We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite stop-over point in Athens.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Attalos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Attalos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Attalos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athinas 29 | Monastiraki, Athens 10554, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #20 of 324 hotels in Athens
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite stop-over point in Athens.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've been coming to the Attalos for a few years now as a stop-over to islands. We love it for it's simplicity and slightly shabby chic!
+ Fabulous location near Monastiraki Square which is exciting and alive - and not far from the Acropolis.
+ Easy train service to the airport or Pireaus.
+ Excellent front desk staff who will help with anything.
+ Spotless rooms.
+ Great free Wifi.
+ Brilliant buffet breakfast.
+ Wonderful roof-top bar with a view that is hard to beat.
+ Very good value... including the drinks on the roof top bar.
Definitely recommend. :-)

Room Tip: Be aware that a double room does not necessarily mean a double bed (if that is important to you). Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Attalos friend
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stays in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read all the pluses you mention fo our hotel.
We try constanly to offer the best we can to offer our guests a comfortable stay and we are so happy when we achieve our goals.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the future !
Thank you.
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    460
    138
    38
    16
See reviews for
140
409
94
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Attalos hotel was one of my favourites on my September 2013 trip to Europe. The location of the hotel, Athinas Street, is amazing and must be walked to be truly appreciated. The hotel is small, but packed with class and style. Lots of little extras in the room (bathroom slippers, soaps, shampoos, linens). The front desk is open 24/7 and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. As a solo traveller I was also looking for good value and this hotel more than fit the bill. The hotel has a rooftop reasaurant/bar with a near 360 degree view of Athens and the Acropolis. Walking distance to the major attractions and half a block to the metro. The flea market, "Souvlakia Row", the Plaka, Monastriki, Acropolis, Paliament, Roman Forum' Agora, meat market.... all minutes away by foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are looking for a nice, safe, no frills hotel then Attalos is for you. We got a wonderful price on a room. The furniture is basic, the rooms are not fancy but the view is fantastic. The hotel staff speak great English and are always willing to help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Attalos Hotel is 2 blocks from Monastraki metro station, where you can catch a subway to the airport- and there are restaurants, shops, and ruins here. We have stayed twice and the front desk is experienced, professional and speaks fine English. They have an excellent budget hotel here. The least expensive rooms are very small, but the two upper categories are larger and comfortable. The bathrooms are small but very clean, as is the entire hotel. We usually eat breakfast at a sidewalk cafe, but the breakfast room is very pleasant. From my balcony I can see the Acropolis, just as well as from the SIxth Floor Terrace- beautiful at night!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is okay. There is nothing particularly exciting about the old building, the service or the rooms. The best thing is the location, very close to main sights. Also the terrace has a nice view to the Akropolis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Front Office Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed location of the hotel and view from our roof garden bar.
We try constanly to improve our rooms and facilities,and as it is true the building is old , we try our best to have clean rooms and offer the best service to the guests.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel another time in the future !

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Returning from Santorini we had two days before flying out of Athens. Hotel Attelos is a fantastic location, a five minute walk from Monastriki (direct metro from port) and many of the tavernas in the Plaka, easy walk to Acropolis, Parliament, Benaki Museum and National Archeological Museum. Great breakfast in a roomy space, complimentary coffee in the lounge in the afternoon, and free use of computers. A bonus, our balcony had a framed view of the Parthenon, as did the wonderful rooftop bar. Street was bustling and safe night as well as day. Open air market a couple of blocks away, and fabulous coffee/pastry show right next to the hotel. Desk was helpful in arranging a cab to airport. Price reasonable. All in all we couldn't have picked a better place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel have a small balcony, which is lovely, and probably are a bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very well located, walking distance to Acropolis and train station. Staff was helpful, room was very clean and they helped us book a transfer to the airport. If you are staying for a few days this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: Athinas 29 | Monastiraki, Athens 10554, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#20 Spa Hotel in Athens
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#26 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Attalos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.