We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Age” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Age Hotel Athens

Save Saved
You added Golden Age Hotel Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Age Hotel Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Michalakopoulou Street, Athens 11528, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 324 hotels in Athens
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Golden Age”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was an oasis of hospitality in a city that is seething over its current economic situation. Prices were reasonable, no attempt to gouge nor nickel/dime. Accommodations were excellent and staff were super helpful. While I am unlikely to return to Athens, I would not hesitate to return to this hotel, should I have reason.

One consideration is that many cabbies do not know of what appears to be a " boutique" hotel and address is not an easy one to recall. Have written address to aid driver if using taxi.

Room Tip: Executive Suite is well priced and includes retractable shades over a glass roof. Also has a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    129
    38
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
51
22
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

only there 2 nights and out most of the time.. however.. staff incredibly nice and helpful, free wifi, lots of coffee shops and even a cheap and cheerful restaurant across the street.excellent value. a wee bit far from the attactions but only a quick ride away on the metro which is 3 mins walk away. other reviews have mentioned paper thin walls and this could be true, hotel was quiet and few people near my room so hard to tell.
hotel is slightly tricky to find, i got bus in from airport and it isnt easy to know where to get off. easier by far to get the metro and get off at Megaro, then a few mins walk south east, heading away from Likivitou. Area and the city itself is uber safe which is an amazing suprise!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was with some trepidation that I arrived for my third trip to Greece because having Coeliac Disease in Greece wasn't easy on my two previous trips. The hotel bent over backwards to supply me with GF bread (corn bread from the local bakery: Estia) and LF/GF soy milk for breakfast and meals in the hotel dining room. The staff were polite, helpful, and gave great advise from helping with me get a local sim card to how to travel safely and how much to pay in cab fares. Rooms were clean and spacious, and hotel conveniently located in city centre with great public transport links within easy walking distance. Will be returning next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 with 2 friends. First impression when you enter the hotel is hospitality. Very polite staff at reception with smiley faces. Every time we asked for information they were more than willing to provide us with everything we wanted to know. Very nice big and clean lobby. We had a 3bed room which was upgraded and it was big enough for the 3 of us. The balcony was spacious. Nice comfy bed with nice pillows. Very clean and spacious bathroom. Very soft bath towels. Toiletries and slippers available. Breakfast was very nice with very very polite staff. Especially a young girl with black hair but also all the others working there.
Metro station MEGARO MOUSIKIS is a 3minute walk from the hotel. The neighbourhood is very good because is close but not so close to the centre. You may thing is noisy because is on the Mihalakopoulou avenue but the room was very soundproof. FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. I visit Athens every year but this is the first time I stayed here and definitely is not the last one. I will surely return and I highly recommend this hotel. Keep going like this, you were great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is very good, the staff is nice and polite, and the breakfast is tasty and pleasant (but the hotel restaurant is poor). The Location is very good in a silent and pleasant place
We're recommend it!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

i stayed there end of August for two days with my mother. Rooms are clean, restfull and enough big. Hotel is near of turistical center (Plaka). Breakfast was great, fresh and delicious. Hotel staffs are kind. But wireless is limited (i think that was only negative thing there)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My dad, mom and I stayed in the hotel for one night before going on a cruise through the Greek Islands. The hotel is very close to the Megaro Moussikis metro station on line 3, which is the same line that goes till the airport so it was easy to get to the hotel. Breakfast was included in our reservation and it was very good. The hotel is also just two stations away from the main metro station and very close to the most important areas to see around Athens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Age Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Age Hotel Athens

Address: 57 Michalakopoulou Street, Athens 11528, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
#36 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#36 Spa Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Age Hotel Athens 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in one of the safest areas of Athens, near the Music Hall and the USA Embassy, with lots of coffee shops and restaurants in the area. The Parthenon and the Athens central shopping centre as well as the main square of Athens (Constitution Square) are a ½ hour’s walking distance away. You can also use the public bus (5 minutes walking distance at Mavilli Square) or the Metro (2 minutes walking distance to Megaro Musikis stop). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelBookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Age Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Age Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Age Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.