We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Service,as you get all you paid of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NJV Athens Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NJV Athens Plaza to your Saves list
NJV Athens Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Vas. Georgiou A' Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Greece
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Honest Service,as you get all you paid of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I travel often to Athens for bussines purposes, and I ve stayed in Plaza (Syntagma Sq) many times. I totally recommend this Hotel, as it is in the center of Athens, you can sightseeing many things even in walking distance and the hotel will offer everything you need. Spacious rooms, very tidy and clean, big bathrooms, luxury and very polite staff. Your room will be quiet, even if it is on one of the main roads, but better ask for upper floors, as you will also enjoy some view to Acropolis. Breakfast buffet is full and complete, with many choices and they will make you any coffe you will ask, for free (not only filter). They also serve breakfast in room. The prices seem to be normal for the stars category (not cheap) but it's expected, as it is one of the Classic and well known hotels, not suitable for low-budget travellers. Also, in winter, there can be found a very nice restaurant and a piano bar, with chesterfield furnichure that probably you enjoy you, by staying indoors.
As the whole situation, is service and luxury oriented, you will really enjoy a pleastant stay, and at the ground floor lobby bar-cafe, you will probably find some of Greek Parliament Ministers taking their coffee...!
Lots of shopping options (Ermou str) around and also Plaka, Agora, Syntagma and Kolonaki for visiting arouna, and Metro-Railway station, plus Express Airport Bus Lines, really near...
PS: Due to many "traps"-hotels that you may found around, Plaza Hotel (As their side, King George, and Grande Bretagne) are a safe and sure option in a Athens that the accomodation (status of other hotels) maybe an unpleasant surprise if you don't know.

Dimitrios (GREECE)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    168
    62
    26
    11
See reviews for
76
160
31
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I stayed here for two nights at the end of a two week trip to Athens & Mykonos. It has a great location; very central to the sites, you can walk to the Plaka and the shopping area, and the metro is right there on the square. The rooms are big but a little dark (we had a view of a wall); great shower (the best of my trip) and ok beds with good feather pillows. The staff is friendly and helpful. You do have to pay for wi-fi. Nice little oasis to rest in. The location can not be beat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed in this hotel, and found it excellent in every way. They upgraded us to a room with a view of the Acropolis, and it was beautful at night. The hotels is in the best possible area, right across the street from Sytagma Square. On the weekends there was a concert and public entertainment in the Square. The pedestrian street also starts at Sytagma Square.

The people who worked at the hotel were very nice and helpful, and the hotel was beautiful.

When we returned from our cruise we stayed another weekend in Athens, and I had booked rooms at a 5 star hotels that is supposed to be the most elegant in Athens. It was very nice, but I thought it was too stuffy, and I prefer this hotel, and for the price it is a much better deal.

If I return to Athens I will stay at this hotel again!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We spent 5 wonderful nights at The NJV Athens Plaza which is located in the heart of Athens, on Syntagma Square, a few steps from Parliament, where we were able to view the changing of the guards. The metro stop is on the corner. The tram terminal is a block away and from there one can reach the beaches inexpensively. In 10 minutes of easy walking you can be in the heart of the fascinating Plaka district and the historic Acropolis area. Many sightseeing tours also leave from the Syntagma Square area, which is active twenty-four hours a day, with restaurants, kiosks, etc. busy constantly. The fashionable shops of pedestrians-only Ermou Street are around the corner.

The hotel is everything one could hope for. The staff is attentive and professional. The abundant and attractive breakfast buffet, which was included in our tour package, had an extensive selection of items, to suit any and all tastes. It included, just to list some items, fruits, juices, pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, fish, eggs prepared several ways, sausages, many types of breads, cereals, etc. All this was presented in a very attractively decorated, comfortable dining room.

Our room was clean, modern, and supplied with all the conveniences. From our private balcony we were able to see the top of Lykavittos Hill. (That is a place you must visit for its spectacular views of Athens and its surroundings. We took a taxi to get up there and used the funicular for the trip down.) The staff of the hotel were helpful in answering all of our questions and assisting us in every way possible. We enjoyed our stay at the Athens Plaza very much and would love to visit Athens again and stay at the wonderful Athens Plaza. George and Sondra

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

The location is superb--on Syntagma Square and within easy walking distance of all of the classical sites. From that standpoint it was ideal. However, the rates were unbelievable and, as is the wont of such places, everything was additional, including a $25 daily charge for internet access. The service was good but not exceptional and, again, was laden with the expectation of tips for every service. Simply not worth the expense unless you only travel to experience the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

I stayed here for a week as I needed to be near the Grand Bretagne for a conference but didn't want to pay the rates for the GB.
The NJV is right on Constitution Square, 2 doors away from the GB. The lobby is very nicely laid out with seating areas and is light and airy. Reception is a bit small for the size of the hotel and, when I arrived, there was a mass of people surrounding it. After about a 10 minute wait, check in was straight forward.
I booked a standard double room at EUR180 a night - a cheap rate considering the price of the 2 neighbouring hotels. The room was huge - large wardrobes, big desk, seating area and balcony. The bed was 2 singles pushed together, both of which were old and saggy. Overall, the room needed a refurb but was adequate for my needs. The bathroom was, again, large and well maintained with good quality soaps etc.
The in room internet was charged at a whopping EUR19 per day plus VAT. As I was there on business, I needed to be online daily which added up. However, if you have a wireless enabled laptop, you can access the free wifi from the square if you go out onto the balcony. useful if you just need to be online briefly.

On the whole, nice enough and a great location.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

I visited the Athens Plaza many times. It's a great hotel regarding the location. It's in the center most of Athens. You just get out of the main entrance and you are on Syndagma Square.

The people working there offered me the best service somebody could expect from a Hotel . The reception personnel is terrificly professional but at the same time caring, understanding and helpful. They found for me tickets for the theatre and for a music concert, they made all my restaurant bookings and when the say "Good morning" or " Good evening " they mean it with their eyes. The porters always there to find a taxi for you or to help you with your luggage. Even the on duty managers are there ready to help in any upcoming problem or need.

The rooms , I always stay at a Junior Suite, are very presentable, and the view over Syndagma Square and the Parthenon is just stunning. Of course the Hotel needs in the next years to get a renovation but still it's very appealing.

The breakfast is rich and the scrabbled eggs the best I had in a Hotel. This Hotel can make your trip in Athens a great success. Thank you guys!!!

  • Liked — They make you feel at home in the centre of Athens
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NJV Athens Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NJV Athens Plaza

Address: 2, Vas. Georgiou A' Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NJV Athens Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located right on prestigious Syntagma (Constitution)Square, opposite the Houses of Parliament with the changing of the Guards and within walking distance from the Acropolis/Acropolis museum and all places of interest, museums, Plaka, Monastiraki, Kolonaki, shopping and night life districts.For a supplement deluxe rooms can be offered with magnifiscent views of the Acropolis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NJV Athens Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Njv Athens Plaza Hotel Athens
Njv Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NJV Athens Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.