We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine for Athens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Select Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Acropolis Select Hotel to your Saves list
Acropolis Select Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-39 Falirou Street, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just fine for Athens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was really expecting a view of the Acropolis. Perhaps from a top floor or something, but this hotel is hidden off a side street. It was easy to find coming off the metro station, which is great because carrying luggage around is not fun. We were greeted at the front desk, and sent to our room. The foyer area is nice for relaxing, spacious, and they had a couple computers open there.
A few things, the room was just fine, very clean. The bathroom was small. And the shower in our room was broken, the pipe that held it up kept coming off, and I found myself cracking up in the shower because I felt like I was in a comedy. Eventually we were able to balance it and as long as we didn't touch it, we were fine. Also, we ran out of toilet paper, but the next day we came by to a new roll, but no on the toilet paper roll on the wall. So like they didn't bother tossing the empty toilet paper roll, and just placed another one there for us. The air conditioning blew a fuse the second day, but the minute I called downstairs they were up immediately to fix it, very good because it was hot. We did have mini patio, but it was a view of Shell station. They do provide ice, but there is no machine, you have to go down and ask someone to take your bowl and fill it up for you.
Morning breakfast was great. You have to check in with your room number, which I found odd because its sort of implied that you're staying there if you're there at 7 in the morning, but perhaps they have alot of problems with people stealing breakfasts. It was very big, included everything you would want, from cereal to bacon to tea to orange juice and fruit. I have been so impressed with European hotels continental breakfasts, and this one was no exception.
It is a short walk, perhaps 15 minutes, to Syntagma square where everything is, but walking to it by the main street is a bit shady. We passed many sex shops. Walk up to it down the street the hotel is on, not the big one. Much more picture resque. Also, many tours will pick up from Select, so it worked out well. I would love to return to Athens, but I would seek out another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear MCOOL2010,

We would like to thank you for the feedback you placed about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value your input as it allows us to access the areas of our business that need to be improved, to ensure all our guests have as memorable an experience as possible during their stay with us here at the Acropolis Select Hotel.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection, found the metro station placed within close proximity to our property and that Syntagma Square is only a short stroll away. The issue you encountered about the shower head in the bathroom has been looked into and has already been rectified. We urge our customers to let us know of any mishaps that occur whilst they are still staying in our property to ensure that such matters are resolved immediately.
If you are to ever return to Athens in the future, we would be very pleased to welcome you again to our hotel and we assure you that we will do our utmost to exceed your expectations and make your stay a very pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    166
    59
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
140
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and it was fine. The breakfast was not that great so I suggest bringing granola bars. The elevator was pretty slow so expect to take the stairs. The staff was helpful but not overly friendly. It really is a fantastic location though and the rooms were clean and had a decent amount of room. Just hope you don't go when there are rowdy Greek school groups! lol

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Chris B,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

We thank you for sharing the experience you had to our hotel with TripAdvisors readers.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location as well as the cleanliness of our rooms!

On the other hand we are so sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast since the variety is very big with cold and hot dishes.
Please rest assured that the specific department has already been informed about your comment and we will keep seeking for improvements where is possible in order to satisfy our guests which is our primary concern.

We thank you once more for your review and we do hope to welcome you back to Athens and to our hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What can I say? We stayed here for three nights through a voucher website and it was well worth the money. It's literally five minutes walk (probably less!) from the Acropolis Museum, ten minutes walk from the Temple of Olympian Zeus and like 20 minutes walk from Syntagma (the main square in Athens). There are lots of great little Tavernas and restaurants in the area, and of course, lots of Souvenir Places, so it is a great location.

The main lobby is really pretty, the guy at the front desk was super helpful, and on our first night we ate at the restaurant, we were the only people there, and the guy serving us was super helpful and kind. Breakfast was amazing every day, fresh bread rolls, meats and cheese as well as the hot food.

The room was really nice, the beds were comfy, the room was clean, my only complaint was that the bath tiles and such could have been a bit cleaner. However, it was a nice quiet hotel, really peaceful and perfect for our trip. I'm already planning to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Nikkirebel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel at TripAdvisor.

We are so glad that your stay was a memorable one and you enjoyed our primary location, the friendliness of our colleagues and our delicious breakfast!

