We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Excellent hosts, great family hotel at an excellent location”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marble House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marble House to your Saves list
Marble House
35 Zinni Anastasiou | Koukaki, Athens 11741, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
““Excellent hosts, great family hotel at an excellent location””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

As we are travelling on budget this is one of the best budget places I have ever stayed. Upon our arrival Christos the young owner welcomed us and gave us a map of the city with full directions of what to visit, places of interest and food recommendations. As per Christos Marble House is the most inexpensive hotel south of Acropolis and yes indeed is TRUE!!! Definitely the best value for money in town. Everything was near on foot, the Acropolis museum the Parthenon, Plaka area. The rooms were clean, quite and very well maintained with a classic style décor. Our room had a private balcony overlooking the quite residential street in front and had a lovely balcony too (balcony was great plus)!!! Free Wi-Fi, which worked excellent as well!
Christos also arranged a taxi to pick us up at 5 a.m. This place is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    155
    46
    20
    24
See reviews for
61
198
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley Township, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Marble House is in a great location, clean and is extremely economical. Stayed for one night after a cruise. The room was basic, but clean. The real prize was Christos. He not only gave us a map highlighting what to see and where it was safe, but also a 'no go' zone and advice not to go into one of the areas if there was a large crowd (there was a general strike that day). So much is within walking distance! One note: there isn't an elevator however my motto is 'if you can't carry it, don't pack it', and this was simply a reminder to pack less.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Marble House is great for those who would like know Athens and stay in a place with excellent cost-benefit ratio. It is confortable, but not luxurious. It is practical, with good price, and it has a fantastic location, close to Plaka, to metro and tran stations, and a walk distance to the Parthenon. Besides all, you can trust everybody there. Just to give you an example, we have forgotten our marriage ring there, but did not know it was left there. They sent us an email telling us about it and sent it to Brazil without charging anything, justifying this act by saying that they could not do it because Christos, their son, had just gotten married.

Room Tip: The best aparments are the ones facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Location was very good. Felt safe - walking distance to Plaka and the Acropolis. Our room was on the ground floor and we had a little "terrace" Our window was facing our terrace which was surrounded by walls. The bed was comfortable but our neighbour had older mattresses so make sure to ask for a room with new mattresses. The washroom could use updating but it was ok, everything worked fine. I would have liked to have shower curtains though. I don't know why they don't have them in many of the hotels Greece.

free internet access (bring you netbook)

If I go back to Athens, I will certainly go to this hotel again. It was the best value. Pay extra for the A/C in October, it's worth it!

Room Tip: Don't expect a 5 star hotel, but you can expect, clean accomodation, nicely decorated and very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in Marble house on our first and last night in Greece. They were clean. Well organised and good location. We found Christos was the best to deal with. Our only issue, with Nancy, was that on our arrival she insisted that we pay for this night and the last night which was over 3 weeks later. She wouldn't hold our booking if we did not. Technically these were two separate bookings but she was worried we were going to cancel and clearly wanted the money. Besides this we enjoyed our short stopovers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived at about 01:30 at the port of Athens from Santorini on 25 September and left on 26 September. We caught a taxi to the hotel which is in a local neighbourhood of Athens. .
The hotel does not have an elevator so it was a mission to carry suitcases up! The room is small and very simple! The beds are so old and uncomfortable! The bathroom is tiny so if you shower water will pretty much flood the bathroom. The linen is as old as The Acropolis! That is no exaggeration!I am a 27 year old and i do not complain about much but this accomodation was terrible.
It was the first time i stayed in Athens so i cannot compare it with other Hotels in the same price range. I might have a different opinion if i had stayed elsewhere.

Positives: The service was great from the guy at the front desk but unfortunely the hotel facilities do not match the service.

Location was great!



Would i recommend it? Probably not.

Room Tip: definatley pay for Air con!! that place is hot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location is really great. Acropolis is just 10 minutes away on foot. You can visit all the main attractions just walking.
The rooms are very clean. You have free WiFi.
The hotel staff was very kind. Christos helped us a lot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Address: 35 Zinni Anastasiou | Koukaki, Athens 11741, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#31 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#48 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marble House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.