We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Attalos Hotel to your Saves list
Attalos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athinas 29 | Monastiraki, Athens 10554, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #28 of 326 Hotels in Athens
California
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

The Hotel Attalos is nice hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are roomy and very clean. The beds are comfortable. Great location. Free internet. Minutes from the subway. Great prices. There are several restaurants close by. A good choice when staying in Athens without being overcharged by staying in the Plaka.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    540
    155
    39
    19
See reviews for
168
488
109
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is the gem among some rough diamonds. Do not be put off by the graffiti which completely obscures most of the signs and facades of every building, not only in this street, but all over Athens. The hotel is a smaller, budget type with simple but functional facilities and we can say it was perfect as far as location for tourist visitors. The entrance is narrow and the reception area a little cramped, but the welcome is obvious and the reception staff friendly and helpful. Our room was a double, adequate in most respects and very clean. The bathroom area is a little tight but did its job. Just a note to older or infirm users, the shower is above a bath that has quite a high side and is difficult to get into. There are no handrails other than the towel rack over the end of the bath or putting hands on the basin as you get out. Be very wary you don't slip. This is the one negative I found with the room. The shower provides a good water pressure, and the shower head is a handheld type but this can be inserted in a wall bracket to become fixed at head hight if desired. A complimentry bottle of Ouzo ( the greeks famous tipple) and a packet of nuts was provided in the room. Our room did not have a view but the roof top bar is just a sight to behold. It gives a stunning view all over the city and of course the Acropolis and Parthenon. The bar tender is friendly and the drink and alcohol prices are reasonable. Coffee and snacks are also available.

Internet service ( 3 computers) is provided FREE in the Winter Bar and there is a large lounge with plasma TV screen and books. A great spot to meet other guests. I have some reservations about the breakfast. I think at 8 Euro's it may be better to wander out the front door to a streetside cafe and bar immediately outside the hotel. But if you are not ready to go out the breakfast room is fine and there is a good selection of " continental" breakfast products. The Attalos is just so handy to the Metro station, the two Squares each direction from the front door, not more than 200 metres, and best of all the "Hop On Hop Off bus leaves just a short distance from the hotel. ( turn left coming out front door) and walk about 300 metres to the very visible bus sign. For 15 Euro ( 2 days) this bus is magic. All the places you will want to see are on the bus route and sitting on the top open deck is so much fun to gaze at the sights and people getting about their daily routine. You get on and off just as it suits you. Hop off at a stop near a lane filled with outside cafes, have a refreshment and hop on the next bus that comes along. Easy Peasy !! If you want to people watch, go to the Monastiraki Sq ( turn right from front door) and sit on a low wall or whatever and enjoy the sights. This is also the location of the Flea Market but the name is a misnomer. There are also some very nice shops in the market. Every cafe/bar staff will want you to eat at their street stablishment. Do not feel pressured to going in to the first. Have a wander round and read the menus posted outside. Enjoy the banter with the cafe staff. Thir place is always better than the next !. There are heaps to choose from. Enjoy your visit, dont be put off by graffiti and rubbish on streets which all look as though a good water blaster would work wonders. The area is safe, their are cops everywhere and we were never once intimidated.

Our visit was 27-29 August 2010. I am happy to answer any questions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

ok......rooms fine, clean a/c, shower strong....reception service good. u can leave luggage in a special room after u checked out and come back for them later...brill considering the heat of Athens. Free internet, breakfast room bright and airy but let down by tinned fruit and not top fresh croissants...so much fresh produce locally it was a shame. rooftop bar top notch, great views of acropolis and athens to be savoured and lapped up. slept ok but remember u in a city that sleeps late and i live in country so i wasnt used to it! breakfast served 7 am til 11am so v flexible. 100metres from metro and all historical sights walkable but go early or u burn!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Hellenic Republic
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

If I were to have any complaint about this hotel it would be that others kept on telling us it was in a bad area. But despite the graffiti'd walls nearby we could not fault the area and most certainly not the hotel.
This hotel is wrongly listed in some places as 2 star. I would say they are 3 - 3.5 stars.
Service is spot on. Friendliness is inherent in all of the staff. Breakfast food - well we are talking about Dononi fetta (there is none better, anywhere), Dodoni yoghurt, kalamata olives, freshly brewed Greek coffee... NOTHING to complain about here.
Then there is the locale 0 100m from the train station which takes you to the airport very cheaply. Down the road from the Council offices. A short trip to the markets of Plaka. A 20 - 30 min walk to the awesome Parthenon.
I would recommend the Attalos Hotel to any and all without hesitation, just not when we return as we DO want to get a booking folks

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel is conveniently situated very near Monastiraki metro station and Monastiraki square, so you will get very easily access to the transportation system. Rooms are very clean (they changed my towels every day even if I don't ask for that, to save the environment) and the staff is polite, friendly and helpful.
There is a lounge on the first floor where you could have a bit of relax or more practically use some computers to access the Internet. If you don't have a breakfast included within the room price, you could use the coffee shop which is 5 mt from the hotel entrance, a quite one good indeed.
From the roof top of the hotel, you could have a breathtaking view of the Acropolis in the night. The picture associated with this review has been made by me on the roof top.

By all means, I really suggest this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Nice hotel. Location perfect for visiting central Athens and views of Acropolis from balcony and rooftop bar unbeatable at night. Rooms clean although small. Very friendly staff. Free internet which kept kids busy!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Nice enough hotel. We'd been backpacking so this was our treat. Our bathroom wasn't that nice, but did the job. View of the acropolis is good, but i think any hotel in the area will have the same. Our double bed was actually two singles pushed together. We were only there for a couple of nights so didn't bother making a fuss or moving rooms, but if this would bother you perhaps ask before you check in. Location was great for walking to the shops and the acropolis. Nice and close to public transport, and markets all around as well as the main fashion strip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: Athinas 29 | Monastiraki, Athens 10554, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#24 Family Hotel in Athens
#30 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Attalos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.