We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! it's Crowne Plaza after all.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mihalakopoulou St., Athens 11528, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #75 of 324 hotels in Athens
Borden, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great! it's Crowne Plaza after all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice stop over for the night as we were flying back from Santorini and then back to Germany to following day. Hotel is very nice and cozy and reflects well the CP branding. We had access to Internet for 2 devices using two different codes and paying only for a one 24 hours period which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    174
    82
    14
    9
See reviews for
69
102
33
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Being first time to Greece, i am glad to have chosen this hotel.

Agree with the other reviewer that this is a safer part of Athens.

It is easy to get in and out as the metro is near (short 10mins walk). The same blue line will get you from Airport and also to downtown Athens

Next to the hotel are some really cheap and good food offering. 5min Cab ride to foothill of lycabettus hill where you can get the eletric train to enjoy fantastic evening view of the city

Like the warm conceige service by Mr Luokas who is always ready to help. Also good service by Zoe from front office.

There are some good resturant next to the hotel that serves good greek food.

Overall, good hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here using points in the end of Sept 2012 for just one night. We were flying in that night and out the next day to Santorini so wanted a hotel in the centre of town to be able to get some good food.

The hotel itself is very easy to get to on the main airport train line (no changes) and about a 500m walk from the train station down a very rough / uneven road but a quite safe road.

The hotel itself is just like almost any other Crowne plaza hotel in the world that I have stayed in and so that is a good thing. Very modern inside, friendly staff and very comfortable rooms and beds, just what you want from a hotel.

Some have commented that the surrounding area is a bit unsafe but from our experience it was quite a nice area of Athens (compared to the other hotel we stayed in for our return trip through Athens). It was about a 10 minute walk to a very nice square with lots of restaurant choices and we thought a very safe walk to get there.

As many have said, the only thing we did NOT like about the hotel was €19 EACH for breakfast. To put it into context, one night out in Athens we went to a lovely restaurant and had a starter, bread, two mains and ½ a litre of wine and the TOTAL bill was €21!! So for breakfast the morning we stayed we turned left out of the hotel, walked about 200m and on the right (just before starbucks) was a lovely local cafe where we had a pastry and lovely coffee each for about €4!

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Crowne plaza Athens. Its a modern, comfortable hotel, in the main train line from the airport and in a quite safe part of town. We would certainly look to stay here again is we were coming to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel is really luxurious. It response to Crowne plaza chain level. Hotel had sauna, fitness room, swim pool. We used swim pool with sun lounger and fitness room. It was ok. Fitness equipment is simple but enough, maybe they have to buy dumbbells , not all people work out only their legs. I think, this hotel should have free Wi-F at least in lobby (how other hotels in this branch do). Good place to stay in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

During my visit to Athens I stayed in 2 hotels, differing 5 times in price. Crowne plaza was the expensive ones. Was it worth paying more? Yes, if you want petty comfortable things.
1. Area is safe and good. Metro station is close, some museums are not far (Byzantine one that was the most important for me)
2. They have nice roof garden with a bar and a pool. Take a break there, drink or swim
3. Fitness centre in the basement
What was not nice?
Internet connection is extra, and 10 euro I found too much to pay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is a good hotel for business trips since it is locted within the city. The breakfast buffet is simple but hearty and a view of the surrounding hills and buildings. There are also nice cafes & restaurants in the hotel vicinity and is near metro station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Crowne Plaza City Centre late July 2012. This Hotel is very central to all attractions in Athens. Our room was very clean,spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was of high standard. There is a small pool on the roof top, with a bar that serves snack food, as it was very hot in Athens, we enjoyed the pool to cool down in. While there we took a taxi, then rode the Cable Car to Leviticus Lookout, amazing views looking over to the Acropolis and Athens. Also taxi to the Plaka shopping precinct, well worth a visit. We recommend the Crowne Plaza City Hotel as a great place to stay when in Athens.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor , off the busy street below, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre

Address: 50 Mihalakopoulou St., Athens 11528, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
#75 Spa Hotel in Athens
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Athens City Centre hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, very close to the historical sites of Athens,only 10min. from Acropolis, the traditional Plaka area (old town) and Syntagma (Constitution) square. Its excellent location attracts both business and leisure travelers.Being outside the restricted traffic zone provides parking facilities and becomes a favorite meeting place.The hotel is only 5min. walking distance from metro station 'Megaro Moussikis' and 30min. by car from El.Venizelos International airport. All rooms (standard, club rooms and suites of elegant comfort), are equipped with wireless highspeed internet access. Also the Business Centre which is located at the lobby area offers to all registered guests half hour free internet access per day.The 14 renovated convention rooms with wireless connectivity are suitable for professional and social gatherings.'Ambrosia Restaurant' with Greek and international kitchen promises moments of tasteful enjoyment and ultimate relaxation.'Nectar Bar' located on the ground floor is the perfect meeting place to enjoy your favourite drink or snack. In the summertime at theroof garden pool (complimentary use), you may enjoy the panoramic view of Lycabettus hill and the Acropolis. You may begin or end your day with a refreshing workout in our gym, or have an appointment for massage or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Crowne Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.