We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel itself is nice but location is just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mihalakopoulou St., Athens 11528, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #70 of 323 Hotels in Athens
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel itself is nice but location is just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in February 2013. We had a family room which has two double beds which was perfect especially since we were traveling with kids. The room itself was well appointed. The bathroom was clean and modern. I was not thrilled with the location of the hotel. As mentioned by another reviewer, there is a strip club right next door and you really can't find restaurants or places to eat near the hotel. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear SavvyMacPac,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found our bathroom clean and modern. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the location of the hotel. TWe take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    186
    91
    15
    9
See reviews for
72
115
34
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed there in January 2013 for two nights. I got a standard room. There were not many customers in this hotel during my stay. The room I had was facing a busy street so there was no chance to open the window for some fresh air sleep. Tried the aircon but only warm air came out. The bed sheet was to warm too.
In a business hotel it's important for me to sleep well. All other things have second priority.That's the reason why the hotel didn't get a better rating.
From the airport it's about 30min to get to the hotel. Depending on the traffic of course. I didn't try the breakfast so I can judge.
Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Norbert J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansko
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very nice made hotel with very good rooms and facilities. We had a conference in Megaron ( the music hall of Athens) and it was only 5 minutes walk. Professional staff and helpful. We recommend to anyone who wants international standards with a Greek taste.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having stayed in a couple of other Crowne Plaza Hotels in Europe, I had the chance to visit for a one night stay my local one. Was rather curious if I would get the same feeling and experience as I had in the other two and I can say definitely yes!
Everything I would expect from a Crowne Plaza is here. Staff was polite, nice room (loved the big leather armchair in it!), comfortable bed, excellent breakfast.
I enjoyed it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Quite a typical chain hotel. Quite nicely decorated, clean bathroom, bedrooms. Hotel is very conveniently located, just 5 min walk from the train station, and also within walking distance to Plaka (about 20min). However, I find it ridiculously that you have to pay to use the lounge as a Platinum member.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear catherine l,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We started our tour at this hotel so had to make our way by taxi from our starting hotel by the Platka. It was nicely decorated, quite modern actually, which was a surprise. Before our room was ready, we had a drink at the bar but had to ask the desk agent to find us a bar tender. We only waited an hour until the room was ready, about 11:00. We were happy with what we got. We had 2 beds, a desk, table and 2 chairs and still had room to walk around. The bathroom was large, with a big bathtub and a Badet' The toiletries offered were SWEET. (i only use what the hotels offer to cut down on packing) Nicely displayed too, i just wish the Badet comes with instructions, (haven't been able to figure out how to use them) The bed was comfortable, the airconditioning worked well, the elevator was large and the morning breakfast excellent. The wait staff was very good.
What we liked least about the hotel was the location which for us newbies to get around was really a challenge. (we did take the subway and that was an adventure in itself). Also, strangely, only one bathrobe and one pair of slippers were left us. Not being people to cause difficulties we did not report or complain which in retrospect i am sure would have been made OK by the staff.
The staff really did work well together. On our last morning, there was a hotel strike so all the managers waited on the tour groups and others for the breakfast. We didnt even realize anything was wrong until i asked if i could purchase their delicious jellies and honey and the "waitress" had no idea. She told us of the strike and then gave me 8 jars of the jelllies. A nice way to satisfy a customer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were shunted to this hotel from the Novotel when workers went on strike....in a country with 25% unemployment...go figure. In any event, we really lucked out. This place was great in most every respect. It was close to a major route so we could access shops easily and was a mere 10 minute walk from the east-west subway route which runs thru Athens. 10 minute subway run had us right downtown for 1.6 Euros ( a lot cheaper than a cab)

The rooms were good, the breakfast as good as anything we had experienced in Europe and the help desk spoke English very well. There was free internet and when we visited in late Oct. there were few patrons.

The elevators took a bit of getting used to.....you had to flash you room key in front of a scanner before you would be taken to any floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Address: 50 Mihalakopoulou St., Athens 11528, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Athens
#35 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#53 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.