We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great after all these years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Attalos Hotel to your Saves list
Attalos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athinas 29 | Monastiraki, Athens 10554, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #29 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed as a family in October a few years ago. It's good to see that the quality is still there, and the roof top bar offers a nice respite from being down in the city. I recommend this hotel to anyone, family or business. My kids loved the small elevator!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel for another time during your stay in Athens. We are so glad you were pleased with our hotel for another time. It is a pleasure when guests are pleased with the service as we all try our best to offer the best we can and our happines is even bigger when the guests come back to our hotel. Thank you for the high score and the pictures!
We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    540
    155
    38
    19
See reviews for
168
487
109
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes Town, Greece
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at the attalos for one night as i was in athens the brilliant thing about this basic but nice central athens hotel is its location and staff who are really friendly and happy to assist you in any way.The hotel location is perfect and is a walk awy from monastiraki and omonoia square(central athens areas) the hotel also has a top floor parthenon bar with view that i didnt visit but was informed about. Rooms are basic but cozy with all the essentials had a good night sleep warm welcome and send off all you need from a hotel you are spending a night in. If you are looking for a value for money location perfect central athens hotel this is the one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Attalos hotel during your short stay in Athens and for your review on TripAdvisor . We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. It is true , we are in a very central and convenient location . Thank you about your comments about staff, it is a pleasure when guests are pleased with the service as we all try our best to offer the best we can. We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the future!

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Clean comfortable rooms, free WiFi, spectacular rooftop bar, also have lounge area on 1st floor where you can eat your own breakfast (bought at the nearby bakery) even though they offer breakfast. two minutes from Monastiraki, 25 mins walk from the Acropolis museum, about 20 mins from the Acropolis. 10 mins walk to Syntagma - in other words ideally located. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, all speak excellent English. The room rates were cheaper than anything comparable when we went. Will definitely stay there again next time we are in Athens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is satisfying to hear that you enjoyed the location, the roof garden, service offered by staff and hotel facilities. Thank you for your comments and the high score. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is in a great location which made it perfect for the two nights my husband and I spent in Athens. It was blocks away from an outdoor market, packed with shops and restaurants where we ate a couple times. It's also steps away from a metro station and walking distance from the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum and Panathenaic Stadium.

The rooftop bar, where we enjoyed a couple beers and a view of the Parthenon at night, was also a highlight.

The beds were okay but the shower was kind of terrible. However, the room was clean, had air conditioning, and staff were helpful. Based on the cost and location it was good value and exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, the roof top bar and also service from staff. We are sorry that you did not like the shower, we have started and we renovate bathrooms few by few, we have almost renovated half of the rooms and we go on. We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the future!

Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Room was spacious and clean, receptionist speaks perfect english and polite, excellent location where its just off the main shopping street and metro station that connects straight to the airport. All in all, I'm delighted to have chosen Attalos Hotel for my stay in Athens. Breakfast was however just average and it would be wiser to eat outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens and your review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you are delighted with the choice. It is very satisfying to hear that you enjoyed the room, service offered by staff and location of the hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed in July 2010.
Great Little hotel, that looks a little stange from the outside but was pretty cool when you see it.
Its close to the market stall so you walk around in the evening.
Room was ok, could do with a refurb but it was pleasant enough to stay in.

Room Tip: A lower level room as there are lots of stairs to walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is satisfying to hear that you enjoyed the location and the roof garden of the hotel. Thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I went to Athens in May 2010... Attalos was a great hotel to stay in Athens! Everything was walking distance! The sightseeing, many places to eat, the shops, and the metro (those who need to take the metro to go to the port to go to the islands.) The room was clean, and perfect to stay at for a few nights. The room is a little small and the bathroom, but not a problem. But the location of the hotel was what was the most important. I loved the rooftop bar! The view of the Acropolis was amazing! The people at the hotel spoke english and very friendly.The price is great for what you get! Once again, the location is perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attaloshotel, Manager at Attalos Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel . Location is as you mention perfect to explore the city.Thank you for your review and we are happy to read that the staff service was very nice. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.
Best regards
Kostas Zisis
Attalos Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: Athinas 29 | Monastiraki, Athens 10554, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#24 Family Hotel in Athens
#30 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Attalos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.