We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice staff, good hotel, but would need of a lift up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NJV Athens Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NJV Athens Plaza to your Saves list
NJV Athens Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Vas. Georgiou A' Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece (Syntagma)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ljubljana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“very nice staff, good hotel, but would need of a lift up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel is supposed to be one of 3 top hotels in Athens. The location is very good. Rooms are comfortable, but nothing special and could do with a bit of renovation. In the rooms I especially liked that they all have balconies (rare in city hotels) and very nice marble bathrooms. Breakfast is ok, but nothing special. Breakfastroom is a very pleasant place. Staff is extremely nice. Official rate is very high, but I got a very good deal (130 EUR/night), which is reflected in my Value rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments about the hotel. It was a pleasure to read you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and staff. Since we are continuously striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodation, we would like to thank you for your remarks, tips about facilities offered as it is through your observations that we are able to find ways of improving our product. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the N.J.V. Athens Plaza Hotel in the near future!
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    178
    71
    27
    11
See reviews for
79
172
32
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is in a very good location. The lobby was nicely renovated, clean, and had friendly staff.
The rest of the review may only apply to people who booked through HotWire so please ignore this review otherwise.

Basically, the room we got was pitiful. It had very old interior, outside the window was walls and other windows just a few feet away with ventilation fan noise coming from somewhere. My guess is they give renovated nice square facing rooms (haven't seem these so not sure if they are renovated or not) for full price customers and rent out these inner rooms cheaper on places like HotWire. I would recommend the manager to either remove the hotel from HotWire or make it significantly cheaper and list it as a 3-star hotel room (not a 5-star hotel room). It was basically advertised as a 5-star hotel room at a 4-star hotel price, but was actually a 3-start hotel room.

Room Tip: Do not get the inner building facing rooms unless it's priced really really low, like under $70
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the N.J.V. Athens Plaza Hotel on your recent visit to Athens. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our excellent location and capable staff. We would also wish to thank you for the constructive comments expressed about our facilities regarding our inner rooms and would like to inform you that we’re in the middle of a partial renovation of this type of rooms, as our main priority is to satisfy our client’s needs and wants in order to provide them with the best in service and accommodation. We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your future visit to Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 days in May. The hotel is very well located and I must say the reception staff and the cleaners are nice and accommodating. Our biggest disappointment was the breakfast. I can honesty say this was shockingly bad, from the coffee we couldn't drink to the poor quality meat selection..We sent an email 2 months before our stay requesting gluten free bread, I asked for two days if there was any, nobody came back to me regarding this! Even though our stay was ok I think the hotel rooms are dated which is a real shame.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for your constructive comments. The points you have raised about our facilities & service are taken into serious consideration as our main priority is to satisfy our client’s needs and wants. We would also like to express our deepest concern regarding your estimation of our Buffet breakfast & quality, since our effort is always to provide the most fresh & high quality products to all our Guests. It is through your observations that we are able to find ways of improving our product. We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with us once more on your future visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Lobby is a bit bare and lacking in atmosphere... Lobby bar and "tea-room" a little nondescript (for comparison's sake, go and have a drink at the bar of the Grande Bretagne, two doors up in the direction of the Hellenic Parliament). That said, the Reception is most efficient and helpful and the staff in the bar/tea-room are friendly and quick. The rooms are OK but a few essentials are missing (e.g. a kettle and tea/coffee as well as complimentary bottled water). Air conditioning is good, as is the TV. Well-stocked (though expensive) mini-bar. A small but irritating matter: wifi; it is a puzzle to me why some hotels - this one included - are still not making wifi available to their clients (over/above "one hour/day, in public areas") free of charge.. The alternative solutions are obvious, and not in the Hotel's own interest. Breakfast is very nice; excellent buffet with very good coffee. And, there also, efficient and friendly staff. Newspapers supplied: nice touch. The hotel is superbly located, on the city's famous Constitution Square. Shall definitely go back, when next in Athens (hoping that hints regarding water and wifi have found a favourable echo between now and then..!)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments about the hotel. It was a pleasure to read you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and staff. Since we are continuously striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodation, we would like to thank you for your remarks, tips about facilities offered as it is through your observations that we are able to find ways of improving our product. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the N.J.V. Athens Plaza Hotel in the near future!
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Although it's a 5 star hotel, but it's rather old. If u are ok with that, then it's pretty decent. For me, I felt that it's not value for money. I would not have stayed in this hotel the next time. The staff is friendly and helpful. Wifi cost money too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for having chosen the N.J.V. Athens Plaza Hotel on your recent visit to Athens. We wish to thank you for the constructive comments expressed about our facilities and we would like to inform you that we’re in the middle of a partial renovation of our rooms & public spaces as our main priority is to satisfy our client’s needs and wants in order to provide them with the best in service and accommodation. We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity & privilege to welcome you back on your future visit to Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was our 2nd stay in this hotel and we are glad we chose it again. It is located in the perfect position close to major landmarks, shops, transport etc. The rooms are spacious and perfect for a family of 4. The staff were all very friendly. Again this year we found that exchanging dollars at the front desk gave the best rate that we found anywhere.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these, especially when they are expressed by our most valued repeater guests, are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service and facilities our guests have every right to expect and to which we are committed to offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the N.J.V. Athens Plaza Hotel in the near future.
Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel is very old and I think need to be renovation .the breakfast of this hotel is very cheep ,I think this hotel it can be very nice if they will fix it and then we will visit again,very good position .



  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest, we wish to thank you for your constructive comments. The points you have raised about our facilities are taken into serious consideration as we are continuously striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodation. It is through your observations that we are able to find ways of improving our product. We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NJV Athens Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NJV Athens Plaza

Address: 2, Vas. Georgiou A' Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#48 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NJV Athens Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located right on prestigious Syntagma (Constitution)Square, opposite the Houses of Parliament with the changing of the Guards and within walking distance from the Acropolis/Acropolis museum and all places of interest, museums, Plaka, Monastiraki, Kolonaki, shopping and night life districts.For a supplement deluxe rooms can be offered with magnifiscent views of the Acropolis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your NJV Athens Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Njv Athens Plaza Hotel Athens
Njv Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NJV Athens Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.