We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Accident” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 - 25 Parthenonos St, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Evergreen Park, Illinois
1 review
“A Happy Accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I ended up at the Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel rather unexpectedly when my husband had to be taken from the cruise we were on to the Metropolitan Hospital in Greece. I can not say enough about the entire staff at this hotel. The manager Mr. Themes & Mr.Loukas (sorry if spelled wrong!) could not do enough for me. They were sympathetic to my situation and were more than helpful in every request from directions to supplying an adapter plug for my laptop. Each day someone from the desk would ask how my husband was doing in the hospital. Each and every person on staff that I encountered was friendly and caring. The room I had was lovely, immaculate, safe and comfortable-Thanks Sofia!!. The hotel is ideally suited for touring the Acropolis and the Plaka. Additionally, the rooftop restaurant was outstanding as was the service and the view of the Acropolis. Eventually, after 5 days my husband was released from the hospital and every person greeted him as if he were family. My heartfelt thanks to everyone there for making a very difficult time a lot easier. I hope to return in the future under happier circumstances. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Athens.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    281
    155
    49
    20
See reviews for
139
240
39
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very good rooms, not enough view. We arrived by metro from airport, it gets more than 40 minutes but there isn't enough directions (from Acropol metro station to hotel) at hotels web site. Hotel is very closed to metro station it takes only 7-8 minutes by walk with your suit cases :-) If you are unlucky and your neighbours wake up early and begin to to talk at balcony echo is very much, becareful for your neighbours !!

Room Tip: You have to get room from opposite side from main entrance. (from west side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I travel a lot for business and have the opportunity to stay in numerous hotels. I have stayed in hotels much more grand, but this hotel and it's staff should be the university for teaching other hotels the meaning of hospitality. I was extremely pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was traveling alone and I wanted a place close to everything so I wouldn't have to travel far from my hotel at night. This hotel is perfect. It is 2 blocks from the Acropolsis and walking distance to Pikka, where you will find all the restaurants and shopping. You can take the Metro from the airport to the Acropolsis and just walk a few blocks to the hotel. Everyone at the hotel was great. I asked where the ice machine was and they brought me ice at no charge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definately book this hotel again. My room had a balcony which was a added plus I didn't expect. For the money it was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was the venue for an international conference I attended.

Initially, I thought that the beds were a bit old and lumpy. But, after I'd actually gone to bed I had the best sleep I'd had in a long time. Very comfortable in fact.

The conference food was a delight. Most conference catering at hotel venues is derivative and without flavour. The catering at Divani was fantastic. One of the best I've had.

Would recommend for your next business conference in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a Trafalgar tour, and then another night post- tour. The rooms were decent and staff were friendly, for the most. Many tour companies use this hotel, so the lobby is frequently busy checking in large groups, making it difficult to speak to a staff member. I was most disappointed that the roof-top terrace does not open until later in the evening. We went up for a drink on the first night and found it to be a bit stuffy for our taste so we did not return. Also, not every table on the terrace has a view of the Acropolis. The breakfast buffet was better than average. The location is very good; near the Plaka area, Acropolis and New Acropolis Museum. I prefer the smaller boutique hotels, like the Plaka Hotel, where we stayed a few days before our tour started. I found the service there to be much more personalized. Since I do not care about a pool or other big hotel amenities, the Divani Palace was not the hotel for me. Also, you have to pay for wifi, and it still didn't work reliably.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our "acropolis view" was a view of the back of several buildings, the other side of the hotel, and electrical poles. Way off in the distance, if you went out on the balcony and leaned over the side you could, in fact, get a glimpse of the Acropolis.
The rooms were small and tired, the balcony useless unless you wanted to watch the guy across from you smoking in his underwear. Large tour groups stay here. The location was near the Plaka, which was fun to walk around. The bathrooms were fine, with good amenities. If you just want a base from which to tour Athens, and you can get a good rate, stay here. If you would like a little more luxury, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: The Acropolis View is not much, so don't bother to upgrade. Keep your curtains closed.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel

Address: 19 - 25 Parthenonos St, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#51 Family Hotel in Athens
#60 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no other hotel in Athens to entwine more beautifully the history of ancient Greece with 5 star facilities. Divani Palace Acropolis sits just below the Acropolis, moments away from Plaka, the new archaeological museum and the Herodian theatre. Taste luxury and sophistication in our 180 rooms, 60 new deluxe rooms and 10 suites. Enjoy the hotel restaurants and bars, or explore the surrounding area for an authentic encounter with Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Acropolis Palace Athens
Hotel Divani Acropolis Palace
Divani Acropolis Hotel
Acropolis Hotel Athens
Divani Palace Acropolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.