We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Electra Palace Hotel Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Electra Palace Hotel Athens to your Saves list
Electra Palace Hotel Athens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-20 N Nikodimou St | Plaka, Athens 10557, Greece (Plaka)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Love this hotel , Good service and Spacious and very clean The location is perfect. Walking distance to about everything a tourist wants to get to quickly Almost all the historical places are nearby .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    565
    142
    49
    18
See reviews for
411
741
52
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel in a very nice location near the Acropolis. The restaurant has very good food and a great vue of Athens. The rooms are nice and clean. Very nice swimming pool also. Great choice! Have a nice time there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Thanks to the staff at the Electra Palace who made the stay so great!
Corner room was fantastic and the unseasonal February weather allowed enjoyment of the sun on the balcony. The view of the Acropolis was sublime.
The location is perfect. Walking distance to about everything a tourist wants to get to quickly, Acropolis, Agora, etc. It's close to the Metro at Syntagma square as well.
The breakfast is so perfect to keep you fueled up for the day. Many choices and it does change slightly each day. Seriously will keep you sated for the entire day. Staff was sometimes brusque, but it was quite busy.
The "gym" is tiny. There is a treadmill and bicycle. One multistation weight machine and barbells. Not a place a get a full workout, bit certainly ok to stay toned. The indoor pool is nice and the outdoor pools were beautiful, but unfortunately they weren't open for the "winter."
Did the "Fine Dining" package and had dinner at their rooftop restaurant. Surprisingly delicious and staff were extremely informative and friendly. Extensive Greek wine list gave many options.
Staff were friendly and smiling.
Only glitch is that hot water in the shower would stop occasionally.
Would easily stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is going to Athens.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I booked this hotel for one night as we were coming back to Athens from the Islands before flying back to London the following day.

I had originally booked a junior suite about 3 months in advance, but 2 days before I arrived I got an email saying the reservation had been cancelled. This was totally MY FAULT. I had given old credit card information by mistake. Due to this I had to call the reservations team to rebook (and they honoured the original room rate) and they were fantastic, very helpful, considering this was entirely my fault I was already really impressed.

When we checked in we were told we had been upgraded, but to be honest we were quite tired from the journey so we weren't really paying attention...

We arrived at the room and found out we'd been upgraded to the Presidential Suite! This had a reception foyer, guest bathroom, sitting/dining room, large bedroom with dressing area through to the main bathroom complete with a mini Turkish steam room! The real highlight was the huge terrace, complete with private swimming pool, sun loungers and outdoor sofas. We also had an uninterrupted view of the Acropolis, which was stunning at night.

Shortly after we'd arrived in the room, a member of staff slipped in to our room unnoticed (we were in the pool!) to leave a bottle of wine and a fruit platter.

In addition to the wonderful upgrade, the breakfast in the courtyard garden and all the staff were brilliant. Even without the upgrade the hotel was very plush and had a good outdoor pool and lounge areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I would like to thank the family of the hotel on your dealings wonderful and sophisticated.

The location of the hotel a wonderful place quiet and beautiful and very clean and all the requirements are available and the price is very appropriate

We spent a nice honeymoon in this beautiful hotel.

thank you Electra Palace for every thing

Abduljabbar Al Kasabi
Saudi Arabia

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have stayed at the Electra Palace Hotel 4 times - twice in 1985 before the major renovation and twice 6 years ago, both trips where for about 10 days - and all I can say when next I travel to Athens , that's where I will stay. Perfect location, everything is within walking distance, you step out the hotel door and you are in the Plaka. Dining room excellent and all staff on all of my stays where outstanding and went out of their way to assist. As for the rooftop view, either during the day or night must be one of the best in Athens, whilst having a drink or a snack by the pool. I have recommended the Electra Palace to anyone I hear is going to Athens.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room directly above the dining room, as it has tiles floor and you can hear the chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Electra Palace in December. The location can't be beat. It's easy walking distance to all antiquities, the Plaka and Syngtama Square. The hotel itself is in the grand hotel tradition so spacious lobby, elegant surroundings, nice bar and very good restaurant overlooking the parthenon. The rooms are spacious and comfortable; most have balconies. It is well worth it to ask for a room with an acropolis view. It is slightly more expensive but it is so fantastic to look out at the lit up acropolis at night from your room. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a two room suite with an acropolis view which was amazing -- our kids also had views from their rooms. On our return trip through Athens for one night we did not have a room with a view but it was still very comfortable. This hotel is much less expensive than the better known Grande Bretagne so if you are looking for a great location, nice rooms and a full range of amenities, hard to imagine better.

Room Tip: Acropolis view definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Electra Palace Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Hotel Athens

Address: 18-20 N Nikodimou St | Plaka, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Hotel Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ELECTRA PALACE HOTEL in Athens is a five star property, centrally located in the heart of Athens and the old town of Plaka and is within walking distance from Acropolis, all major historical sites and the business and commercial districts. Recently, the Electra Palace has been completely re-constructed, refurbished, expanded and outfit with the most contemporary equipments of the 21st century. The Hotel operates with 102 Standard guest rooms, 33 Superior Acropolis view rooms, 9 Junior Suites, 10 Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. In the property, one can find the "MOTIVO" restaurant, the "ELECTRA" Roof garden restaurant, the traditional English style "DUCK-TAIL" bar with its beautiful garden, a wellness area, an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and pool bar, an underground parking and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Electra Palace Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece
Electra Palace Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Electra Palace Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.