We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amalia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Amalias Avenue, Athens 10557, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We won our trip so have no idea what the cost of the room was. That being said, very nice, clean hotel with good size rooms for Europe. Staff were helpful, some more than others. Very professional. Excellent location! The breakfast is well worth 8 euros as compared to what is out there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a positive comments from the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and members of our staff have fulfilled your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Amalia Athens next time your travels bring you to Athens.

Sincerely,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    349
    63
    18
    7
See reviews for
116
366
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, Sussex UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ideally located for the Athens metro - just a short walk from the Plaka area and Syntagma Square.

Very comfortable - good sleep quality even though located near a busy road - rooms are perhaps a bit basic but this is three star ......check in was excellent.

Nice view from the roof of the Parthenon. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is located near Sintagma and near metro station. Very good location so you don't have to take all the time taxi. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, new, comfortable! I will definetly stay again here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your possitive comments about your stay in Amalia Athens,a 4 Star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

We do appreciate your comments, as our customer’s opinion is most important for us.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Amalia Athens.

Kind regards,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is quite centrally located. We took the train from Piraeus port with one change over and it took us 30mins or so to get to our stop. Hotel is right outside the train stop.
All the major attractions are at walking distance. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that our room has been upgraded and we got a room on the higher floor with a balcony. Room was just fantastic and really good size. Bathroom was spacious as well. Breakfast wasn’t part of the price but we had it a few mornings and found the variety & quality to be really good. There was a safe in the room as well.
Wi-fi wasn't free but was available for a charge. There is a desktop on ground floor for free and we just used that.
Staff were really welcoming, friendly and helpful. we stored our luggage after check-out as well.
Food at the restaurant was really good and we got it delivered to our room as well one night.
All in all a fantastic hotel, centrally located and value for money. Would definitely stay here if we visit Athens again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

May I thank you for your time taken to write such a positive comments regarding your stay with us and to extend the greetings from all here at the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

Your positive comments will stimulate our staff to maintain the excellent quality of service and also i want to inform you that since the 1st of September 2013 the Wi-fi is free to all of our public areas and rooms.

One more time thanks for you high appreciation and rest assured that we look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a very comfortable room with king size bed and balcony. The room was quite spacious, the bed comfy, quality bedding and towels and excellent hot water. Breakfast, which was included in our rate, had a good selection, which was kept replenished regularly.
Very easy to reach places on foot. Can be recommended highly.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a balcony overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a positive comments from the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more.

We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A very comfortable, well run, hotel conveniently placed adjacent Syntagma Square and opposite the Parliament and Park. Helpful and friendly staff. As reviews by others, breakfast is magnificent with a huge choice of dishes. Good quality complimentary toiletries, renewed daily. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Depending on your preference, good view of the park from the front of the hotel but quieter to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing such a kind comments regarding your stay in the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

Your comments will stimulate our staff to maintain the excellent quality of service and I thank you once more.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Amalia Athens.

Kind regards,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My stay was one night each two times in Sept 2013, very nice classic Hotel in a perfect location whether for the Acopolis, Plaka or Kolonaki, to/from Airport bus (5€) is 100 meters away, Taxi to Piraeus is 15-20min and around 20 Euros. The rooms are international very good standard in modern design, breakfast very nice with a wide selection. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. When you have an early flight/boat, there is tea an coffee available just next to the reception, you can store your luggage for the day wihtout a problem before leaving. There is a roof terrace with a great view :-) to watch the sunset (only thing I would recommend is the addition of a gym room).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Amalias Avenue, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Spa Hotel in Athens
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#23 Family Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.