We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Athens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adams Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Adams Hotel to your Saves list
Adams Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Chairefontos | at Thalou, Athens 10558, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location in Athens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location is great, so close to everything and we had a lovely view of the Acropolis. It's an easy train ride from the airport. The hotel facilities are basic and it's an older style building. We had a double bed which was fine but the mattress wasn't very comfortable. I think if the hotel replaced the mattress then our stay would have been much better. Overall it's a good place to stay in Athens and within walking distance to most things.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights at the beginning of our trip to Greece. The hotel was in a great location, it was in the plaka district which is near all the little shops and within walking distance of the Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Ancient Agora, Hadrian's arch as well as the downtown garden/park area. The hotel was clean, well kept. Breakfast was not included in the price, but with all the great restaurants around, it really wasn't necessary. The bed was decent, there was a lot of room in the room. There were two beds as well as an extra cot. The bathroom was in good shape. There was a little balcony off the room, it didn't really have any view but it was nice to sit out and overlook the streets. It was a bit noisy in the early evening with the cars driving by but we were on the second floor, so upstairs may be better. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed three nights at the hotel in late May. While the hotel is an older building and the furniture is dated, we had a very roomy second floor room that was very clean and functional. Th room had a small balcony where we could finish off some wine each night. While the hotel does not have the best views in Athens, we could see the Acropolis from our balcony, but most of the view was the buildings across the street.

Breakfast was ok and included in the price. Would at least get you going.

Very close to most of the historic sites, and was about 3 blocks from the closest metro stop (Acropolis). Were very happy with our choice. Close to numerous restaurants and cafes as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Adams hotel is the perfect place to explore Athens. Practically all major tourist attractions like Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Ancient Agora, Olympic Stadium , Arch of Hadrian are within walkable distance. The Plaka area itself is really beautiful with all the shops, cafes, restaurants. The place is always buzzing with people and hence safe neighborhood. We had to put up in a family room as the hotel was experiencing some technical difficulties at that time. The family room consisting of a big and a really small room for four adults with a single washroom was a little difficult to manage but we pulled it off. The room had a balcony which was nice. The wireless worked perfectly.The breakfast was basic. Afroditi and her daughter were really nice and hospitable. For the price that the hotel provides it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Let's be clear this hotel is good money for value in Athens but it's still a old hotel with old furniture, more or less clean and with low comfort. But there are very few better alternatives in the city.
I would perhaps stay again as the location is absolutely fantastic but only because there are no other options in the same price range in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Yes, a great location in the Plaka area close to sights, many restaurants, and shopping. The public spaces of the hotel are nice and the breakfast decent only because it was included in the room price.
Our 3rd floor room that we booked for 4 adults was cramped and dingy, much in need of refurbishing! The smaller bedroom had a twin and a fold away bed and literally no space for anything if you wanted to walk thru it (which you needed to do to get to the bathroom and larger bedroom). The sheets on one bed had holes. The entry door would not stay shut unless it was locked, the balcony was nice and large but offered no shade. For some reason there was old masking tape around the balcony door glass.
We did not find the staff to be welcoming, friendly, or helpful,
with the exception of one.
We were uncomfortable and disappointed but were in Athens to explore and see the sights so spent little time in our room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Adam's Hotel is a budget friendly hotel that was great for what me and my sister needed. Aphrodite and Joseph were very helpful with sharing information about Athens and showing us a map of the city. They were always available to help make reservations, give direction and answer questions. The hotel was also very close to everything we wanted to see. We walked to the Acropolis and many other sites and neighborhoods.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams Hotel

Address: 6 Chairefontos | at Thalou, Athens 10558, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adams Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adams Hotel is a recently renovated hotel in the centre of Athens, in close distance to all the important historical monuments and the shopping area of Athens. Our friendly and experienced personnel, will help you organise your stay in Athens with the best possible way.Each room is equipped with a TFT TV, air-condition, telephone and a desk and offers view to Acropolis. All rooms have a private balcony and bathroom with shower and toilet. For your convinience, we offer a 24hour WiFi internet connection.Adams Hotel is in Plaka, in the heart of Athens, under the Acropolis shadow. Located in the middle of the historical centre of Athens, it is 5 minutes away from Syntagma square and Athen's exclusive shopping areas (Kolonaki, Ermou str. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Adams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adams Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adams Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.