We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here but eat dinner somewhere else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Odysseos St | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 10437, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Airport Transfer+Discount
Ranked #105 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stay here but eat dinner somewhere else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

We stayed at the Stanley from Oct. 30 to Nov. 07, 2006, with 2 nights away mid-stay for a visit to Santorini and Naxos. The hotel rates a good solid OK. Contrary to some other reviews, we found the front desk staff to be very helpful and pleasant. The location is convenient and there are plenty of interesting shops and cafes nearby if you want to stay close to the hotel. It is within walking distance to most major attractions - meaning 30 minutes to an hour of casual strolling.

One down side is the noise from the major traffic circle out front, although when both balcony doors are closed it is not too bad. We had to keep the doors open because we couldn't get the air conditioning to work. The other major downer is the rooftop restaurant. The ambience and service were good, but the food was not good. We ate there three times. All meals were horribly overcooked and came with just meat and french fries. No choices for potatoes, and the only vegetable served (first night's meal) was canned mushrooms. Prices were fairly steep. The third visit was desperation since we were leaving the hotel at 3 a.m. next morning and weren't up to finding anywhere else to eat. Recommendation is stay here but don't eat dinner here. Breakfast buffet was OK, and nice and convenient.

We booked a one-day 3-island boat tour through the hotel (Paros, Hydra and Aegian islands). We would recommend this for a quick way to see some of the islands - it was a lot of fun.

  • Liked — Rate and location
  • Disliked — Rooftop restaurant for dinner
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    288
    182
    69
    21
See reviews for
137
190
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NoVA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights in October 2006. It was fine. The rooftop bar/restaurant/pool area was very pleasant. It is only a 10 or 15 minute walk to the Archeaological Museaum (all down hill after a visit, which is nice) and just steps from the Metaxourghio metro station, which is just 4 stops from the main square, Syntagma (or Constitution).

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

The Hotel Stanley in Athens is definitely OK, nothing wonderful yet very acceptable for what and where it is as well as being easy to find. I stayed there whilst attending a conference near the city centre and was not disappointed with my choice. On my arrival the front desk staff (four men) were very efficient, the porter was willing and the room they allocated to me was on the 6th floor and rather pleasant. Yes the bed was fairly firm (but that is a help). Overall I can only concur with the positives mentioned in other reviews, and wonder about the occasional negatives as these were not apparent during my stay. My room was clean, with cotton sheets and a smallish bathroom yet with an excellent shower. Public areas all clean and tidy. Breakfast selection could hardly be bettered. Location was most convenient and yes the road outside was very busy, but this is after all a major international city with the corresponding 'hurry-up' level of driving standard. As beautiful and descriptive as the Greek language can be, in general don’t expect British or American courtesies. Such pleasantries rarely appear to be part of the general make up of the Greek speaking population when communicating in their language or yours. We have discovered that this is rarely meant as rudeness, merely a different concept of what is important in communication. Although some of the younger Stanley management staff have obviously had training in customer relations. There are almost 400 rooms, yet make sure that you have definite confirmation of your booking.

  • Liked — cleanliness, shower and breakfast selection
  • Disliked — could be a little more quiet - traffic
  • Tips/Secrets — room above 5th floor not facing the busy road
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

This is a perfectly OK hotel in a reasonable location, with good breakfasts, and a great view from the roof bar/restaurant. If you are used to US ways of rating hotels, then expectations need to be adjusted. This hotel seemed to be variously rated as either a 3 or 4 star on the sites I looked at.
We checked in with friends, and were allocated rooms close to each other, but we had a bath and shower, and they only had a shower. They asked to be moved to a room with a bath, which they were, just down the corridor, but it was a short bath.
Although the websites say that the rooms have internet access, this is in fact a dial-up modem point, so you need to have a Greek ISP to dial. There is no broadband. You can use an Internet PC for a small fee.
I think one of the other reviews said that you need to ask for what you want - such as a view or a bath - and that seems sensible.
Also as mentioned elsewhere, the roof restaurant is to be avoided. It's overpriced, and while there's nothing wrong with the food, it's just not very interesting, and there's no atmosphere.
The pool is small, but for what it is, there's nothing wrong with it. At least there is one.
There's absolutely nothing wrong with the area. It's not a very interesting area, but it's not dangerous or anything.
We spent a few days seeing the Athens sights, took a boat trip to Hydra on one day, and a coach tour another day. We were picked up and dropped off from the hotel for the coach tour, and we booked it at the front desk.
Overall I think we did get value for money and would consider going back, but would also look around for what else was available.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

Stanley Hotel was not what I expected. I was under the impression is was a four star hotel. I was wrong I think this hotel was probably classified as a 2 star. Workers were rude and unhelpful. Rooms were small and uncomfortable. Clean towels were hard to come by as were clean sheets.

The only positive thing I could say about this hotel is that the Metro is really close by and there is a Taxi stand on the corner of the hotel.

The only reason people should go to this hotel is if it's a value price wise and you don't care really about weird smells and inadequate amenities.

  • Liked — The Metro
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Tips/Secrets — Do Not Come Here.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

Hotel Stanley should be avoided. Service is not so great, the people at the reception are rude and unwilling to help (which actually is what everyone in Athens is generally like) In my opinion asking your hotel concierge to make a reservation at a restaurant is not a difficult task however to them they thought they were bestowing a blessing upon me. The breakfast was not bad and the metro was right there. The area is not so nice however, no restaurants around. Also dont be fooled by the rooftop pool its more like a dirty tub...

  • Liked — the metro
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid this place
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stayed in this hotel for a total of 6 days in July and August. Twice in a triple with our adult son, and once in a double. The hotel is conveniently located with a metro just outside and it is in walking distance to the Archeological Museum. We found that the rooms vary quite a bit.. The double we had, room 339, was spacious and had a very nice bathroom with a tub.

One triple that we had, room 717, was large, but had the tiniest bathroom of our entire 3 week trip in Greece. The shower flooded the floor every time it was used and there was no counter top or anywhere to put toiletries. This was totally unacceptable and a major disappointment.

The second time we needed a triple we specifically asked for a large bathroom and were given a room (room 612) with a tub which was great. However, the third "bed" was a saggy rollaway which they said is their normal triple. It appeared that the room was really a double being used as a triple for a 30 Euro extra charge.

The breakfast was very good as others have said, and the rooftop pool was samll but nice, although it was closed off early for a wedding reception one evening.

The restaurant and rooftop bar were very expensive.

The "business center" was a joke. One computer that was almost never available.

And the hotel staff were not very accomodating. Even after staying at the hotel for 6 days the best they would do for a late check out on the day that we had a middle of the night flight was a 2 PM check out. Not very helpful.

Overall, the hotel was decent, but not gracious. And if you stay there and don't want a flooded floor in the bathroom, ask for a room with a bathtub.

  • Liked — convenient location and good buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — tiny bathroom shower that flooded, unaccomodating staff, poor business facilities
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room with a bath tub
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 1 Odysseos St | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 10437, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.