Address: 4 Arnis Street, Athens 11528, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#48 Spa Hotel in Athens
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#50 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#63 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guests of Holiday Suites can use the facilities of Crowne Plaza such as: the roof-top swimming pool, the gyma, the sauna, the restaurant and the bar. Crowne Plaza Athens is only 600 meters away from Holiday Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.