We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amalia Hotel to your Saves list
Amalia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Amalias Avenue, Athens 10557, Greece (Syntagma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 329 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, Sussex UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ideally located for the Athens metro - just a short walk from the Plaka area and Syntagma Square.

Very comfortable - good sleep quality even though located near a busy road - rooms are perhaps a bit basic but this is three star ......check in was excellent.

Nice view from the roof of the Parthenon. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    465
    79
    21
    9
See reviews for
177
515
69
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is located near Sintagma and near metro station. Very good location so you don't have to take all the time taxi. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, new, comfortable! I will definetly stay again here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your possitive comments about your stay in Amalia Athens,a 4 Star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

We do appreciate your comments, as our customer’s opinion is most important for us.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Amalia Athens.

Kind regards,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is quite centrally located. We took the train from Piraeus port with one change over and it took us 30mins or so to get to our stop. Hotel is right outside the train stop.
All the major attractions are at walking distance. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that our room has been upgraded and we got a room on the higher floor with a balcony. Room was just fantastic and really good size. Bathroom was spacious as well. Breakfast wasn’t part of the price but we had it a few mornings and found the variety & quality to be really good. There was a safe in the room as well.
Wi-fi wasn't free but was available for a charge. There is a desktop on ground floor for free and we just used that.
Staff were really welcoming, friendly and helpful. we stored our luggage after check-out as well.
Food at the restaurant was really good and we got it delivered to our room as well one night.
All in all a fantastic hotel, centrally located and value for money. Would definitely stay here if we visit Athens again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

May I thank you for your time taken to write such a positive comments regarding your stay with us and to extend the greetings from all here at the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

Your positive comments will stimulate our staff to maintain the excellent quality of service and also i want to inform you that since the 1st of September 2013 the Wi-fi is free to all of our public areas and rooms.

One more time thanks for you high appreciation and rest assured that we look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a very comfortable room with king size bed and balcony. The room was quite spacious, the bed comfy, quality bedding and towels and excellent hot water. Breakfast, which was included in our rate, had a good selection, which was kept replenished regularly.
Very easy to reach places on foot. Can be recommended highly.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a balcony overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a positive comments from the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more.

We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A very comfortable, well run, hotel conveniently placed adjacent Syntagma Square and opposite the Parliament and Park. Helpful and friendly staff. As reviews by others, breakfast is magnificent with a huge choice of dishes. Good quality complimentary toiletries, renewed daily. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Depending on your preference, good view of the park from the front of the hotel but quieter to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing such a kind comments regarding your stay in the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

Your comments will stimulate our staff to maintain the excellent quality of service and I thank you once more.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Amalia Athens.

Kind regards,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My stay was one night each two times in Sept 2013, very nice classic Hotel in a perfect location whether for the Acopolis, Plaka or Kolonaki, to/from Airport bus (5€) is 100 meters away, Taxi to Piraeus is 15-20min and around 20 Euros. The rooms are international very good standard in modern design, breakfast very nice with a wide selection. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. When you have an early flight/boat, there is tea an coffee available just next to the reception, you can store your luggage for the day wihtout a problem before leaving. There is a roof terrace with a great view :-) to watch the sunset (only thing I would recommend is the addition of a gym room).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is gradation. It is in there city center. Very close to almost everything. My 85year old mother and I were able to walk almost everywhere. There were restaurants near bus and also shopping. The hotel staff was very nice and Accommodating. The breakfast was awesome. The only negative was the hard beds. All in all Would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,229 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#6 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Hotel - Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#11 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,832 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Amalias Avenue, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#15 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.