We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 - 25 Parthenonos St, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 324 Hotels in Athens
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The divani hotel in Voulagmeni was one of my best holidays their staff are kind and do whatever you need...
The one problem I had was that the staff at the breakfast wasn't bad it was average
But other than that I go back now twice a year!!
Listen to my opinion go!!!
It's he most amazing excperiance

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Although your comment is for our sister hotel Divani Apollon Palace & SPA at Kavouri we have communicated all your positive input and we are looking forward to welcome you again at one of the Divani Collection Hotels in Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    257
    145
    46
    20
See reviews for
133
220
33
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adamsville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

After a diligent search, my husband decided on this hotel and we are glad we did. Overall we had a very good stay. I'll break it down.

Rooms: In my opinion they are not large as another reviewer stated, at least by American standards, but it was clean with comfortable beds. The bathrooms were average size, but had a lot of counter space, so my husband could shave at the sink and there was still room for me to put on my makeup. That is always a plus when you want to make the best use of time. I do wish the windows were larger, because there was not a lot of natural light.

Convenience: This was one of the reasons for our choice. We had a driver at the airport to pick us up and who was there promptly to pick us up and return us there. Definitely stress eliminating when traveling internationally. The other convenience is its location. When you only have two days in country, time is critical, so the proximity to the Acropolis, Plaka and other places was great.

Staff: Very friendly and helpful. Probably because we were there in December, there was no concierge, but the desk staff was more than accommodating and gave some excellent recommendations and directions.

Restaurants: We were disappointed that the restaurant on the roof was closed, but considering the temperatures, that is understandable. We felt totally spoiled by the excellent breakfast buffet and it was included in our package, so we indulged without thinking about the check. It was extensive, fresh and delicious. It made eating cereal in our apartment the next day seem very insufficient.

Amenities: I agree with a previous reviewer that all hotels need to provide wifi, as that is a factor in deciding where to stay. We were given a cable for internet in our room, but mine was the only laptop that could use it. The internet was inconsistent, but that was probably not the fault of the hotel.

Other: The gift shop was very nice and the clerk was friendly and helpful. The lobby was very welcoming and beautifully decorated for Christmas.

Overall, we would stay again. My main complaint was that the hotel put a hold on our debit card that was more than our final bill. There was nothing posted that notified us of this. We were still traveling for the next few days and our card declined. Upon investigation, it was because of this hold and the response from the hotel is that it should come off sometime this month. I realize this is common practice, but as someone who prefers not to use credit cards, this is a major frustration. When you are on a tight budget, this can cause real difficulties. We had to call home and have a relative put money in our account so we could continue our trip. So be aware of this practice, if this is an issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is very good and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and of a good size and had a small balcony overlooking the street. The lobby is very nice.
We were happy with their breakfast which had a lot of variety.
The roof view that was the best was locked and unavailable.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a great place to stay. ....walking distace to Parthenon and plaka and other significant buildings. Room was very comfortable and quiet. We did not have a room where we could directly look out at Acropolis but could just see the corner. We actually really appreciated our view of Athens apartments and roof top gardens. It gave us a true picture of how just some of the locals live. Breakfast - outstanding. Staff were efficient and friendly. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is very good but there are some hotels in the same area for less than 80€. Yes other hotels are not 5 stars but believe me, this hotel dose not look like a 5 stars hotel. The rooms are very fair but very bad view. There was that girl in reception - Lefki - she was very nice person and so helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just got back!! Last leg of our Greek vacation was two nights in Athens. We arrived from Santorini via air around 9:00pm in the evening, exhausted by the travel but excited to be in ATHENS we could not wait to get to our destination. We have booked with a group tour, but were traveling independently. Boy was I happy I did my research on tripadvisor before I booked. Hopefully if you are choosing to travel to Greece you are aware that the economy is in dire straits, there are austerity measures in place by the EU which has strained an already struggling country. There are frequent demonstrations, and heightened political activism. That in addition to all of the travel warnings about crime on tourist, I was even more overjoyed by the Divani Acropolis. Location. location. location. We were the last tourists to be dropped a our hotels , so we were privy to the locations of the other hotels, and frankly they were obviously not in the safest locale for a tourist. The other hotels looked as if they were located in the South Bronx. Graffiti covered steel metal doors covered the shop windows in the sections that these hotels were located. Barbed wire surrounded parking lots. It was late at night and I am sure the other travelers were hungry , as I was, it honestly did not look like a safe place to try and find a quick bite. The tour guide informed all of these travelers they would need to take the metro to get to the Acropolis and surrounding sites.
When the bus pulled up in front of the Divani, the luxury and opulence was refreshing. The huge plush lobby was so welcoming for a weary traveler. The room was clean, contemporary, stylish and beautiful. We decided to have dinner on the rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis . Holy Cow, what a view. Food was delicious, ambiance romantic and again view worth million dollars.
After a nights rest we hit Athens on foot, we only had I day of sightseeing. We decided against a 1/2 day bus tour that we had already booked and paid for. Everything was in walking distance, and we knew we could cover more ground ourselves. We spend 12 hours traveling and shopping in that amazing city. Giving ourselves just enough time to sleep before travel, we both crashed into the luxurious bedding and comfy bed. Shower was hot and powerful!!
Definitely recommend to friends and family

Room Tip: Used the A/C as the Hotel floors were warm, we were perfectly comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you stay here make sure you get a room facing the Acropolis and not on the inner side of the hotel facing a big hairy man's apartment. The view of the Acropolis is lovely and the rooms are nice and clean. The buffet breakfast has a large selection and the hotel is within minutes of the Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum and about ten minutes from the Plaka. There is a laundromat nearby and convenience store that has cheap beer and other things like toothpaste. Just be careful walking around however - my husband and I were headed back to the hotel one night and saw a woman have her purse stolen by a man on a motorbike. Ladies - always put your bag across your body and not just hanging off one shoulder!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivanisCollection, General Manager at Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest

we are happy to see that your general impression about your stay with us is a positive one
However we would like to mention that Athens is an extemely safe city and we are sorry you viewed such an incident which is extremely rare

we hope to welcome you again in one of our properties in Greece

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel

Address: 19 - 25 Parthenonos St, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#49 Family Hotel in Athens
#72 Spa Hotel in Athens
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no other hotel in Athens to entwine more beautifully the history of ancient Greece with 5 star facilities. Divani Palace Acropolis sits just below the Acropolis, moments away from Plaka, the new archaeological museum and the Herodian theatre. Taste luxury and sophistication in our 180 rooms, 60 new deluxe rooms and 10 suites. Enjoy the hotel restaurants and bars, or explore the surrounding area for an authentic encounter with Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divani Acropolis Palace Athens
Hotel Divani Acropolis Palace
Divani Acropolis Hotel
Acropolis Hotel Athens
Divani Palace Acropolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divani Acropolis Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.