We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Select Hotel

Save Saved
You added Acropolis Select Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acropolis Select Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-39 Falirou Street, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 324 hotels in Athens
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel was far better than I was hoping for in a 3-star, and very good value for money.
Lovely staff. Spacious room. Proper double bed (not two singles pushed together). Very clean. Large bright terracotta balcony with chairs and shade. Tasty and varied breakfast buffet included English staples (eggs, beans, meats, breads) as well as delicious Greek yogurt, fruit, granola, etc. Small but functional elevator; fits two with luggage or four skinny people with no luggage. Nice bathroom with good water pressure, hot water regulation, little shower gels and shampoos and clean fluffy white towels. Mini fridge and little safe in room. Free wifi in lobby.

Wish the free wifi in the lobby extended to all rooms, but that is a small complaint, especially considering how sweet the location is - a short walk to the Acropolis, Roman Agora and Plaka district and extremely close to the Sygrou-Fix Metro station if you're coming in from the Pireaus ferry port (as we did when we arrived) or going to the Airport (where we went on departure). Super convenient!

Room Tip: We had room #405 and liked it. Big balcony, nice bathroom, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Pipesdreams,

We would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments.
We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    130
    43
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
109
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very nice hotel really close to Plaka and all the historic sites. Nice, newly refurbished rooms. Clean and new. Close to tube station (to go to and from the airport).

Only con: wifi only in lobby, but hey, its not a deal breaker.

All in all, very recomendable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear JulianMD,

We thank you so much for your great review!

We are glad that your stay with us was a positive one!

Thank you for recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I've stayed about 8 times with the lovely people at this hotel, and although twice I tried another hotel (when the Acropolis Select was fully booked), nothing compared. The staff even recognise me, which is amazing personal service when you consider the amount of travellers they greet. The efficient, modern, warmly personal service from all the staff is an asset to the hotel. The rooms, of which I have sampled many, are all different and even the smaller rooms are thoughtfully equipped and well-kept. The rooms with the large balconies at the top of the building are fantastic. Breakfast is friendly and offers lots of choice despite the current economic problems suffered in Greece, and the lobby with sofas and bar offers cool and comfortable respite in the heat.

Best of all? It's between the comfortable beds and the pristine bathrooms. And it all smells and is so clean. It's a pleasure.

Thank you Rania, Gregory and the rest of the team, and see you again soon I hope.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony the size of a room, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Vanessa G,

Thank you so very much for your outstanding review!

It is always great to receive feedback from our valued repeat clients and even better to hear that we are still exceeding your expectations!

We thank you so much for your positive comments about our breakfast and our rooms!

I will pass your compliments into Gregory and the rest of my colleagues and we hope it won’t be long to see you back in Athens and to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed there last week (August 1-5) for 4 nights and really enjoyed it a lot. The hotel is clean, cozy and real close to the new Acropolis Museum and the Plaka district. You can walk just about anywhere. If you don't feel like walking, there is a metro/tram station nearby. We had free wifi access in our room as well as the lobby btw. Our room had a nice balcony and it was very clean and lovely. It felt way better than a regular 3 star hotel. The staff was also very nice and kind. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Mughettina,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location so convenient!
We really appreciate your positive comments about our rooms and our staff!

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meppel netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is above basic. Good rooms, aico, refrigator, and just that bit of luxery which makes it a good place to stay. No wifi in the rooms, downstairs in the lobby it's for free. Breakfast is good. Staff is friendly, speaks english, spanisch, italian...
Best of all is it's location, just a few minutes from the metro and just 5 minutes from where the plaka business starts and to get into the acropolis. It's a save neighbourhood, there is a supermarket 3 minutes (up the street, second street up again).

Room Tip: We had rooms on the busy street side, but because of the heat we had de windows closed and the airco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Dsmeel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel!

We are so pleased that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!
It was great to read that you found our colleagues to be friendly. Our location is both central and convenient in terms of tourist attractions and means of transportation!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Stay was extremerly compfortable! Rooms large and clean! However cleaner started at 8am next door and woke us up! Besides that was a great stay! Great value for money! Location was ok! About 5-10 minutes from Monesteraki! And 2 minutes from the acropolis!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear AdamTheGreek,

Thank you very much for posting a review concerning your stay at our hotel!

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
We very much appreciate your feedback on our room and location.
Kindly accept our apologies for the fact that you woke up in the morning by the chambermaids.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed July 2012. Great little hotel in a great location.

Pros
Great breakfast
Friendly staff
Free Wifi
Super close to metro (Syngrou-Fix is the nearest 200m away)
Lovely little cheap Greek restaurants nearby
Laundrette nearby
Close to Acropolis (10 mins)

Cons
Can't think of any

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania_AS, Guest Relations Manager at Acropolis Select Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Monalisabaker,

Thank you for your great review! You've perfectly summed up most of the best things about our hotel! We are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!

On behalf of our team at the Acropolis Select Hotel, we wish you the best and look forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to Athens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acropolis Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Select Hotel

Address: 37-39 Falirou Street, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Athens
#39 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Select Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Athens and within walking distance to many of the city’s main attractions, the Acropolis Select Hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to Greece’s capital. A short stroll from the hotel places guests at the ancient site of the Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum and the Plaka District, while other major landmarks such as Syntagma Square, the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the Flee Market as well as the city’s shopping hotspots are within easy reach. The property is a stone’s throw away from metro, tram and bus stations, making traveling around the city and its beach suburbs very convenient.This 72 room hotel has recently undergone renovation, fitted with elegant Italian design furniture, fine German fabrics and original pieces of art inspired from ancient Greece, which add to its modern, stylish decor and welcoming ambiance. American buffet breakfast is served daily and there is free Wi-Fi access in all public areas. Whether traveling on business or pleasure, the warm hospitality of its friendly staff will ensure that guests experience a comfortable and most memorable stay at the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Acropolis Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acropolis Select
Acropolis Select Athens
Acropolis Select Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Select Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.