We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel in Athens!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorian Inn Hotel Athens

Save Saved
You added Dorian Inn Hotel Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 - 19 Pireos street, Athens 10552, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 324 hotels in Athens
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel in Athens!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed in Athens for 3 nights before returning to London after a fantastic 2 week holiday in Greece. Was AMAZED by the roof top area which was made even better by bar man Marcus who couldn’t do enough to make our time spent on the 12'th floor unforgettable. The evening meal we had couldn't be faulted. Our room was excellent and breakfasts most adequate! Do not be put off by the Omonia location as at first glance when escaping from the Metro it may seem a bit "rough". Will definitely return to The Dorian Inn Hotel when we find ourselves in Athens again.

Room Tip: We booked through AVIOS, but if you dont use this service, I heard from another guest that he booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    73
    57
    54
    27
See reviews for
24
71
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The staff at the Dorian Inn were quite helpful. The room was lovely. The air conditioning worked. The view was fine. The TV had channels in English (BBC). The lifts worked well. The rooftop pool was lovely, but VERY DANGEROUS to get to/from and I slipped and fell quite badly getting from the lift to the pool because it is a tiled area and someone must have just walked straight from the pool to the lifts without drying off, leaving an almost invisible puddle of water that I slipped on. They should have the area from the pool to the lifts covered in some sort of slip resistant material for safety.
The area that the Dorian Inn is in is quite dangerous and seedy. It is about a 15 minute walk from Monasteri square, which is where most tourists are, but it is just a short metro ride, or taxi ride from Omonia square to Monasteri square. It is not safe to walk around the area near Omonia square/the hotel, especially at night. However, the City Sightseeing bus goes from Omonia square which is quite handy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Thankfully we booked our stay at the Dorian before we read all the negative reviews on TripAdvisor. Safe to say we were expecting 3 nights of squalor, with regular attacks from prostitutes and smack addicts - but when we got there we were shocked to see what was a normal district in Athens. It may not be the nicest area, but that doesn't matter. We were in Athens to see the sights, and so we jumped on the metro at Omonia (5 minutes walk away if that), and stayed in the centre until later on at night - we walked to and from Omonia station countless times and didn't encounter any of the aforementioned prostitutes or druggies. There was a strong police presence which people have complained about but I for one would rather that. The hotel itself was lovely - and the pool bar is breathtaking. We got to see both a regular and superior room and they were both nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Booked a superior room with Easyjet holidays, supposed to have a partial Acropolis view. Room given was basic, so complained & they did automatically change the room. But there was no view, only of the noisy street and abandoned hotel across the road. The superior room, isn't, it's clean and what would be a standard room in an Ibis. The basic room they gave us at 1st, was just that. The aircon worked in neither room, in the summer it would be unbearable. However the roof top bar is the saving feature of this hotel. It is a great view of the Acropolis, unfortunately the restaurant doesnt serve Greek food, burger & chips is not what I wanted, but the beers at €3 were reasonably priced. The pool is very small, but in the heat of summer would be a blessing, there is really very little room to sit around it, & no chairs were provided, but it was Easter & V quiet. Breakfast was fie, the usual, eggs, cold meats, cheese, yogurt. The bread in Greece is amazing, so fresh and tasty so having no toaster wasn't a problem, it was very quiet so mayb they didn't have as much choice as usual, but it was more than adequate . It is the area itself that is also a problem. I was there 4 days and everyday witnessed prositutes with clients, groups of men just loitering around, at night we chose to walk in the road rather than on the path, definitely wouldn't want to stay there as a female traveler on my own.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are just that, aircon doesn't seem to work in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were in Dorian inn Hotel at the end of March. The room was dirty and especially the bed-cover was a place for the growth of Insects, my boyfriend has been bite by some of them and had two pimples at the front and the back of the body and they became extremely itchy in the future 9 days. I have put on full sleeping suits and therefore protected. observing the pimples we found that it was maybe resulting from bite by an mouth of insect because at top of the pimple there were two small symmetrical wholes. we had a nightmare.

It was not finished, we had chosen the hotel because the central location and close to the taxi point and metro station. however, in the morning we are likely 100 meters away from the Hotel, and robbed by several dangerous people when we walk to the square. they have taken the camera and hundreds of cash. the location is more likely a trap that likely lots people waiting nearby for a whole night to rob or steal from tourists. moreover, the outlook of the hotel and the street is not that luxury you see from the picture, it was more 'dark and grey'.. the outside of the hotel and the street is full of those dangerous people and I have seen some of them peeing outside and throwing rubbishes everywhere.

Do a google satellite you will see what the real situation over there. Plz consider those issues when you trying to choose a hotel. Dont suffer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Some people seem to fear it's proximity to Omonia Square but there is nothing to fear at all! We had a perfectly safe stay and for us the location was ideal (as we spent half our time in Monestiraki and Gazi). We were right in the middle of all Athens has to offer. The room was modest but clean, loved having a balcony (all rooms do), and the daily breakfast included was great... I am not turned on to greek yogurt and fresh honey! Mmmm... The best thing about this hotel is the roof-top view! Stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhodes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I had the chance to stay in Doria in hotel and i admit that i was surpised for the quality of the service , the room facilities and the pool bar at the top of the hotel!!
I defenetly recomend it to all as it is in a walking distance for the subway, shops and sights .

Room Tip: Better to book one in the front and as close to the top as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorian Inn Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian Inn Hotel Athens

Address: 15 - 19 Pireos street, Athens 10552, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 324 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorian Inn Hotel Athens 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorian Inn Hotel, is a well organised 3* Hotel in the center of Athens in Omonoia district. The hotel offers 24h reception, 146 rooms with magnificent view of the city and the Acropolis(some of them), internet corner,large breakfast buffet, swimming pool on the 12th floor along with the well known Bar Restaurant 'Point of View' also on the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dorian Inn Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorian Inn Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.