We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location & very good accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Electra Palace Hotel Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Electra Palace Hotel Athens to your Saves list
Electra Palace Hotel Athens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-20 N Nikodimou St | Plaka, Athens 10557, Greece (Plaka)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“convenient location & very good accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A friend & I stayed here for 4 nights and we had pre-booked our standard room about 6 weeks in advance. If you are traveling light, (small roller suitcase), it's very convenient to walk 10 minutes to this hotel from the Syntagma Metro station & travel to and from the airport with the least expense. Both the hotel and it's staff are very good and quite helpful. Yes, our room was rather small, but still comfortable, and the bathroom was large. The closet area had drawers, etc., as well as a safe and small fridge. Our room was on the 1st floor and looked down on the outdoor courtyard, which seemed to be very quiet. Linens and towels were first-rate. We did not have dinner at the rooftop restaurant, but the buffet breakfast every morning was excellent. Although the roof-top pool area seemed crowded at times, it was still nice to relax up there. My friend had a massage in our room from the spa personnel and she thought it was very good. My only suggestion to hotel management is that they should offer at least free internet access 24/7 down in the lobby's computer area. Otherwise, given the hotel's convenient location near the Plaka, it was a splendid choice for our 1st visit to Athens.

Room Tip: Confirm the size and location of your room prior to final booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    572
    146
    50
    19
See reviews for
421
760
52
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice and the staff friendly and efficient. The only poor aspect was breakfast which was surprisingly poor for a reasonable hotel, it was cold and congealed and let the hotel down badly. On the up side the location was central (though quiet) and the roof top restaurant was a treat for dinner because of the view.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Electra Palace hotel was a wonderful hotel to stay during our visit to Athens. The location was great next too many good restaurants, shopping, Syntagma Square, and the Acropolis. Breakfast was delicious and the roof top restaurant with the view of the Acropolis had impeccable service and amazing food. The front desk and bell men were very helpful and suggested places to visit that were unique and interesting. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a number of pros:
- its location is very good, in a quiet street. In five minutes, you are in the nice restaurants of Plaka, below the Acropolis. In 10 minutes, you are on Syntagma or on the busy shopping streets.
- the view over the Acropolis from the swimming pool and the restaurant is great
But it has also unfortunately some cons:
- the style, with fake old furnitures, will please more customers from the Middle East than westerners. The latter might find it bad taste.
- the rooms are quite small and not very convenient for the business clientele (eg on the desk, you either plug the light or your computer, but you can't do both). Wifi is not free.
I have put this mark because of the price, which is relatively cheap. Just do not expect to fall in love with the hotel...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed in a great many hotels of all types and descriptions all over the world, as has my wife who is a travel agent. Our friends with whom we traveled are also well traveled, retired executives with a discerning eye. We all agreed that Electra Palace is first rate.
The staff checked us in promptly and efficiently and put us into rooms 519 (us) and 517 (our friends) with adjoining balconies and a commanding view of the Acropolis, impressive during the day and magnificent at night when lit up. Both were very quiet, and ours had a king bed, cable with a number of English channels, large bath with modern tub, bidet, etc., a fine selection of soaps and accessories, lots of closets, safe, dryer, minibar, etc.. The room lacked nothing and was adjacent to a quite beautiful rooftop restaurant with Acropolis views. There is also a pool, spa facilities and a very nice restaurant that serves an American style buffet breakfast. Located just a few blocks from Syntagma Square, the center of tourist-oriented activities, this hotel is best in class for service, friendliness and location.
If this is your first trip to Athens, try the hop-on hop-off buses leaving Syntagma Square. The best and least crowded are run by AthensOpenTours and are yellow versus the far better known and far more crowded buses of CitySightseeing which are red. $16 Euro buys 2 days of sightseeing anwhere in Athens you'd want to go. If you want great Greek food in a classy and romantic rooftop taverna and at reasonable cost ask the concierge for directions to Taverna Sarah within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: The Acropolis view rooms are, indeed, worth it. Our friend (he) is extremely noise sensitive but sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I wanted to end our trip on a high note, and chose this hotel as it seemed more luxurious than our other 2 Athens hotels.

We ended up feeling that we were basically paying for a fancy hotel lobby. True, the lobby gives a good first impression but in no way makes up for the simple hotel room with no tea/coffee making facilities, no complimentary water, no complimentary wifi except in the lobby and breakfast area, and troublesome computers in the lobby accessed via 10-minute vouchers.

Worst of all was the service. There was the grand total of one lady at the reception who made the effort to smile and have a very brief chat with me, but the others were merely doing their jobs. As for the ‘bell boys’, perhaps the middle-aged men employed here felt we were beneath their dignity and did not once smile or greet us. One even abruptly left us to approach another party – after we had specifically asked for help! Am still wondering if he just didn’t like our looks?

The last encounter was the worst: wishing to book a cab to the airport, we asked one bell-boy for help and was told the cost would be varying dependent on the tolls. When I asked to clarify (I had read that cab fare to the airport is a fixed rate), he raised his voice and said “from THIS HOTEL, this is the taxi charge. If you don’t want it, you can walk down the road and get a taxi.” Wow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a gem of a hotel in a great spot to walk and explore the area of Plaka with loads to see and do and loads of restaurants and narrow streets to explore. Rooms, brekky and staff all great and rooftop pool has wonderful views of the Acropolis - rooftop restaurant and bar too!

Room Tip: Ask for Acropolis views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Electra Palace Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Hotel Athens

Address: 18-20 N Nikodimou St | Plaka, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Hotel Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel's elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Electra Palace Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece
Electra Palace Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Electra Palace Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.