We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divani Caravel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Divani Caravel Hotel to your Saves list
Divani Caravel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou, Athens 16121, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It's not cheap (225 Euros for an executive plus room), but I have to say compared to other hotels I have stayed at in Athens, it is worth paying the extra. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The in-room facilities cover pretty much all your needs and from the executive floor, the views are fantastic.

All the staff we encountered were courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and of good quality. I can't comment on lunch or dinner as we ate out in the city with business clients.

The location of the hotel is convenient and in a pretty decent part of the city. You can hop in a taxi and be enjoying the central sights within 5 or 10 minutes depending on the time of day.

I will happily appoint this is my hotel of choice for my Athens visits from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    204
    110
    34
    9
See reviews for
67
126
33
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bribie isalnd
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 5 nights here 3 one time and two the other, it is a comfortable hotel. Breakfast variety was good and they made me a poached egg when I asked for it. They do not have free WIFI but the little drinking places around the corner have so spent many a night there.
One thing I left my Europe adaptor in the room, we rang to let them know if they could get housekeeping to get it for us as we were coming back and guess what, nothing was done but the plug was found in the same room we had had before still sitting in the outlet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just spent 4 days in Athens and stayed at this hotel. It is a Leading Hotels of the World member. It is a comfortable place to stay. I would not classify it as luxurious. The hotel was very busy with meetings. We were leader club members @ LHW so we had a suite, which was very large and glad a view of the Acropolis. The one complaint with the room was inadequate lighting. Also, we were on the Executive floor, which had a desk for a concierge. The desk was rarely occupied, which was a negative.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I did not stay at the hotel, but visited for two days for a conference. However, my brief dealings with the staff gave me enough reason to write this review - and to advise you not to stay here.

Upon arrival, the lobby was not busy, but I still had to wait 5-10 minutes to speak to someone at reception. I asked about wifi and was told the rate is €5 per hour - which seemed excessive. It turned out that the conference had its own free network - but the staff didn't want me to know about this.

I needed to print something for the conference and asked for advice on the local area. I was pointed towards the hotel's in-house business centre - this did not have the facilities I needed, but rather than being pointed in the right direction, was given a long spiel on how much everything costs. The woman then decided to take a phone call in the middle of my conversation with her. After another wait, the receptionist reluctantly gave me vague directions for facilities in the local area - I had to ask someone in the street for better advice.

It was very clear that the staff did not want to help, and only wanted to extract money. This experience seems in line with other reviewers who have stayed at this hotel. Avoid!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel that belongs to the leading hotels of the world. The service was great and the shuttle service is very convenient to take you to the centre city and to visit the acropolis. All recommendations by staff was great. We had a room with view of acropolis and it was great. Breakfast variety was good and food was tasty. We can recommend the spa. Treatments are good and therapist were competent.You can walk to town if required but the shuttle helps. Good restaurants all around the hotel.

Room Tip: room with view of acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel from the outside and it's grand lobby but value for money, I would have stayed at the Westin. The room had no view...well, a view of local residents' balconies and laundry. There was construction going on which woke us up to the sound of power equipment at 8am. There was no free WiFi but the hotel was happy to charge €25 for 3days of WiFi. I had to pay €1 to make a collect call to Visa using a number they provided which was unassigned. Overall, the least impressive accommodation on our 14 day tour of Greece and Spain.

5 star look; 2 star value and experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of an Insight Tours tour. This is a four or five star hotel. The lobby is huge and very modern. Our room was nice, albeit the bathroom somewhat small. The toilet was located behind the door, and the only thing that kept the door from hitting it was a floor stop. Also, the step-up into the tub/shower was exceptionally high. We encountered the same bathroom design at our hotel in Istanbul. I did not like the breakfast buffet included with the room. I thought the "hot" food was always cold or, at best, lukewarm. The location is not exactly close to the city center but within walking distance, and you can always take a cab. We thought the cab fares quite reasonable. You do need to walk across the street to pick up the cab. You will be charged more if it comes to the hotel door. Also, check that the meter starts out fresh without previous charges on it. I caught this "mistake" one time.

We also made the mistake of having two cokes in the lobby restaurant--12 euros for two eight ounce cokes. We didn't do that again. There are, however, some good reasonable restaurants very close to the hotel. Go out the front doors, turn left and then left again at the first street and you will encounter three restaurants on your left with tables also across the sidewalk. The food was delicious and the people who work in the restaurants very nice. There is also a small grocery store on this same street where you can buy water, soft drinks, etc. at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Address: 2 Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou, Athens 16121, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Athens
#34 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#35 Business Hotel in Athens
#57 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (40 suites and 2 presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divani Caravel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.