We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Odysseos St | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 10437, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 324 hotels in Athens
Radlett, Herts, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Good value hotel next to a metro station. The staff are friendly and helpful. Amazing views from the rooftop bar, restaurant and pool (a bit small). Good selection for the buffet breakfast.

The wifi is barely works in the rooms and you need to go to the lobby reception to get a decent connection. On the plus side they have computers with a printer in the lobby. I would recommend that the hotel does not start cleaning rooms before 8 am! We were disturbed a couple of times with rooms close to us being cleaned at 7.30 am.

Room Tip: Top floors have good views especially south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL_PSYCHIAS, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor and choosing to stay with us at The Stanley. We are happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly, and enjoyed our rooftop terrace.

We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding WiFi and cleaning service. We are actively working to correct the WiFi system and will be rehauling our entire system in the next few months, so should we have the chance to welcome you again, we believe that the service will be vastly improved. Additionally, we are thankful for you comment about our cleaning service. We will discuss internally to discuss how to address it within our process.

Thank you once more, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    214
    141
    50
    17
See reviews for
105
136
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stanley Hotel is definitely not a 4* hotel. We arrived and were impressed as we walked into the front lobby. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was large however that first impression disappeared as our room was in dire need of some decoration. Did not strike us as a 4*. It seemed clean just a little battered. I did request a high floor and view of the Acropolis and I went straight out to the balcony - they had obliged and I was over the moon. Part of this however meant we were on the main road which is very busy and noisy - but this is Athens all over and to be expected.

The bathroom again was dated and the bathroom door was coming apart at the bottom. There was a lot of dust on top of the mirror light - (and no I do not go checking these things - I had to lean on it whilst adjusting a shoe!) but apart from that there was no obvious uncleanliness.

We were shocked at the area the hotel was located in. We went out on our first night and felt a little uncomfortable but put it down to us being in a new city. The next day we went on the open tour bus and as we put on our headphones we heard how this part of the city is very run down and full of brothels!!! We ventured out on a number of occasions and used the metro (which is located 2mins way - very handy) but felt very uncomfortable and fearful. We ended up getting cabs from outside of the hotel to our destinations. If you are getting the metro or cabs the hotel is
in a convenient location to get everywhere, but be prepared to feel on edge! Very few places to eat/drink - we travelled out of Karaiskaki Sq for this.

We chose the hotel for the roof top terrace and it did not fail - it was beautiful and you could see the Acropolis whist having a glass of wine or coffee. A little more pricey but that is to be expected. There is also a pool but we were only here for limited time so were unable to utilize it.

The hotel is one of the biggest I have stayed in and breakfast catered for that. There is a fair selection but nothing that I would write home about. Staff were not particularly friendly when we had requests - wifi didn't work the whole time we were there.

I have never given a negative or low review on trip advisor, this is my first however if I was asked if I would return to this hotel then at the present time I would say no and I would not recommend it. It definitely needs updating and the direct location in my opinion is poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL_PSYCHIAS, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at The Stanley. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our rooftop terrace and found our location convenient.

We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding some areas of improvement we have. We have taken internal steps to continue to overhaul our room décor, our cleaning processes, our staff attitude, our breakfast quality, and a full-scale overhaul of our entire WiFi system as a result of your review.

Lastly, we would like to clarify that our neighborhood has a reputation that is a relic of the past. It is currently gentrifying with many new art galleries, restaurants, bars, and cafes opening in the area. In fact, Trip Advisor’s number one rated restaurant in all of Athens is just a few blocks walk from our door. And of course, we remain extremely convenient to get to all sites within Athens as well as easy access to the airport and Piraeus port.

Despite your conclusion in your review we do hope we have the chance to welcome you back to The Stanley for a second impression. We are confident we can deliver a better experience upon your second stay. Thank you again for your comments.



Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean!! its a quiet place and you can pick up a taxi outside the hotel!! its not very expensive and i believe its a nice place for a short trip in athens! it is also located next to a metro station!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback and for staying with us at The Stanley. We are very glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and hope to have the chance to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The price was alright but it is definitely not worth a 4 stars hotel. The design was quite bad and the rooms looked old. It was in an area very noisy and not very clean. The only goo dpoint was the roof top, but the restaurant and the bar there were too expansive

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Stanley and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We regret to hear that you did not have an ideal experience, though are glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooftop terrace.

We would like to address some of your comments regarding our hotel. We are classified as a 4-Star hotel not arbitrarily but by the Greek National Tourism Organization who is the competent authority. This is not a self-appointed title, it is given by an independent third party based on the services, facilities and amenities of our property. However, we do appreciate your comments regarding the design of our hotel and welcome any additional feedback you can give us that may help us improve the hotel for future guests.

We would also like to address your comments regarding the prices in our restaurants and bars. We attempt to provide the best possible value to our customers and have priced our menus to be as reasonably priced as possible. Should you travel to other hotels throughout the city, you will see that our bars and restaurants provide a great value.

Despite your recent experience with us, we do wish to have the chance to welcome you back to The Stanley once more. We are confident we can provide you a better experience upon your return.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is located very close to metro station which is a plus. The staff is excellent, very helpful and response quickly. We had the fastest check-in ever. It has a good breakfast too, more like a traditional Greek breakfast which is also very suitable for us. There were cheese, tomatoes, scrambled egg, bacon, ham, yogurt, jam and a variety of breads.
However, the rooms were very old style. Renovation is required. It was clean though. But I think it is good value for its price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to hear that you found our location convenient, our staff helpful and friendly, enjoyed our breakfast buffet, and felt you received a great value.

We would also like to thank you for your comment regarding the “old style” of our hotel. We are currently in the process of planning updates to the look and feel as well upgrading amenities such as televisions, beds, and other technologies. Customer feedback is very important to us, so if there are any specific thoughts you have on this topic please let us know as your opinion is very valuable.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again the next time you are in Athens. Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stanley is one of the best hotels i have ever been. The service is exxelent. I had a very good vacation there, hope all of you had the opportunity to visit. It is flawless!!! Although i was ill the staff was tas kind it could be

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and for sharing your excellent feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the near future.

Thank you again.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was in a quite unsafe area. Altough easy to get there by metro, I find it was further away from center tan I would liked it to be....no nice nightlife around, not even one nice restaurant near.
As for the hotel it was extremely busy with crouds of teens who occupied every ounce of common space (breakfast area, computers, lobby, rooftop decks, etc.). The room was large, and so was the bed, but poorly cleaned.
Not reccommended....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStanley, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at The Stanley and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We apologize that your experience was not ideal and would like to know about to help us better improve our property for future guests.

First, while we are happy to hear you found your room and bed large and comfortable we are troubled to hear that you felt it was poorly cleaned. If possible, please elaborate on this via the Trip Advisor message functionality, as we will address these issues immediately internally.

Second, we can assure that our neighborhood is quite safe to walk around day or night and there are many fantastic restaurants, bars and cafes within walking distance. Trip Advisor’s number one rated restaurant is just a few blocks away from The Stanley. In addition, The Stanley is the closest 4-star hotel to Gazi, a neighborhood with some of Athens best nightlife and restaurants. Should we have the opportunity to welcome you back, we would be happy to recommend any number of unique and authentic places to eat or drink in close range to The Stanley.

Thank you again for your feedback as it helps us improve our property for future guests. Despite your comments, we hope we have the chance to provide you a second impression of The Stanley the next time you are in Athens.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Management
The Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 1 Odysseos St | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 10437, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 324 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.