We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amalia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Amalia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Amalias Avenue, Athens 10557, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 325 hotels in Athens
Horsham, Sussex UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ideally located for the Athens metro - just a short walk from the Plaka area and Syntagma Square.

Very comfortable - good sleep quality even though located near a busy road - rooms are perhaps a bit basic but this is three star ......check in was excellent.

Nice view from the roof of the Parthenon. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    307
    58
    13
    5
See reviews for
89
303
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is located near Sintagma and near metro station. Very good location so you don't have to take all the time taxi. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, new, comfortable! I will definetly stay again here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your possitive comments about your stay in Amalia Athens,a 4 Star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

We do appreciate your comments, as our customer’s opinion is most important for us.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Amalia Athens.

Kind regards,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is quite centrally located. We took the train from Piraeus port with one change over and it took us 30mins or so to get to our stop. Hotel is right outside the train stop.
All the major attractions are at walking distance. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that our room has been upgraded and we got a room on the higher floor with a balcony. Room was just fantastic and really good size. Bathroom was spacious as well. Breakfast wasn’t part of the price but we had it a few mornings and found the variety & quality to be really good. There was a safe in the room as well.
Wi-fi wasn't free but was available for a charge. There is a desktop on ground floor for free and we just used that.
Staff were really welcoming, friendly and helpful. we stored our luggage after check-out as well.
Food at the restaurant was really good and we got it delivered to our room as well one night.
All in all a fantastic hotel, centrally located and value for money. Would definitely stay here if we visit Athens again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

May I thank you for your time taken to write such a positive comments regarding your stay with us and to extend the greetings from all here at the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

Your positive comments will stimulate our staff to maintain the excellent quality of service and also i want to inform you that since the 1st of September 2013 the Wi-fi is free to all of our public areas and rooms.

One more time thanks for you high appreciation and rest assured that we look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a very comfortable room with king size bed and balcony. The room was quite spacious, the bed comfy, quality bedding and towels and excellent hot water. Breakfast, which was included in our rate, had a good selection, which was kept replenished regularly.
Very easy to reach places on foot. Can be recommended highly.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a balcony overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a positive comments from the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

It is through responses like yours that we can evaluate our services and I thank you once more.

We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A very comfortable, well run, hotel conveniently placed adjacent Syntagma Square and opposite the Parliament and Park. Helpful and friendly staff. As reviews by others, breakfast is magnificent with a huge choice of dishes. Good quality complimentary toiletries, renewed daily. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Depending on your preference, good view of the park from the front of the hotel but quieter to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daouliaris_A, Director of Operations at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing such a kind comments regarding your stay in the Amalia Athens, a 4 star Hotel member of Amalia Group of Hotels.

Your comments will stimulate our staff to maintain the excellent quality of service and I thank you once more.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Amalia Athens.

Kind regards,

Daouliaris Argiris
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My stay was one night each two times in Sept 2013, very nice classic Hotel in a perfect location whether for the Acopolis, Plaka or Kolonaki, to/from Airport bus (5€) is 100 meters away, Taxi to Piraeus is 15-20min and around 20 Euros. The rooms are international very good standard in modern design, breakfast very nice with a wide selection. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. When you have an early flight/boat, there is tea an coffee available just next to the reception, you can store your luggage for the day wihtout a problem before leaving. There is a roof terrace with a great view :-) to watch the sunset (only thing I would recommend is the addition of a gym room).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is gradation. It is in there city center. Very close to almost everything. My 85year old mother and I were able to walk almost everywhere. There were restaurants near bus and also shopping. The hotel staff was very nice and Accommodating. The breakfast was awesome. The only negative was the hard beds. All in all Would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens
Address: 10 Amalias Avenue, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#23 Family Hotel in Athens
#30 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.