We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Select Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Acropolis Select Hotel to your Saves list
Acropolis Select Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-39 Falirou Street, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall I had a very pleasant stay at the Acropolis select hotel and would recommend anyone to stay here. A few negatives:
Internet is only available using wifi from the lobby.
A king size bed was really 2 twins pushed together.
Cigarette smoke can be detected from most areas of the hotel, but this seems to be part of Greek culture.
The bathroom had a cover missing from an electrical outlet and the drains were slow.
The positives outweighed the negatives:
Clean rooms, bedding, and towels.
Reception and housekeeping were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Gregory in particular went above and beyond to help with issues during our stay and to provide impromptu Greek language lessons!
The location near the Acropolis and Plaka made shops and restaurants a short walk away.
Breakfast was included in our rate.
The price made the hotel a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Daniel M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, cleanliness of our rooms and great service provided from our reception colleagues as well as from the housekeeping!
Gregory is a great asset to our team, and we will be sure to share your kind words with him!

We thank you once more for your fantastic review and we hope it won't take long since we welcome you at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    166
    59
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
140
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tyne and wear
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I am writing this review from the lobby of the hotel where I am using the free internet. Cannot fault this hotel. Rooms are lovely, staff are very plesant & very helpful. The location is excellent..close to cafes, places to eat, pubs. The Acropolis is a 10 minute walk away. Breakfast is fine...selection not huge, but ample. Sausages, scrambled and fried egg, toast, rolls, cheese, meat selection, cereals.
If you go out of the hotel, turn rt and walk up the road you will come to a littel square with shops, cafes. The little shop that faces the green area in the square is run by a lovely man. It sells the usual, pop, beer, crisps! I love it here and would thoroughly reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Kir2,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

We really thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that your stay to our hotel was a memorable one!

We really appreciate your positive comments about our primary location, our rooms and the service provided from our colleagues!

Thank you for recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor and we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel at your next visit to Athens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The best things about the hotel were the location and the staff. It is situated just around the corner from the main attractions, and is easy to get to via the underground from the airport. All the staff were friendly and very helpful and always had time to answer any questions we had, which made us feel very welcome. The hotel and rooms were clean, which was my main concern before arriving. Breakfast was complimentary and included the basics, such as bread, cheese, meats and cereals. There are several restaurants and taverns nearby to choose from and the hotel restaurant was also very good and value for money. My only advice would be that if you are looking for something a bit more stylish to look elsewhere, as the decor in the rooms was very simple. Overall we enjoyed out stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Jade K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had at our hotel with the readers of TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us, enjoyed our primary location and our colleagues made your stay a memorable one!

Thank you so much for your kind words and for recommending us at TripAdvisor!

We hope it won't take long since we welcome you back in Athens and at the Acropolis SElect Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in January overall great hotel
great location . Rooms are modern with flat screen t.v. With limited english channels.
Reception staff were very helpfull with any request we had .
Had great time in Athens would recomend staying at the Acropolis again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear LeytonEssex,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

Thank you very much for you wonderful review!

We are so glad that our hotel has met your expectations!
Thank you for the recommendation of our hotel at TripAdvisor and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The location of this hotel is good, near the plaka and acropolis, near restaurants. Rooms are a good size, but the hotel needs renovation of furniture and linens. somedays my bedroom was not cleaned. the bathroom soap and gels are very bad. the shower is not a real shower. although there is no carpet, which is a plus for me, the carpet in the hallway and the walls look and smell musty. the blankets and curtains look old and dirty. the breakfast is OK, but the same every day. the worse was no internet in the rooms. in the lobby it is free. staff is very helpful. we got rooms that faced a big street so it was noisy. rooms that face the street of the hotel should be more quiet.

Room Tip: pick rooms on the side of the street of the hotel entrance, the ones in the back are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Cbonorino,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the primary location of the hotel and you received a nice service from our colleagues.

On the other hand, kindly accept our apologies concerning the fact that your room some days has not been cleaned, since this service is on daily basis.
Please rest assured that the prospective department has already been informed and we will investigate into the matter in order to avoid any misunderstandings in the future.

We thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your days while visiting Athens and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after 18hours drive from Bucharest. We were very tired and all we wanted was to get in the room and sleep. The check in was fast and we could leave our car in a private parking nearby (10 euro/night - special price for the guests of Acropolis Select).
The next day we woke up to find a very good buffet breakfast, perfect to start a busy day in Athens.
From the hotel you can reach Plaka, Monastiraki, Acropolis very fast.
All in all we had a great stay at this clean hotel with good price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear HotMilk,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

We thank you for taking the time to write the experience you had to our hotel!

We are so pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed our services and breakfast!

The team of the Acropolis Select Hotel wishes you the best and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Its very near to all attraction like acropolis museum,acropolis parthenon,temple of zues, plaka, and restaurants.Walking distance to acropolis metro station and sygrou-fix metro station.Room is very neat and clean.Good breakfast.Hotel staff are friendly and nice.I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Dee0827,

Greetings from Athens and from the Acropolis Select Hotel!

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our central location and services.

We really thank you for the recommendation to TripAdvisir and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acropolis Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Select Hotel

Address: 37-39 Falirou Street, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Athens
#44 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Select Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Athens and within walking distance to many of the city’s main attractions, the Acropolis Select Hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to Greece’s capital. A short stroll from the hotel places guests at the ancient site of the Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum and the Plaka District, while other major landmarks such as Syntagma Square, the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the Flee Market as well as the city’s shopping hotspots are within easy reach. The property is a stone’s throw away from metro, tram and bus stations, making traveling around the city and its beach suburbs very convenient.This 72 room hotel has recently undergone renovation, fitted with elegant Italian design furniture, fine German fabrics and original pieces of art inspired from ancient Greece, which add to its modern, stylish decor and welcoming ambiance. American buffet breakfast is served daily and there is free Wi-Fi access in all public areas. Whether traveling on business or pleasure, the warm hospitality of its friendly staff will ensure that guests experience a comfortable and most memorable stay at the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Acropolis Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis Select
Acropolis Select Athens
Acropolis Select Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Select Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.