We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the staff & the location.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Electra Palace Hotel Athens

Save Saved
You added Electra Palace Hotel Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Electra Palace Hotel Athens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-20 N Nikodimou St, Athens 10557, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 324 hotels in Athens
Glasgow, UK
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“It's all about the staff & the location.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have written reviews of this hotel previously and will always give it a very good / excellent rating because of the staff and the location.
So it is going to sound a bit nit picky when I say:
1. Why do they charge for Wifi? At over €250 per night it should be free not just in the public areas.
2. This is now about our 7th stay and it would be nice if when we arrived that the staff had some way of recognising ( their booking system) that we were repeat customers.
3. If you want some "quiet time" by the pool to soak up the view don't go between 4 - 7pm, which of course is when you want to go after a hard days sightseeing. It was chaos when I was there on Saturday at 5pm but perfectly peaceful at 10am on Sunday.
4. And finally the view of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant can only be described as awesome. Not so the meal which is described as "Fine Dining". It was more than disappointing on this visit. We had chosen the Fine Dining Menu which is essentially a limited choice menu and in no matches the experiences we have had before when eating off the a la carte menu.
The menu choice should not make a difference to the quality of the food.
If you want to explore Athens from a great base this hotel ticks most of the boxes.

Room Tip: If you can have a room with an Acropolis view it is rather special. Alos the top flow, which varies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    717
    471
    110
    44
    17
See reviews for
314
587
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This an expensive hotel in Athens but it was faultless in every way making it very good value. It is well located for sightseeing. Staff were exceptional & all spoke very good English-they couldn't have been more helpful. The lobby area has many lovely places to sit & relax or have a drink. If you want to stay in an up market hotel with a beautiful atmosphere in the middle of Athens then the Electra is the one to choose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway,Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was out first stay here at the Electra Palace Hotel and our second stay in Athens in the past 2 years. We were greeted by smiling porters and front desk staff. They answered all our questions, made us reservations.

OVERALL VALUE RATING on a 1-10 scale: 10

INCLUDED BREAKFAST: 9 -- Choices, Choices. Eggs choice (hard boiled, scrambled and sunn,y side up), fresh fruit, cereals, canned peches & pear slices, meat slices, and waffle maker. Dining area was clean and very nice with table cloths. Choice to dine inside or out. A first class breakfast. I would give it a 10 if it had a cook to order omelette station.

LOCATION TO SITES: 10. Close to everything tourist want to see. Easy walking to shops and Acropolis, etc.

SWIMMING POOLS: 2 in hotel. One in the basement level with spa and one on the roof. Roof pool is a 10 for views of the Acropolis and just chilling.

STANDARD ROOM: Very nice appointments. Bed probably give it a 7 rating.

ROOF TOP DINNER: View: 10, Service: 10, Fixed Menu reserves with room thirty five euros each: 7. Only 2 choices: Salmon or a baked cheese ground beef. Included vegetables and ice cream. All very good tasting. Excellent service. We were impressed!

CLEANLINESS OF HOTEL: 10. Very well taken care of.

NEGATIVES: Not much to complain about. Would be nice to see pillow-top mattresses. Bathroom door is clear & etched which gives little privacy if 2 or more is in the room.

FINAL: We will not hesitate returning to this hotel in the future. They treated us very professionally and took care of all details for us. I'd put this hotel at the top of your list for Plaka/Athens if staying here. MUCH better than the Parathion Hotel we stayed at last year!

Room Tip: Clean, quiet rooms, safe area, close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Old style hotel, nice small terraces with view of Acropolis (not the best side of town though for the view), charming terrace restaurant with good food. In the heated politicial climate of Athens with may aggressive taxi drivers who clearly showed us that they don't like Germans we felt safe and welcome in this hotel as family tourists. WiFi has to be paid extra as in the old days in spite of a highly priced room, only lobby has free WiFi. All other elements of our stay there were positive e.g. upon arrival, we received a complimentary bottle of good red wine and a nice selection of fruits. We also had the best and highest floor (7th).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Quiet, close to main sites, friendly staff, clean. The pool (though small and crowded at times) offers a beautiful view of the Acropolis and a refreshing break after a day of sightseeing. Wifi available in all public areas. Buffet breakfast delicious with many options. Dinner at the roof top garden was tasty but portions small, however the view of the sunset and Acropolis lit up at night is incredible and the waiters were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Compared to the price you pay at Electra Palace it is really not worth the extra they charge. There are newer and better hotels in the same area. I reserved a suite room that had a terrace and view towards Acropolis. The view is great but the terrace gives no privacy as it's joint by other rooms, just separeted with some suffering olive trees on pots. The suite had two rooms both very small and furnished with badly worn chairs, table and a sofa. TV only in "living room". Bathroom old and worn. Small swimming pool only open during high summer months was a bonus but still does not justify the prices they charge.

Room Tip: 6th floor mat have the best views but you get the same view by climbing up to the roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We checked in to the Electra Palace after leaving our ship and cruising the Black Sea. This hotel is in a good safe and convenient location. All amenities are of a high standard, our room had a small balcony overlooking the terrace. We had been upgraded to a Junior Suite. Noise was not a problem for us. WiFi wasn't an issue either, we simply used the iPad in the public spaces or on the terrace over breakfast rather than paying for service in the room. Breakfast offered a wide range of food and it was nice to be able to enjoy eating outside on the terrace. Easy walking into the Plaka , Acropolis area and many alternate restaurants. Also really easy walk into Syntagma area. A recommended stay for a good location.

Room Tip: Higher floor probably better if room is facing terrace. Don't order in room WiFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Electra Palace Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Hotel Athens

Address: 18-20 N Nikodimou St, Athens 10557, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Hotel Athens 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ELECTRA PALACE HOTEL in Athens is a five star property, centrally located in the heart of Athens and the old town of Plaka and is within walking distance from Acropolis, all major historical sites and the business and commercial districts. Recently, the Electra Palace has been completely re-constructed, refurbished, expanded and outfit with the most contemporary equipments of the 21st century. The Hotel operates with 102 Standard guest rooms, 33 Superior Acropolis view rooms, 9 Junior Suites, 10 Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. In the property, one can find the "MOTIVO" restaurant, the "ELECTRA" Roof garden restaurant, the traditional English style "DUCK-TAIL" bar with its beautiful garden, a wellness area, an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and pool bar, an underground parking and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Electra Palace Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece
Electra Palace Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Electra Palace Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.