We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY COSTLY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Athenaeum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Athenaeum to your Saves list
InterContinental Athenaeum
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“VERY COSTLY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Not a great location. There is a shuttle but not very convenient. The taxi fares are unexpensive though. Nice spa and steam bath, but extra cost. Servivar outreagous expensive. The beds need urgently a change over. Not too many things around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental while travelling to Athens on business earlier this month. We are very sorry to learn that your bed was uncomfortable and would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. It is indeed rare that we learn of discomfort caused to a guest from our beds, as we mainly receive praise for the quality of our beds and bed linen. Had we known of your discomfort during your stay, we would have taken immediate action to rectify the situation. We thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    498
    159
    45
    13
See reviews for
212
423
85
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Overall, this hotel is OK with standards to be expected for an Intercontinental. Rooms spacious, beds comfortable. The reason I only rate it three stars is because of :

1) its location (rundown area and no restaurants or facilities nearby).

2) restaurants and mini bar expensive by ANY standard (breakfast 38 euros, Pringles 6.50 euros, can of Coke 7.50 euros!!), let alone Greece.

3) Pool was nice with excellent service but unheated (too cold in October).

Not sure what the alternative would be, but certainly somewhere more lively.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens and for your feedback. We have noted your comments and would like to take this opportunity to advise you that our prices for breakfast and mini bar items are similar to our competitors in Athens. With regard to our outdoor swimming pool, while it operates in the summer months, due to the extended summer weather this year and guest demand, we exceptionally decided to extend its operation till 28 October, 2012. Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and the overall ambiance was very good. The room was very spacious room and toilets very clean. Could have probably done with a better breakfast selection but overall acceptable. The view from the hotel room was of the acropolis museum.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst travelling to Athens on business earlier this month. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. We thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very good hotel, however with couple of "buts"...
Reception staff very helpful at late night check-in. But No1: Waiters (late night shift) at Vienna cafe not responsive at all: We were waiting for 10 minutes for someone to come and get the order for few drinks. It was after 23:00 and we asked for a sandwich or any other snack together with our beer. Surprised to find out that at that time of the night you can have a sandwich only through the Room Service. Well, if there is someone at the back of the house taking care of Room Service orders why the same person cannot take care of serving also the needs of the Vienna Cafe guests?
Excellent Guet Relations girls at the desk. Very responsive and very willing to assist. Very sweet and helpful lady Chef at the Breakfast area. Quick and responsive Laundry. Excellent food quality at the conference I was participating. Part-time conference & banqueting waitresses better than expected for casual staff.
"But" No 2: Why one earth do guests have to pay 49 (Forty nine) Euros PER 24 HOURS for Internet access? I really could not understand why conference participants should pay 49 Euros to get internet at their room, public areas and meeting rooms, while guests who want internet access at their room and public areas (excluding meeting rooms) pay 24 Euros. Obviously there is a need for couple (or more) internet signal amplifiers for Wi-Fi to reach the meeting rooms but such a difference seems sincerely ridiculous. Not to say that even 24 Euros is very expensive even for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,
Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental while travelling to Athens for business last month and for taking the time to share your comments. It is with pleasure that we learn that your stay was an enjoyable one and of your satisfaction with the level of service you received from most of our staff. However, regretfully we have made note of the lapse in service you received from our Café Vienna waiter and would like to apologise for the disappointment caused to you. With regard to the operation of our Café Vienna, we are pleased to inform you that we have since extended the food serving time from midnight to 1:00am, which is the closing time of our Café Vienna. We have also noted your comment about our prices for internet connection throughout the hotel and would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our prices for this service are similar to our competitors in the city. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum InterContinental on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely hotel with huge rooms and great service. High speed Internet service, as well. Comfortable beds in a very spacious room and huge soft towels in the bathroom. Good food downstairs in the restaurant, as well. Only complaint is the area of Athens this lovely hotel is located in looks like a slum. Shocking, all the grafter I and squalor. Just don't look out your window.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for having chosen the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent visit to Athens. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that the service provided by our staff met with your expectations, making your stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We have also taken note of your kind comments regarding the comfort of our rooms and the quality of our restaurants. We thank you again for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights. It is what you would expect of a hotel from the intercontinental chain. The beddings are very comfortable letting you sink right into them. The shuttle service brings you to the heart of the city (right outside McDonald) or you can also kindly ask the driver to drop you on the way nearer Acropolis, near temple of Zeus. The only letdown is that wifi is not free.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens last month. It is with delight that we learn that your stay was enjoyable and that our facilities met with your expectations. We thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

InterContinental

We stayed there for 3 nights, late Oct 2012. Location is not the best convenient place in Athens, nothing around to visit. However, the hotel has a shuttle that takes you to Syntagma Square, center of town. Also, a short walk from Tram and Metro.

Our experience was not the best. I stayed In suite. I am an Ambassador member. When I made my reservations thru Etihad Holidays I was told that Internet is included. To my surprise i was told it is not. I had to pay €22 per day for it, a total fraud! Also, the hotel arranged a half-day tour for me and gave me the option to charge it to my Credit Card. I did. I found out that I was charged a commission for using the credit card, a very distasteful practice. It seems that InterContinenrtal standards of service is going way down! I am extremly disappointed.
There concierge is helpful.
If I visit Athens again I would stay closer to Syntagma Square which has lots of attractions close by.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAthens, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reader,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst visiting Athens last month. We were most concerned to learn of the disappointment you experienced and would like to express our sincere apologies. It seems that you had been misinformed by Etihad holidays about the charges for internet connection at our hotel for which we are truly sorry. With regard to the credit card commission charge you refer to, may we take this opportunity to inform you that when a guest pays for a non-hotel service by credit card, the hotel collects the commission for the transaction (that varies from 1-3% depending on the credit card) on behalf of the bank and the full amount is transferred to the bank. We would like to thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#12 Business Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Athenaeum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.