The entire team of the Acropolis Select Hotel wishes you the best and we hope it won't take long to welcome you back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel was a few blocks to main shopping area, major museums, great metro line and lots of old Greek Orthodox churches. Hotel is quiet, very clean and staff extremely helpful . Interesting elevator system with a double door that took a little getting use to. Highly recommend. If you want a wonderful view of the Acropolis choose a room on an upper floor. Has no fitness center or swimming pool

Room Tip: Great restaurant one block away by metro line 'Ambrosia' and in Playa area about 4 blocks aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Vickieya,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

Thank you so much for your great review!
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a fantastic stay with us!

We thank you once more and we do hope to welcome you back to Athens and to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was last stop of our tour and it went great. I was In Athens, for a scheduled meeting with the GM to some up our study and analysis with the client. We stayed here for three days and were not at all disappointed with our choice. Rooms, food and amenities .... All were great. Staff here is helping and very co-operative. They paid a great attention to smallest details. Whole property is very clean and well-kept. Overall a nice place and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Nikki T,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience you had at our hotel on your recent stay with us!

We are so pleased to hear that our hotel has met your expectations and that your stay was a memorable one!
Thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our rooms, the quality of the food and the service provided from our colleagues! We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us.

We thank you once more for your great review and we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights in my first visit to Athens last march. Room was big enough, clean and comfortable. It was not noisy. Working krew were friendly and helpfull. They all seemed to know what they were doing! It is only 5 minutes away from Acropolis Museum by walk. I really enjoyed staying there and next time i go i will stay there again. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Yasar kubilay o,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!

We are so glad that you had a memorable stay with us and appreciated our very central location, within walking distance to the main sightseeing as well as the service provided from our colleagues!

The entire team of the Acropolis Select hotel wishes you the best and we hope it won't take long to welcome you in Athens and to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at Acropolis Select Hotel for 5 nights....the hotel and room were very nice place to stay...excellent staff , specially Rania who provided all requested information accurately as well all the remaining staff like Gregory and sorry for those i didn't know their names but staff was a remarkable positive issue in that hotel. Now , i would like to point out to the location which is very convenient to all important attractions...if you like to walk , to Acropolis , New Acropolis Muesum and Plaka area about 15 minutes or less through nice and amusing streets and 20 minutes to the famous Syntagma street or to Ermou street for shopping. If you don't like to walk , metro and bus stop 2 minutes away....i think the add value for that hotel is the location with regard to the price/night. Room , not wide but fine and clean with a great balcony...breakfast , same items everyday but all what you need in the morning , hot or cold.
I read many reviews about Acropolis Select Hotel in different sites and checked so many hotels in the same area on touristic sites but thanks God my choice was right. I surely confirm that for people looking to stay in a nice hotel and save money at the same time...Acropolis Select Hotel is what you are seeking.
PS : I took a taxi from the airport to the hotel with aflat rate of EU 35 including luggages ( Flat rate...do not pay more regardless your numbers ) but if you don't have many luggages , take the bus # X-95 just in front of the airport to Syntagma square then take a taxi from there to the hotel...you will pay Eu 5 per adult and about Eu 3 for taxi from Syntagma to the hotel , in that way you will save Eu 27 without any troubles.
Thanks for Rania and all staff for their care and nice hospitality....Good luck.

0

Room Tip: Smokers ? take a room in the 4th floor with a balcony in the side of the entrance of the hotel...non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Adel E,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

We are truly delighted to learn that you have an enjoyable stay with us. As well, we are grateful for your commendations towards the hotel's primary location, its facilities and our quality service! Thank you for your kind words and your positive feedback will definitely give us the strength to continue to strive further towards service excellence since our guests' satisfaction is our primary concern!

We appreciate for taking time to share your experience with us and certainly look forward to the pleasure to welcome you to our hotel really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acropolis Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Select Hotel

Address: 37-39 Falirou Street, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Athens
#44 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Select Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Athens and within walking distance to many of the city’s main attractions, the Acropolis Select Hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to Greece’s capital. A short stroll from the hotel places guests at the ancient site of the Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum and the Plaka District, while other major landmarks such as Syntagma Square, the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the Flee Market as well as the city’s shopping hotspots are within easy reach. The property is a stone’s throw away from metro, tram and bus stations, making traveling around the city and its beach suburbs very convenient.This 72 room hotel has recently undergone renovation, fitted with elegant Italian design furniture, fine German fabrics and original pieces of art inspired from ancient Greece, which add to its modern, stylish decor and welcoming ambiance. American buffet breakfast is served daily and there is free Wi-Fi access in all public areas. Whether traveling on business or pleasure, the warm hospitality of its friendly staff will ensure that guests experience a comfortable and most memorable stay at the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Acropolis Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis Select
Acropolis Select Athens
Acropolis Select Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Select Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.