We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - for a business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Athenaeum

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Athenaeum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Athenaeum
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 324 hotels in Athens
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic - for a business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

if you're looking for clean, very good service...then this is it.
It's your typical upscale business hotel.
No soul to it...but like a porsche...a great running machine.
Good place to host a client conference.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens last April and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to learn that our high standards of service met with your expectations. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    467
    410
    129
    40
    11
See reviews for
189
356
74
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This Hotel is one of my favourite hotels I have ever stayed in! The hotel itself is magnificent! You can really feel the Athenian touch.

The rooms are spacious and renovated. The beds are extremely comfortable and large! The front desk are knowable and the concierge is friendly and helpful.

Guest relations (Martha), fantastic woman! Professional, helpful, and friendly. Always smiling. Overall this hotel I would consider to be almost perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens last month and for taking the time to share your kind comments. We are delighted to learn that our hotel is one of your ‘favourite hotels’ and that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Once again, we thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed for one night prior to our cruise departure. The front desk and GM were effusive in their greetings and we felt very welcome. Our room was clean and nicely sized. The bathroom could be updated soon, but, the amenities (korres) were lovely. I also appreciated that the scale appeared to have made me lose weight. Always a bonus BEFORE a cruise. The bed was very comfy. We enjoyed the pool too.
There aren't a whole lot of restaurants nearby. Breakfast was a little expensive, but, varied and delicious. Internet was pretty darned expensive - not a fan of paying for it.
Overall, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for having chosen the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visits to Athens and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that the service provided by our staff meets with your expectations making your stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We have also taken notice of your kind comments regarding the comfort of our rooms and the facilities provided in them. Regarding your comment about the cost of internet access I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our prices are, in fact, in line with our competitors in Athens. We thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fantastic service throughout the hotel, especially distinguished by Dinos at front desk, who answered questions, gave excellent directions and information upon check in. Delicious buffet breakfast and tasty cuisine at restaurants. Traveled there for business trip. Super efficient and very friendly staff. Great free shuttle bus service to Plaka area that runs on a regular basis. Would stay there again and highly recommend it. Gym very clean with all the essentials. Everything throughout the hotel was fresh and clean, and great views from rooftop restaurant. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Double hung windows make rooms very quiet, and double curtains can be adjusted to light or dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens for business earlier this month. We are delighted to learn that you had a ‘great experience’ with us and that our high level of service, cleanliness and facilities met with your expectations. It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest and we greatly value your recommendation. We trust that your future travels will bring you back to our city and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we stayed on a Saturday nigh with the three kids and were very impressed by the entrance and modern interior. Our room was inter connecting and on the 7th floor and very clean and tidy and at the price suited us perfectly. we did walk to the acropolis which was 10-15 mins away. We also spent the afternoon by the pool which was also very tidy. would happily stay again.

Room Tip: We had an un renovated interconnecting room - the room was clean and tidy if not the most modern sty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens with your family last September. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. With regard to our rooms, we are pleased to advise you that the majority of our rooms are renovated and we are in the process of planning the renovation of the remaining rooms in the near future. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I know the title might throw you off a bit, but the review title is supposed to highlight the key aspects of my hotel experience. Unfortunately, this title sums it up. Amazing hotel entrance, exquisite elevators, friendly staff, but pretty mediocre old-fashioned rooms. Considering the first steps you take in this hotel, it is only natural to expect something similar when you enter the room. Alas, the dark side of the moon. Ok, it is clean, i will give you this. The bathroom spacious, as well. But that is about it. Location-wise, something to avoid, since it is situated on one of the most busy highways of Athens, 24/7, although soundproof windows do the trick. Room prices competitive depending on the season or conventions held at the hotel. Overall, pick something else.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens whilst travelling on business last February. It is with regret that we learn that your stay with us did not meet with your expectation and we would like to apologise for the disappointment caused to you with regard to your room. May we take this opportunity to inform you that most of the rooms at our hotel have been recently renovated and we plan to renovate the remaining rooms in the very near future. We thank you for your valuable comments and trust that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, TN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Perfectly nice hotel with friendly staff. About average for it's price range. However, the extras were so annoying and overpriced we'll try somewhere else next time. Internet is 9e/hr, but that's not for an hour of usage, it's for the period of one continuous hour from when you sign on. If you want to check email for 5 minutes every morning, you have to pay for an hour every morning. A rip-off. Dinner was average quality, and about 3 times as expensive as any of the wonderful restaurants we tried in the Plaka district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens last month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we greatly appreciate your having taken the time to share your feedback. With regard to your comment regarding the cost of internet connection, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that while our hourly rate is priced at Euro 8.95, one may also choose to purchase our 24 hour rate which is priced at 19.95. Moreover, with each purchased connection, one may connect up to three devices. We have also noted your comment regarding your dining experience at our hotel and would like to apologise for the fact that it did not meet with your expectations. Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Athenaeum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.