We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooftop Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Attalos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Attalos Hotel to your Saves list
Attalos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athinas 29 | Monastiraki, Athens 10554, Greece (Psirri / Gazi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BREAKFAST ON 1ST DAY
Ranked #30 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Rooftop Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel had a great rate, a great location, and a great view! The room was very clean and modern, although minimal. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The elevators are very small though, so you might end up taking the stairs – and there are a lot of them. While our room was interior with no balcony, the roof garden allowed for a nice place to relax and enjoy the view of the acropolis – you will not be disappointed! The bar is also very reasonably priced, and in June it was not crowded at all. I’d certainly recommend this hotel for any stay in Athens. It is right near the metro stop at Monastiraki and close to all of the sights.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies - but the second from the top floor would not be as private (you can see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    578
    165
    39
    19
See reviews for
181
520
119
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel is a 2 star by American standards BUT it is very clean. 2 city blocks to the train stations. 15 minute walk to most sites including the Acropolis. Saved money because I never had to use a cab. 7 euros to the airport. How can you go wrong? The breakfast bar is small but decent. I would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed here for two nights. The room was in the middle of the building overlooked the walls on the other side of the building. The bathroom showed signs of intermittent fix-ups and while it was adequate, it needs an overhaul.
The view of the Acropolis from the roof top bar was as advertised, very nice. The staff were helpful and had a positive attitude. At this hotel, you are a short walk away from lots of shopping for tourists as well as locals going about their daily business. Good restaurants are within easy walking distance - ask at the desk for directions.
The neighbourhood is busy, slightly dingy, but has everything you need. Try the bakery a few doors down the street in the direction of the metro station. The sandwich shop on the corner down a block toward the metro station, had a good selection and fresh juices. In the other direction is the main market with just about everything. Be careful in Athens in general - pickpockets abound, including on the metro. This is a basic hotel good for experienced travellers and those who need a centrally located place for a few nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis. If you have made your own onward travel arrangements, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed juste one night but we enjoyed. The location is greath, very close to the subway and the Plaka. The price is also ggod. The view from the rooftop is very amazing. The room was a "no frill room", but very clean and with a safe box ( very convenient). I will recommand this hôtel.
Diane

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Though upon entering the hotel, it may seem a bit dodgy, after a day it felt like home. The location cannot be beat and is walking distance to everything. We actually didn't need to take the metro anywhere. The rooms are clean and homey and almost felt like we were staying at a friend's home. Only complaint would be that the single beds would often separate easily and it felt like my husband and I were just roommates for the time we stayed in the hotel. The tv is small, but then again you are not going there to watch tv. The view from the rooftop is amazing and the breakfast is sufficent, although the decor looks quite dated. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a couple night stay in Athens if you just want someplace to sleep that is close to anything. Anything more than a couple nights, you might want to splurge on a higher end hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed a total of 3 nights at the Attalos Hotel. I have nothing but wonderful things to say; from the moment we arrived, the staff was kind and accommodating. American tourists tend to be rude, coming in and speaking English as if no other language existed...sadly, my husband and I also demonstrated this behavior, having no background in the Greek language whatsoever. The staff did not mind at all; in fact, I believe we were greeted with an English "Hello!" One of the staff members highlighted our Athens map for us, giving us perfect directions to every place we needed to see.

The rooms are quaint...remember American travelers, this is Europe, and hotels are different, especially independent places. If you want an "American" hotel, stay at a Holiday Inn. However, if you want an experience, I would recommend staying here. The views from the balcony are amazing...it was from our hotel room that we had our first view of the Acropolis. The rooms were clean and well kept, the bathroom clean, and the sheets and towels clean as well. While I do not demand to live the life pampered life, I do demand clean, and the Attalos delivered.

Breakfast was very nice...a nice variety of eggs, meats, cheeses, juice, and coffee. The staff at breakfast were very friendly...in fact, everyone in Greece is friendly!

They also allowed us to store our luggage while we traveled to other locations in Greece. This was so incredibly helpful!

The rooftop bar is equally amazing. The drinks are inexpensive; it is almost a surreal experience to sit at the bar, drinking a glass of wine, and star at the Acropolis. For most, this is a once in a lifetime opportunity; enjoy it!

Room Tip: Fantasy travel took care of all the details for us; would recommend them, too
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the Attalos for 2 nights in May this year. While very close to the Acropolis the area right outside the hotel is a bit shady. Though a short walk away and you have the flea market, tonnes of open cafes and bars. The metro is also right besides the hotel. But be careful of pick pockets that are very common in the area.

We had taken two studio rooms (2 beds in 2 separate rooms with a common toilet) and one double room. The rooms while not tastefully done, were very clean and were decently big. The toilets were very clean and had everything one would require.

The highlight is the rooftop bar that has spledid views of the Acropolis. Whenever we were at the hotel and were not resting or bathing, we would be at the bar enjoying the view.

If you are looking for a value for money kind of a hotel with a good location then Attalos is a good bet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Attalos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attalos Hotel

Address: Athinas 29 | Monastiraki, Athens 10554, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
#23 Family Hotel in Athens
#30 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Attalos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Athens within easy reach! The Attalos Hotel, situated in the historic district of Athens, has a history of its own. With its tradition of classic, comfortable accommodation, a friendly staff and atmosphere, the Attalos has created a name among a host of international visitors and repeat guests as "a home away from home in the heart of Athens". All of the hotel's 78 rooms are air-conditioned and fully equipped with central heating,Direct-dial telephone , Satellite TV , Mini refrigerator , Safe box , Private Bathrooms with hair dryers, slippers and bath amenities and of course Free wi-fi access internet. A charming roof garden/bar provides the perfect setting for enjoying a spectacular view of the Acropolis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Attalos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attalos Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Attalos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.