We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wi-Fi is NOT free. Shame !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divani Caravel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Divani Caravel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divani Caravel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou, Athens 16121, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 324 hotels in Athens
Trikala, Greece
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wi-Fi is NOT free. Shame !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a really wonderful hotel. The lobby is impressive and the cafeteria in the ground floor is vey quiet and nice. Staff was willing and polite. Our room was spacious and clean but the beds were not so comfortable as anticipated. The breakfast room was modern and very relaxing. The breakfast was a real delight: lot of fresh, well cooked and presented food (with emphasis given in Greek cuisine) in a great variety.
What spoiled my good impressions was that the internet was NOT free (15 € per day !!!). I find quite unacceptable for a hotel of such a class and price tag not to offer free wi-fi to its clients.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are satisfied to see that the general impression of your experience here was positive. Your warm input about your room and the breakfast area have been communicated to our staff and we thank you.

Regarding the charge for the WIFI we would like to inform you that this is inline with the rates of other deluxe hotels in Athens.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    152
    84
    24
    3
See reviews for
53
88
26
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the Divani. Reception and bell hop were pleasurable and welcoming with good English. Amenities are a bit dated but they are clean. Had breakfast and dinner at their restaurant and found them of good quality and value. Location was perfect as you can walk to Syntagma Square if you are inclined and the Metro station was a short walk away. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: They have a bar with a good view of the Acropolis. Ask for a room overlooking the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed and were very satisfied with your recent stay at Divani Caravel
Your warm input regarding the services rendered has been passed onto my team and has been trully appreciated.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very good hotel with wonderful breakfasts. Quiet for sleeping and clean. Location good; about 25 minute walk to foot of the Acropolis. Service was of a high standard and we were in both a normal room one night before a complimentary upgrade to a suite. Suite was great except for a leaky shower. Perhaps a touch overpriced relative to some hotels in slightly better locations but would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

It is a pleasure to read such positive comments about your recent stay with us at Divani Caravel

Your warm input has been shared with my team and it has been trull appreciated

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the new year holiday. Our suit is looking to Acropolis and we enjoyed very much to spend time at the room. I recommend this hotel for the super friendly hotel staff and very clean rooms. The hotel is a little bit far from the center but hotel offers shuttle to Sintagma square. We even attended to the new year eve gala dinner. It was very enjoyable and we are happy to meet 2013 at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Caravel Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for your positive feedback about your stay at Divani Caravel

Your warm input regarding the services rendered, the facilities, the personnel's friendly attitude has been passed onto my team and been truly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Divani Caravel stands out for its spotless service, trully deserving of it being part of Leading Hotels of the World. I stayed ther twice and the rooms were incredibly large and comfortable. Good breakfast as well. That being said, the hotel could use some urgent renovations. Somethings are almost laughable, such as the cassette player and the fax machine in the room. TV could also be upgraded (you would expect a LCD or LED instead of one of late 90's). Those are, however, minor flaws compared with the overall experience, which largely surpasses the expectations you could have considering the fairly reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A nice hotel close to the very center of Athens. Good and friendly staff, always ready to help. Cozy, clean rooms, rich breakfast. If the weather is not the best for walking around the city - you can visiti some of the hotel facilities. Swimming pool with a great view! Would recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I found this hotel to be below the standard expected of this group. The floor coverings and curtains were a little "tired" and I had the same problem with the room key not working as an earlier reviewer. It appeared to be random as to whether the swipe card opened the door, one night we spent at least 5 minutes alternately swiping the two cards we had been issued. Just when we were about to give up one of them worked. Very frustrating.

On our day of departure we had misplaced our passports. I asked for a maid to be sent to help us search the room as I was certain they were there somewhere. All I got was the security man showing a list of times that the room had been accessed. I eventually found them with the help of a friend but I think my request for a maid to help with the search was not unreasonable, would have found them earlier and saved a lot of worry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divani Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Caravel Hotel

Address: 2 Leoforos Vasileos Alexandrou, Athens 16121, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#33 Business Hotel in Athens
#41 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#50 Family Hotel in Athens
#58 Spa Hotel in Athens
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Caravel Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divani Caravel is a 5 star hotel ideally situated in central Athens. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Divani Caravel exemplifies refined luxury and exceptional service. Our hotel accommodation features 471 rooms (40 suites and 2 presidential suites). Facilities: health club and spa, swimming pool and fitness centre. Divani Caravel also hosts memorable events and weddings in its elegant meeting settings and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Divani Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Caravel Athens
Hotel Divani Caravel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divani Caravel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.