We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay at Amalia Hotel Athens during 2013 Orthodox Easter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amalia Hotel to your Saves list
Amalia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Amalias Avenue, Athens 10557, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Rehovot, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant stay at Amalia Hotel Athens during 2013 Orthodox Easter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at Athens Greece Amalia hotel for 8 nights, between 4/29/13 and 5/9/13. Everything was perfect, beginning with the location of the hotel, close to Syntagma Place, which enabled us to get everywhere in the city and outside the city very quickly. The service was excellent in every aspect, at the reception desk, in the room, at the breakfast lounge. We definitely will come back to the Amalia hotel next time we come to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    377
    66
    18
    7
See reviews for
127
402
46
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The location and the staff of the hotel makes the staing in amalia a perfect match for b&b vaciton in athens.
We only stayed at the hotel for one night but everything went smoothly without any hassles

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 5 nights at the Amalia hotel which is situated 100 metres from Syntagma Square right in the centre. The staff are amongst the most courteous and helpful we have experienced anywhere. Comfortable rooms and great value

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were initially looking for a B&B in Athens which was easily accessible by public transport when we happened to stumble upon Amalia Hotel. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Syntagma Square and was very easy to find. The hotel is also around a 10-15 minute walk to the Acropolis Museum which is very convenient.

We only stayed at the hotel for one night but everything went smoothly without any hassles. The people at reception were very helpful with our queries and made sure that we were comfortable. The room itself was sufficient for the both of us although the bathroom was a little on the smaller side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been staying in Amalia quite a few times now and it will always be my second home. It is easy to book on there homepage, you get a warm welcome from the staff, the rooms are nice and clean. You realy fell at home. The breakfast is very good and the location is perfect. Close to the shoping, subway station, tram, busses outside the door and close to the main square. I can highly recommend every to stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, bu try to get on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Perfect location, with all the basic necessities provided for. Stayed for 5 nights. The hotel was not luxurious but adequate, the good location was great for walking to the Plaka area and to the Acropolis and other sites. Breakfast was very nice. The room décor was a bit dreary and could have done with some colour, but the view was good. Our room was at the front of the hotel with a balcony but we wouldn't have sat out there as the barrier at the front of it was quite low and was a bit unnerving. On the couple of sunny days we had the room became quite hot and the air conditioning was not very efficient, but the staff provided me with a fan on request, for extra cooling. The staff were consistently very helpful and friendly with it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent three nights here in February and could not have been happier! The room is the perfect size - not too small, not too large. Nice, big bathroom but the shower/tub was one that you had to step up into and I always hit my shins on it! That is really my worst complaint about this place.

Staff was very friendly and spoke good English - even breakfast staff. And oh, the breakfast. What a great way to start the morning! And boy, do I miss waking up to that daily! It was quite the spread with fresh veggies & fruit as well as normal American standards like eggs and potatoes. Also, some great Greek sweets, pastries and bread. And, the coffee was most excellent!

The location is perfection. You can walk out and go right across the street to the park or just a quick walk down the street to the Plaka and the Acropolis. Plus, the airport bus stop is just around the corner. If you're going to Athens and want the best location/value, then this is it.

I walked around the area between the hotel and the Plaka at night and felt incredibly safe. I had worried about that after reading about pickpockets.

Super clean and very quiet in the room for sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: 10 Amalias Avenue, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#23 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial 7-story Hotel in the center of the city, facing National Garden, just off Constitution Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.