We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to a Great Cruise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NJV Athens Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NJV Athens Plaza to your Saves list
NJV Athens Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Vas. Georgiou A' Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 323 Hotels in Athens
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great start to a Great Cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As our 16 day Greek Island cruise was (I thought) very affordable - I was pleasantly surprised by the luxury afforded at this hotel in Athens where we spent the first 2 nights before the cruise. Huge room - every amenity from fridge to safe to little shoe bags.....and a fantastic spread for the breakfast buffet each morning. Beautifully clean - and smack dab in the middle of Athens...right on Government Square.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest, we are delighted you left our hotel with the excellent impressions you describe. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we certainly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel once more, on many future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    164
    60
    26
    11
See reviews for
74
158
31
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at the NJV Hotel in Athens with my husband and two children. The location of this hotel is excellent! We were given an upper floor room and the view of the Acropolis was beyond description! It was truly spectacular. The rooms were clean and the staff was really nice!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the N.J.V. Athens Plaza when visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. It is a pleasure reading that you were satisfied with our services and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, at an excellent price, probably because there wasn't a conference on at that time, so worth checking. A similar hotel in the equivalent part of London would have cost three times as much. This is in Syntagma Square, in the heard of Athens, ten minutes walk from the Plaka. Our room was quiet and very comfortable, the bathroom was nice, good shower and bath, staff were courteous and helpful, and the aircon was nice and quiet. The hotel is literally two mins walk from Syntagma metro station, which is on a direct line to the airport, so very convenient for a stopover in Athens on route to an island, which is why we were there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest, your kind comments were greatly appreciated and we are delighted your experience at the N.J.V. Athens Plaza Hotel was so positive. Your comments are the best motivation our staff can have to continue offering the service you describe in such glowing terms. We hope to have you back with us on your future visits to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in mid-May 2012.
The good points: location can't be beaten - right on Syntagma Square and so central to transport (metro, airport bus, etc). We also found the hotel to be quiet and peaceful. Staff in the main were quite attentive and helpful.
Not so good: No free wifi - when we enquired we were told we had to pay for in-room connection, so we did - found out a day later that Syntagma Square has free wifi!! Would have preferred the staff had been more helpful with this! The decor and furnishings are old and a little tatty for the star rating and the price. Some small maintenacne issues - e.g. toilet paper holder, light fitting in bathroom - both loose - don't refelct a 5 - 6 star hotel at all. Pillows were so thick I found it impossible to use them. Bed was hard and I usually like a fairly firm bed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest, we wish to thank you for your constructive comments. The points you have raised about our facilities are taken into consideration as our main priority is to satisfy our client’s needs and wants. Since we are continuously striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodation, your assistance in this regard is greatly appreciated. It is through your observations that we are able to find ways of improving our product. We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with us once more on your future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our family simply loves this hotel and the main reason is the staff. We travel around the world and have stayed in many of the great hotels in the world and what sets this apart from the other high end hotels in Athens is the heart and soul of the people who staff this hotel. From George the Front Desk Manager the the Chief Bellman to Steffi at the front desk and those whose names are not at the tip of my tongue...have to say hands down it is the one large hotel that still gives you that warm friendly service. We spoke with the staff and they are simply happy to be there and say that top management is wonderful to them. They have new Aptiva toiletries in the bathrooms now and I just loved them. The view of the Acropolis from our room was amazing and magical. All in all another great stay in a wonderful hotel. All of our friends who we have recommended this hotel to have been very happy. Kids are treated very well. Double thumbs up.

Room Tip: Top floors have better views if you book a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Athens. We were very happy to read that you had enjoyed our accommodation and services. WE WISH TO THANK YOU AGAIN FOR YOUR VALUABLE COMMENTS (and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip). It is always a pleasure to be able to pass on such appreciative comments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is a High Standard Hotel 5+ Star, perfect location, very centric and with walking distance to most of the major sights in Athens, across the street from Syntagma Square, in the center of Athens and near the Greek Parliament. Plenty of taxis available and the metro station is on the square.

We had a perfect 7 days visit, gorgeous/clean rooms, outstanding service, and great concierge support. We were treated like Royalty by: Nikos, Tassos, Manuel, Steffie, Vassiliki, Maria, Dimitris and there are others that I was unable to get their names. This staff was amazing, pleasant, and helpful; they made us feel like home. The special attention we received from everyone there was superior. I am looking forward in visiting Greece and staying at the NJV. Now I understand why my son loves Greece!!!!

To the General Manager of NJV, CONGRATULATIONS for the flawless service and extraordinarily well run hotel. YOUR STAFF is FABULOUS!!!!!

Calderon Family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the N.J.V. Athens Plaza when visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. It is a pleasure reading that you were satisfied with our services and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is not the sort of hotel where I would typically stay as I prefer small boutique hotels. However, my son and I did stay there for one night at the end of a Mediterranean cruise along with the rest of our group. The room was spacious and had a very nice marble bathroom and also a balcony. We ordered some tea from room service and it came quite quickly. The food at the lobby lounge and also at the breakfast buffet was perfectly fine, though nothing special. I cannot comment on the rates as our stay was included in our cruise. It definitely seemed to be the sort of hotel that caters to groups. It faces that main square where the Parliament is located, which I guess is convenient as long as there is not any rioting going on.

Room Tip: I think they all have balconies and face that main square. I am not sure though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay at the N.J.V. Athens Plaza. It was a pleasure reading your positive comments and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Regarding the cost of the internet, we would like to inform you that it is in line with other same category hotels. We look forward to welcoming you to the N.J.V. Athens Plaza on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NJV Athens Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NJV Athens Plaza

Address: 2, Vas. Georgiou A' Street | Syntagma Square, Athens 10564, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#43 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NJV Athens Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located right on prestigious Syntagma (Constitution)Square, opposite the Houses of Parliament with the changing of the Guards and within walking distance from the Acropolis/Acropolis museum and all places of interest, museums, Plaka, Monastiraki, Kolonaki, shopping and night life districts.For a supplement deluxe rooms can be offered with magnifiscent views of the Acropolis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NJV Athens Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Njv Athens Plaza Hotel Athens
Njv Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NJV Athens Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.