We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central,cozy ambience,really helpful staff !!: Suitable for travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marble House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marble House to your Saves list
Marble House
35 Zinni Anastasiou | Koukaki, Athens 11741, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
doha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central,cozy ambience,really helpful staff !!: Suitable for travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Marble house suited the purpose of my journey 100% .I was searching for an economic but neat central hotel to explore the centre of Athens,visit Acropolis,Plaka,Thiseio etc and
I was happily suprised to find such a cozy and quiet hotel in the heart of Athens.
For back packers,like myself,everything seemed really near,especially after the great tips from Christos,the receptionist, which got me at Parthenon in no time.
If you need to go further,It takes only couple of minutes to Syntagma metro station and from there you can access almost all museums,monuments plus suburbans of the capital.
I will definitely stay again on my way back to Athens. The hotel is strongly recommended!!

Looking forward to come back sooooooon!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    161
    46
    20
    24
See reviews for
64
201
49
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

A hotelier once told me 'it's not where you go but where you stay that matters'. This couldn't be more true, for my stay in Athens was made all the more delightful by the owners of Marble House. A family run hotel, I was greeted by Christos upon arrival, who ensured all my needs were met. The rooms were spacious, air conditioned and very clean, as well as having wifi (for the business travelers). As a solo traveler, I tend to worry about location and safety of some areas so when I discovered that it was a) in a safe location and b) exactly 10 minutes from the Acropolis, Plaka area and the New museum of Acropolis, I was very relieved. Thanos, Nancy & Christos all gave me incredible tips on the best places to eat and visit and made my stay as carefree as possible. Overall, I was very impressed with the value for money but not surprised as the hotel had been recommended to me by a friend. I would definitely stay there again when next in Athens!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino County, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

An excellent budget-driven choice, Housekeeping was Excellent! as was the advice and help offered by everyone there. Although some rooms had an air conditioner, there was an extra charge (undisclosed until we asked). No elevator, so, if you have a lot of luggage (and/or heavy), you'll have difficulty making it to the third (maybe even second, floor) - up a spiral, marble-stepped, staircase. We walked to the Acropolis Museum and the Plaka district (LOTS of restaurants and shops) in 10 easy minutes. Many nice sidewalk cafes (and little markets) are even closer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concepción
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

If one is looking fro a small, family run, well located hotel in Athens we will definitely recommend the Marble House. It is located at the end a quiet dead-end side street which is a sought after attribute for the light sleepers in our family. The family of Nancy, Thamos and son Kris are friendly, professional and very helpful. The tours they arranged for us to Delphi and Argolis were excellent. Additionally, their recommendations for restaurants were very good. While not in prime condition, the rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. We did not need the air conditioning but it was available for a small additional fee. An additional feature of the Marble House is the sense of security one has. Not only is it well secured with either someone on duty in the lobby or the doors are locked but also the location on the side street would simply not be a place for bad guys to hang out. All said the Marble House is an excellent value for the Euro.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We came twice in this hotel and tried 4 rooms : all of them were perfect, and very quiet. The prices are reasonable. The welcome is very good and it's a pleaasure to meet each year all the family who owns the pension. Acropolis and city center is 10 minutes walk far.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We liked the most our terrasse at the third floor, so great to relax. The staff is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a great location because it is close to the important sites and because it is not too close. Marble House is quiet, located on a cul-de-sac in a mostly residential area. It's real Athens, not tourist trap Athens. Yet, a few minutes walk and you have the Metro. A few minutes more, you're in the thick of Plaka, Acropolis, and Monastiraki. Nancy and her son Christos are very friendly, they run a clean place, and give you good advice for places to eat and visit. Rooms are not huge, no views, but a great value for sleeping and exploring the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Address: 35 Zinni Anastasiou | Koukaki, Athens 11741, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#31 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#37 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marble House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.