We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mihalakopoulou St., Athens 11528, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #71 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Piraeus, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A good choice for Athens visitors, specially those who wish to visit the center. Perfectly located near points of interest and the subway. Not a brand new building but seems recently renovated. Comfortable, quiet, well equipped and clean rooms with balconies offer a beautiful view of the Lecabetus Hill (if placed in the frond). Many delightful details caught my eye, evidencing that owners know how to run the business. After all its a crown plaza hotel!
Nice cuisine and pleasant atmosphere in the "Amvrosia" restaurant.
Willing staff makes you feel better than home.
Absence of internal pool and expensive parking were the only disadvantages.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the frond (Michalakopoulou str) and on the fifth or sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    200
    94
    16
    11
See reviews for
74
121
38
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lelystad, Flevoland, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a one night stay in this hotel. Nice room with 2 queen size beds and plenty of amenities. Quite location at the back of the hotel. As Te hotel is in the middle of town do not expect great vistas. Check in and out was efficient. Room had free Internet and all 3 devices could use the same code :). Breakfast is as usual a bit steep at 19 euros but if you stuff yourself you can skip lunch. Would definitely return here. Was on business trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borden, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice stop over for the night as we were flying back from Santorini and then back to Germany to following day. Hotel is very nice and cozy and reflects well the CP branding. We had access to Internet for 2 devices using two different codes and paying only for a one 24 hours period which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Being first time to Greece, i am glad to have chosen this hotel.

Agree with the other reviewer that this is a safer part of Athens.

It is easy to get in and out as the metro is near (short 10mins walk). The same blue line will get you from Airport and also to downtown Athens

Next to the hotel are some really cheap and good food offering. 5min Cab ride to foothill of lycabettus hill where you can get the eletric train to enjoy fantastic evening view of the city

Like the warm conceige service by Mr Luokas who is always ready to help. Also good service by Zoe from front office.

There are some good resturant next to the hotel that serves good greek food.

Overall, good hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here using points in the end of Sept 2012 for just one night. We were flying in that night and out the next day to Santorini so wanted a hotel in the centre of town to be able to get some good food.

The hotel itself is very easy to get to on the main airport train line (no changes) and about a 500m walk from the train station down a very rough / uneven road but a quite safe road.

The hotel itself is just like almost any other Crowne plaza hotel in the world that I have stayed in and so that is a good thing. Very modern inside, friendly staff and very comfortable rooms and beds, just what you want from a hotel.

Some have commented that the surrounding area is a bit unsafe but from our experience it was quite a nice area of Athens (compared to the other hotel we stayed in for our return trip through Athens). It was about a 10 minute walk to a very nice square with lots of restaurant choices and we thought a very safe walk to get there.

As many have said, the only thing we did NOT like about the hotel was €19 EACH for breakfast. To put it into context, one night out in Athens we went to a lovely restaurant and had a starter, bread, two mains and ½ a litre of wine and the TOTAL bill was €21!! So for breakfast the morning we stayed we turned left out of the hotel, walked about 200m and on the right (just before starbucks) was a lovely local cafe where we had a pastry and lovely coffee each for about €4!

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Crowne plaza Athens. Its a modern, comfortable hotel, in the main train line from the airport and in a quite safe part of town. We would certainly look to stay here again is we were coming to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel is really luxurious. It response to Crowne plaza chain level. Hotel had sauna, fitness room, swim pool. We used swim pool with sun lounger and fitness room. It was ok. Fitness equipment is simple but enough, maybe they have to buy dumbbells , not all people work out only their legs. I think, this hotel should have free Wi-F at least in lobby (how other hotels in this branch do). Good place to stay in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

During my visit to Athens I stayed in 2 hotels, differing 5 times in price. Crowne plaza was the expensive ones. Was it worth paying more? Yes, if you want petty comfortable things.
1. Area is safe and good. Metro station is close, some museums are not far (Byzantine one that was the most important for me)
2. They have nice roof garden with a bar and a pool. Take a break there, drink or swim
3. Fitness centre in the basement
What was not nice?
Internet connection is extra, and 10 euro I found too much to pay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Address: 50 Mihalakopoulou St., Athens 11528, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#33 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#43 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.