We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How weird is that!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Select Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Acropolis Select Hotel to your Saves list
Acropolis Select Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-39 Falirou Street, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cephalonia, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“How weird is that!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed there four / five times before. Hotel is less than five minutes walk from Plaka and Acropolis Museum and Metro station, has pleasant well furnished rooms and friendly staff. This visit was somewhat strange in that the the buffet breakfast was rather odd. The heated cabinets for eggs, sausages, beans etc.were not heated and acted like cold radiators, but the staff religiously brought out hot eggs etc., took them off the hot plates from the kitchen and then placed them in the cold cabinets - how weird is that?

Having said that it is a good hotel and well worth the the money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on upper floors have Acropolis view. Rooms at the back are generally smaller and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Pameloula,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel everytime visiting Athens!
We are so pleased that our hotel is meeting your expectations!

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your breakfast. The issues you highlighted regarding the breakfast have been already passed on to the prospective department and we are investigating them for root causes with a view to prevent such future occurrences.

The team of the Acropolis Select is looking forward to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    188
    70
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
162
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I definitely enjoyed my stay there, you are within walking distance from everything there is to see in Athens. The room was comfortable, the hotel is nice and clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Overall it is a great base to explore Athens from, you are 5-10 minutes walk from acropolis museum, acropolis, the plaka and only a few minutes walk from metro station and bus stops that connect you everywhere.
Very pleasant experience for a very good price. Will go there again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Al G,

Greetings from Athens!

We thank you from the bottom of our heart for your great review!

It is very important for us, to hear that our guests had a memorable stay to our hotel!

We wish you the best and we do hope to see back to our hotel really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rm. Valcea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel is close to metro station Sygrou Fix. The area around the hotel has a few restaurants which are mostly for locals so the prices are smaller and the food is good (try Ambrosia, next to metro station). The stuff is friendly and they have a good English. The price is good for what you get. Good TV channels. Nice arranged lobby.

Our room was facing the main boulevard and because of this is was very noisy. So we had noise from outside but also from the inside of the hotel because the phonic isolation is very bad. The room was a bit cold (end of November) but we were able to fix that because the room had an air condition machine. The breakfast is decent, the same food every day and not very diversified. No coffee/tea facilities in the room. No free Internet in the room.

Room Tip: Don't go for a room on the same side with the boulevard! It is very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Bvlro,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed overall your stay with us, but i am really sorry that you were disturbed from the noise.
We do hope to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It's a fine hotel in the heart of Athens, just a few minutes on foot from Plaka (old town of Athens) and few more from Syntagma, Thiseio, Monastiraki. Nice place, tasty and rich breakfast! Totaly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Fragkaki_Elpida,

We really thank you for your fantastic review!

Thank you for the recommendation of our hotel at TripAdvisor!

We do hope to welcome you back to Athens and to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Let me start by saying that the room itself was comfortable and very well appointed. The only area of the room that I did not like was the bathroom. It was very narrow and the door when opened hit the WC. Also because the bathroom was so small, the hair dryer was kept under the work desk.
Now, for the positives and there are several.
1.The staff ( Rania gets a special mention) is fantastic. Right from recommendations to general information of the city, they go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable
2. The location is just perfect. Hardly 10 mins away from the Acropolis Museum and Acropolis. Also a good 20 mins walk from Plaka and other attractions.
4. Good breakfast served by a polite staff.
5. Free internet access and computers for guests in the lobby.
Overall, we enjoyed our 5 days here. We found Athens to be a fun and friendly city. Everyone we met or came across were helpful and really kind.
Can't wait to head back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Writecritic,

We thank you so much for your great review!

I am sorry that you found our bathroom to be small but i am very pleased that me and the rest of my colleagues made your stay a memorable one!

Please keep in mind that guests' satisfaction is our first priority!

We also thank you for pointing out our primary location!

The team of the Acropolis Select Hotel wishes you the best and we hope to see again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of October 2012. Upon arrival the receptionist advised that our room had been cancelled by our travel agent. We confirmed that we changed from 3 nights to 2 nights. The receptionist was very friendly and provided us a room whilst they looked into it, and called within 5 minutes to confirm all was in order. The room was on the small side but contained all the basics required for our stay. We didn’t spend much time in the room as we were out all day. An Excellent location base as the hotel is located a few blocks from a main intersection that takes you to the museum and acropolis in one direction, temple of Zeus in another or the plaka area in another. The breakfast was basic but enough to satisfy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Bostocks,

Greetings from Athens!!

We thank you so much for your nice words about our hotel and we are so pleased that the issue which occured upon your check in was solved very quickly without causing any inconvenience.

We wish you the best and we hope to have the chance to see you again to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Easy walking distance to Acropolis museum and restaurants/tourist shops. Other sites like Olympic Stadium just a bit further but still walkable. Good sized room but sheets on bed seemed short so wouldn't tuck in the bottom and over at the top. Computers with internet in lobby for client use plus free wifi in lobby and within range in nearby rooms on 1st & 2nd floors. Code from reception. Breakfast started at 7 and first night we stayed was great as we got bacon (reformed but hey-ho) and fried eggs. On subsequent days however this became eggs and frankfurters and both cold. Maybe because a large german party had arrived? A pity because a bit more effort on the breakfast and longer sheets and we would have been well happy!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear MDB-Bham,

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments about our hotel to TripAdvisor.

Kindly accept our apologies for the inconveniences on your bed sheets and breakfast. Please rest assured that we will follow-up on your feedback with the relevant departments.

Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your days while visiting Athens and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Acropolis Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Select Hotel

Address: 37-39 Falirou Street, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Athens
#41 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Select Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Athens and within walking distance to many of the city’s main attractions, the Acropolis Select Hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to Greece’s capital. A short stroll from the hotel places guests at the ancient site of the Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum and the Plaka District, while other major landmarks such as Syntagma Square, the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the Flee Market as well as the city’s shopping hotspots are within easy reach. The property is a stone’s throw away from metro, tram and bus stations, making traveling around the city and its beach suburbs very convenient.This 72 room hotel has recently undergone renovation, fitted with elegant Italian design furniture, fine German fabrics and original pieces of art inspired from ancient Greece, which add to its modern, stylish decor and welcoming ambiance. American buffet breakfast is served daily and there is free Wi-Fi access in all public areas. Whether traveling on business or pleasure, the warm hospitality of its friendly staff will ensure that guests experience a comfortable and most memorable stay at the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Acropolis Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis Select
Acropolis Select Athens
Acropolis Select Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Select Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.