We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location with all 4 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amalia Hotel to your Saves list
Amalia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Amalias Avenue, Athens 10557, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent location with all 4 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

very good hotel and best location in the center of city.just opposite of national garden.all the major tourist spots on walking distance.metro,tram,buses are just on doorstep of hotel.good shopping and food street plaka is also on walikg distance.breakfast was excellent.veggies like me have lot of choices.

complimentry water and tea maker was not provided in the room.

Room Tip: always take higher floors room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    377
    66
    18
    7
See reviews for
127
402
46
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel was an excellent choice by my husband. The room was comfortable with a great bathroom. The buffet breakfast was delicious with lots of choices both hot and cold. The ambiance in the lobby and the breakfast room was dignified and luxurious. The hotel's location was great. We walked from Syntagma square metro station and had no trouble finding the hotel. The only problem we encountered was being pickpocketed as we left the train at Syntagma square - Wear a money belt. The pickpockets in Athens are magicians in how they use slight of hand to get into your front pocket without you even knowing!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have been visiting this hotel for decades, and it is finally looking quite good after refurbishment. Best part about it is the location, just yards from Metro stop and Syntagma square, and a short stroll to Plaka and Monastiraki. So hundreds of restaurant and bar options nearby, plus most tourist spots easily reachable by foot or metro. Room decent size and on the side road as I requested (quieter), and breakfast was fine. Very helpful reception staff, sorted out a 6 hour extension for me (and charged me but that is fair enough) as I had a late flight. Of course I will go there again.

Room Tip: Side street, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is located close to Syntagma Square from where you can transfer to and from the airport by metro.
It is also near to all the major tourist attractions and the Plaka district with its bars and restaurants.
We had booked a basic twin room which was ideal for our needs. It was very clean with a good sized bathroom. The room was however rather hot and we could not control the temperature at the room thermostat.
The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food.
All of the staff were very friendly and the man on reception explained where the computer was for us to print out our boarding passes for the return journey.
A superb view from the hotel rooftop of Athens.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.
Only grumble was the bar closed at 11.00pm prompt.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a balcony but there may be noise from the main road. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, left on an overnight tour and returned again for one night and both stays were great. Staff extremely helpful and my request for room away from lift was followed through for both stays. Rooms were big, comfortable and had at bath too. Hairdryer also supplied. Breakfast was great choice...fresh fruit, greek yoghurt and cakes as well as european type breakfast foods. Staff at Cafe downstairs were friendly, efficient and helpful with tourist information. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from front as hotel on main street. Good view of Parthenon from 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Room was large and comfortable overlooking the gardens, spotlessly clean and in good condition. We had one of the 7th floor rooms (deluxe) with a terrace which was great for drinks, sunbathing, or just sitting a cup of tea watching the world go past!
Bathroom recently refurbished, very good quality, although plumbing a bit dodgy (empty the sink and the water comes up through a drain in the floor!) but the hotel sent a cleaner up quickly to clear up (so suspect this might be a regular occurrence?)
The whole hotel appears to have been recently refurbished, and is excellent value for central Athens.
Breakfast a very diverse buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just one night as we were passing through Athens. The hotel appears to have been recently refurbished, and we were upgraded to a deluxe room, all very nice with very friendly staff. Location is exceptionally good, central on the edge of Syntagma square. Breakfast had a superb selection of fruits, pastries and hot food.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Amalias Avenue, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#23 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.