We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athens Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Municipal Art Gallery

Municipal Art Gallery
Myllerou 32 & Leonidou (Avdi Square) | Metaxourgeio, Athens 10436, Greece
+30.210.3231841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 178 Attractions in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 21 Reviews
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Municipal Gallery of Athens is the principal public museum in Greece’s capital city. It houses a diverse collection of nearly 3,000 works from leading 19th and 20th Century artists.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Athens Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stepping into the Municipal Art Gallery, was a perfect reprieve from a long day of touristy sight seeing. The art is beautiful and the fact that the majority of the artists are Greek deepens the spirit of the place. Also, the hours are great and the neighborhood of Mextaxorgeio is a fun place to explore!

On a side note, I was suprised that it was free - maybe a suggested donation of a couple euros would bring more focus and attention to its potential because there's a lot...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The art was wonderful, an excellent variety of styles, but the atmosphere ruined the whole experience.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

At first sight the gallery is in a beautiful building and the art space is modern and inviting.Unfortunately this is where the great vibe ends, as I fail to see how one can appreciate the art whilst being shadowed from painting to painting by menacing security guards. Needless to say the beauty of the art could not keep our hearts up and both I and my partner simultaneously felt the need to leave rapidly, after only managing to view 1 1/2 rooms. I could never recommend a place that is so oppressive and its a shame that such a potential gem could be hindered so bad by over zealous security.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Near the heart of Metaxourgeio is the Municipal Art Gallery. This unassuming building houses a fair sized collection of art, ranging many different art movements. The colorful descriptions of the different art movements' Grecian interpretations are both in Greek and English. Overall, I really enjoyed my time here, especially because it's free and in such a beautiful and vibrant neighborhood.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem--and it's free?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Being a lover of the arts, it was highly recommended that I explore this art exhibit with a fine collection of Greek impressionistic and surrealist art. I was greeted by friendly English-speaking security and was even allowed to take photographs of certain pictures I liked- no flash of course. Comfortable lighting and very clean--a treat for an afternoon visitor on a budget! I was amazed to learn that it was free!! Furthermore, its open to the public, with free guided tours of archaeological and other cultural sites in Athens. Pass the word--this is a must see!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must see place in Metaxourgio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I visited the gallery thanks to a friend who recommended it to me and I wasn't dissapointed. Rich collection of fine pictures from the last century - in various styles, lots of them amazing value. I liked it very much. I recommend to everyone to see it. Also Metaxourgio quarter does good impression as a whole as arty & alternative neigbourhood. This is must see in Athens for everyone who is interested in art!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Municipal Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Municipal Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Municipal Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.