We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top drawer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mihalakopoulou St., Athens 11528, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #83 of 325 hotels in Athens
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Top drawer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were shunted to this hotel from the Novotel when workers went on strike....in a country with 25% unemployment...go figure. In any event, we really lucked out. This place was great in most every respect. It was close to a major route so we could access shops easily and was a mere 10 minute walk from the east-west subway route which runs thru Athens. 10 minute subway run had us right downtown for 1.6 Euros ( a lot cheaper than a cab)

The rooms were good, the breakfast as good as anything we had experienced in Europe and the help desk spoke English very well. There was free internet and when we visited in late Oct. there were few patrons.

The elevators took a bit of getting used to.....you had to flash you room key in front of a scanner before you would be taken to any floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    161
    78
    13
    9
See reviews for
59
96
33
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piraeus, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A good choice for Athens visitors, specially those who wish to visit the center. Perfectly located near points of interest and the subway. Not a brand new building but seems recently renovated. Comfortable, quiet, well equipped and clean rooms with balconies offer a beautiful view of the Lecabetus Hill (if placed in the frond). Many delightful details caught my eye, evidencing that owners know how to run the business. After all its a crown plaza hotel!
Nice cuisine and pleasant atmosphere in the "Amvrosia" restaurant.
Willing staff makes you feel better than home.
Absence of internal pool and expensive parking were the only disadvantages.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the frond (Michalakopoulou str) and on the fifth or sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, Flevoland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a one night stay in this hotel. Nice room with 2 queen size beds and plenty of amenities. Quite location at the back of the hotel. As Te hotel is in the middle of town do not expect great vistas. Check in and out was efficient. Room had free Internet and all 3 devices could use the same code :). Breakfast is as usual a bit steep at 19 euros but if you stuff yourself you can skip lunch. Would definitely return here. Was on business trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilenkirchen, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice stop over for the night as we were flying back from Santorini and then back to Germany to following day. Hotel is very nice and cozy and reflects well the CP branding. We had access to Internet for 2 devices using two different codes and paying only for a one 24 hours period which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Being first time to Greece, i am glad to have chosen this hotel.

Agree with the other reviewer that this is a safer part of Athens.

It is easy to get in and out as the metro is near (short 10mins walk). The same blue line will get you from Airport and also to downtown Athens

Next to the hotel are some really cheap and good food offering. 5min Cab ride to foothill of lycabettus hill where you can get the eletric train to enjoy fantastic evening view of the city

Like the warm conceige service by Mr Luokas who is always ready to help. Also good service by Zoe from front office.

There are some good resturant next to the hotel that serves good greek food.

Overall, good hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here using points in the end of Sept 2012 for just one night. We were flying in that night and out the next day to Santorini so wanted a hotel in the centre of town to be able to get some good food.

The hotel itself is very easy to get to on the main airport train line (no changes) and about a 500m walk from the train station down a very rough / uneven road but a quite safe road.

The hotel itself is just like almost any other Crowne plaza hotel in the world that I have stayed in and so that is a good thing. Very modern inside, friendly staff and very comfortable rooms and beds, just what you want from a hotel.

Some have commented that the surrounding area is a bit unsafe but from our experience it was quite a nice area of Athens (compared to the other hotel we stayed in for our return trip through Athens). It was about a 10 minute walk to a very nice square with lots of restaurant choices and we thought a very safe walk to get there.

As many have said, the only thing we did NOT like about the hotel was €19 EACH for breakfast. To put it into context, one night out in Athens we went to a lovely restaurant and had a starter, bread, two mains and ½ a litre of wine and the TOTAL bill was €21!! So for breakfast the morning we stayed we turned left out of the hotel, walked about 200m and on the right (just before starbucks) was a lovely local cafe where we had a pastry and lovely coffee each for about €4!

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Crowne plaza Athens. Its a modern, comfortable hotel, in the main train line from the airport and in a quite safe part of town. We would certainly look to stay here again is we were coming to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel is really luxurious. It response to Crowne plaza chain level. Hotel had sauna, fitness room, swim pool. We used swim pool with sun lounger and fitness room. It was ok. Fitness equipment is simple but enough, maybe they have to buy dumbbells , not all people work out only their legs. I think, this hotel should have free Wi-F at least in lobby (how other hotels in this branch do). Good place to stay in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 50 Mihalakopoulou St., Athens 11528, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
#66 Family Hotel in Athens
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.