We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful classic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Electra Palace Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Electra Palace Hotel Athens to your Saves list
Electra Palace Hotel Athens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-20 N Nikodimou St, Athens 10557, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful classic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I just came back from Athens staying with my wife 3 nights in this hotel. It is one of the best hotels we stayed in and we recommend it to those that can afford it price. The location is excellent, the service excellent and facilities as suites 5 stars hotel. Next time we will choose it again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    526
    130
    46
    17
See reviews for
373
691
47
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel lives up to its 5 star rating. The staff were very friendly and helpful (suggesting a great local restaurant). It is within walking distance of the Acropolis and other main tourist sites. The breakfast was really good too! It'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

+ Very well located near the center (syntagma)
+ very close to ancient agora and acropolis
+ nice view from terrace and rooms on acropolis
+ inside pool
+ free Wifi in Lobby
+ free computer and printer in lobby
+ outside pool
+ good service
+ good breakfast and enough room to sit in breakfast room

- very very small rooms (no chance to get even 4 stars in germany with that size)
- extremely small room to put clothes on the room (only one very small wardrobe to hang 4 Shirts or pullovers around 40cm and NO other room to put clothes in the wordrobe because filled with safe and minibar and water heater)
- had to put my clothes in the pullers of the desk
- inside pool and sauna and showers in bad condition (color falling down and black corners)

Summary:
rather good but expected more for that price and 5 stars

Room Tip: Maybe you can ask for larger rooms. Acropolis view is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Booked here for two nights based on a review in the Telegraph and reviews on Trip Advisor. BIG mistake. The location of the hotel is OK- slightly on the back streets- but one could live with that. The reception area is fine but relatively soul-less- nothing much to write home about here. There is a light smell of chlorine - presumably from the basement swimming pool. Since I had booked a 'Suite' I had expectations that it might just be that- but as we ascended the lift to the 7th Floor my heart sank on exiting- the corridor to the room was a trip down memory lane in the wrong direction to the bygone days of heavy wood and dark carpet of no discernible design- more suited to masking stains. Opening the door to the suite things got worse. An incredibly dull and aged room- dark furnishings, dreadful furniture coverings and absolutely no style or class. Just depressing. No redeeming features in this room at all- except the balcony view of the Acropolis- which is fine but I'm not going to spend too much time out there. In the morning the shower literally ran 'hot and cold' which was annoying as I had to make a business meeting and haven't had a cold shower in a long time. A suite- not in my book- not with two sliding doors that make a room divider. We did visit the bar in the evening- which would be a good place to hold a wake it was so dead. Absolutely no character or class. Dead- and this on an evening when Manchester United supporters were in town prior to a football match. Go figure. Couldn't bring ourselves to even have a drink- which is a first. Had a look at the restaurant but decided against eating there as it too was cloaked in morbidity so went out to dinner at the restaurant 'Dionysus' (which is good with a great view). Returned as late as we could to the 'dark room' and managed to sleep through some of the night in 'the room from the past'. First thing in the morning went up to the Hotel Grand Bretagne and checked room availability- booked one and went back to the 'Electra Palace' - packed and left. Just to cap it all the taxi driver ripped us off about 4 Euros on the very short trip to the Grande Bretagne. Like he needed to charge an extra couple of quid??!! Pleeassseeee. I'll write about the Grande Bretagne- it is a great hotel- stay there if you have a chance. The Electra Palace? Book your mother-in-law in there and stay yourselves at the Grand Bretagne. Summary on the Electra Palace- sorry- Couldn't wait to get out. It is in as much need of a total revamp and character injection as the Greek economy and political classes. Be warned.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEODOROS_9, Director of Sales at Electra Palace Hotel Athens, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Electra Palace Hotel.

As we are continually striving for excellence in all areas of operation, our customer comments are highly appreciated in helping us further enhance the quality of our services and the overall experience of our guests.

We were really concerned to read that your stay at the Electra Palace did not live up to the usual excellent standards that the majority of reviewers at TA talk about.

Kindly note that we reviewed your comments very carefully and cross-referenced with the relevant departments in order to take corrective actions, where needed.

We are sorry to hear that you did not like the location of our property. A lot of our guests consider our location one of the prime reasons to visit us, since we are located in close proximity to most major leisure and business demand generators such as Plaka (the old town of Athens), the Acropolis, the Temple of Olympian Zeus, as well as the Parliament and the Ministry of Finance.

We are also sorry to hear that the interior decoration was not to your liking. Interior decoration is always a very subjective issue; however we believe that the room photographs shown in the Photo Tour section of our website accurately represent the design, style, furniture offering and the overall aesthetics of our rooms.

Also, it is a surprise to hear that you did not enjoy the unique view of the Acropolis. Our guests are usually very eager to book similar rooms for the sole reason of enjoying the view to one of the most historic monuments in existence.

With regards to the water temperature in the shower, our director of rooms along with our mechanical engineer checked the installment upon your departure to address the issue you raised upon your check-out but did not encounter the same issue. Nonetheless, we are deeply sorry that the water temperature was not as hot as you would like.

Regarding our hotel bar, we shall inform you that our bar is not offered as a place of festivity but more like a place to enjoy a drink and unwind after a hectic day. Also, we would differ on the character issue you have touched, since our bar is one of the few hotel bars (if not the only) in the city centre with access to an outside private garden.

It was also a surprise to note your comments about our Roof Garden Restaurant. Proudly, we have an award winning restaurant with a stunning view of the Acropolis, which only a few hotels in Athens can compete with.

Please rest assured that we will most definitely attend to the points you raised. Furthermore I would like to invite you to contact me at marketing@electrahotels.gr to personally discuss any further concerns.

Kind regards,
Katsos Theodoros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just back from a long weekend in Athens and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The location is fantastic and all major sites are in walking distance. Staff in the hotel were all excellent and helped with restaurant recommendations and even sourced a birthday cake at short notice. Rooms were of a reasonable size with comfortable beds. Breakfast had an extensive selection which sets you up well for your day ahead. Would definitely stay again-

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

...but definitely not 5 stars hotel. Located in the centre of Athens near main square and Acropolis, however could be difficult to find this hotel. Room was OK except bathroom which is very small. Breakfast was good, but I was expected more fruits and vegetables. Coffee was excellent

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Excellent Hotel located centrally - all main sights well within walking distance. Very friendly and helpful staff and scrumptuos breakfasts. Rooms with a view of the Acropolis and a balcony are well worth having.

Room Tip: Rooms on Seventh Floor - Junior Suites are worth paying extra for , especially with an Acropolis Vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Electra Palace Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Hotel Athens

Address: 18-20 N Nikodimou St, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Hotel Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ELECTRA PALACE HOTEL in Athens is a five star property, centrally located in the heart of Athens and the old town of Plaka and is within walking distance from Acropolis, all major historical sites and the business and commercial districts. Recently, the Electra Palace has been completely re-constructed, refurbished, expanded and outfit with the most contemporary equipments of the 21st century. The Hotel operates with 102 Standard guest rooms, 33 Superior Acropolis view rooms, 9 Junior Suites, 10 Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. In the property, one can find the "MOTIVO" restaurant, the "ELECTRA" Roof garden restaurant, the traditional English style "DUCK-TAIL" bar with its beautiful garden, a wellness area, an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and pool bar, an underground parking and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Electra Palace Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece
Electra Palace Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Electra Palace Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.