We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality of hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley Hotel to your Saves list
Stanley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Odysseos St | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 10437, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Morpeth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“quality of hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Busy location,
Hotel clean on our visit of four nights
rooms clean on sixth floor
Food on half board was what you can expect in a hotel that has been used by English tour operators for at least 30 years approx.
linen changed twice in four nights.
new carpets seemed to have been replaced.on 6th floor
floors and lifts take a little getting used too

Room Tip: square at front of hotel can be busy. If own car
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    271
    173
    64
    21
See reviews for
134
182
35
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I would not recommend this hotel. It was not in a very good location in Athens. It is okay to walk out and go straight to the metro, but not great to walk around. Our room smelled VERY badly of smoke, so we asked to change rooms. The second one smelled just as bad, so we went back to the first. The shower was hard to use and sprayed all over the bathroom. We could not get the safe in the room to work.

Cons: Not safe, smoke smell in rooms, difficult shower

Pros: The staff was very friendly, there is a roof-top pool and bar, and it is close to a metro stop.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I visited Athens back in April and enjoyed our stay at Stanley Hotel. The best thing is that it is right next to the metro station. We found it very easy to figure out how to ride the metro and get around Athens, very convenient. Our room was very spacious. The furniture is a bit dated and the beds were a bit hard but still we have very comfortable nights there.

Might want to get a room that does not face Metaxourgio square. The traffic was very loud! Greeks love to honk apparently. So there was pretty much nonstop honking from about 5AM through 1AM. But actually, I did kind of enjoy it, watching the cars driving around the circle with the Greeks hanging out their car windows yelling at each other and honking their horns. I felt I was right in the middle of real Greek everyday life.

Breakfast was fantastic. Big dining room, lots of food choices. Loved the do-it-yourself Greek coffee maker (involved filling a little pot and boiling it in hot sand). Also, great view of the Parthenon from the roof! Everyone at Stanley was very friendly. We enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas,USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Service at Hotel Stanley is assessed to be average as the extent of our contact with the front desk was checking in and checking out.
Our room was clean with comfortable beds on the 8th floor with a balcony overlooking a small square. At night the street tended to get busy with speeding motorcycles and police vehicle. Despite this activity we had no problems sleeping soundly.
Though away from sight seeing locations, the hotel is convienantly located immediately next to an efficient subway station that travels to key points within Athens. Breakfast in the morning was good and consisted of Eggs/Feta/Olives/Bread/ and Sandwich meats. No free wireless internet. The hotel does have Wi-Fi, but it is pricey at 5 Euros for 2 hrs access. Other hotel services are just as pricey.

Summary:
+ Close proximity to subway, good breakfast, and comfortable beds
- May be noisey at night to light sleepers, expensice WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

During our tour of Athens we stayed in the hotel Stanley for two nights. After the first night a girl woke up with something like 30 bites all over her body. Unfortunately, nothing was thought of it at the time. Upon coming home I had bites on me too. I have a confirmed case of bed bugs brought over from Europe from this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed at this hotel as a part of the Gate1Travel tour package. The hotel is not that great since it is not in the best area of Athens. I would spend more money to be closer to the Plaka area.

My husband and I had to change our rooms several times because the rooms smelled like smoke. Apparently there aren't smoking free rooms.

The rooms were old and dirty. Carpets were stained. Bathrooms were small and not in the best shape. I can't believe this is considered a "nice" hotel.

Breakfast was okay. Standard "American" breakfast - eggs, ham, bread, cheese.

No free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Located on noisy square with lots of traffic and police activity both day and night. General area is seedy and rather unattractive. Rooms to the front of hotel opposite square are bigger and have double glazed sliding doors to balcony. Rooms to the side do not have double glazing and are too small. Our rooms were very hot on arrival and the A/C controls did not work. On inquiry at reception we were informed that there was no A/C as their "guests prefer heat"! They should therefore not bother with the swimming pool on the roof as it was ice cold - quickest swim I have ever had. However the roof garden has a bar and is the best facility in the hotel with nice views over the city. The beds are small and hard and the bathrooms tiny. The no smoking signs in the lower bars are widely ignored with the complicity of staff and plant pot holders are provided to cater for smoking materials. Hotel accommodation was adequate enough but there must be better hotels than this in Athens. There is a Metro station beside the hotel but beware of pickpockets as several of our group were robbed here. Incidentally if you are unfortunate enough to be robbed the local police take absolutely no interest so don't waste time trying to report it.

Room Tip: See above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 1 Odysseos St | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 10437, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Athens Hotel is a four (4) star hotel, located in Karaiskaki Square near the center of Athens. We are directly in front of the Metaxourghio Metro station, a taxi stand, and tour bus stops, making travel around the city easy and convenient. We feature a stunning rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, a swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.