We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can't Go Wrong With This Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Philippos Hotel to your Saves list
Philippos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Mitseon Street, Athens 11742, Greece (Thissio / Makriyanni)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% on your stay
Ranked #28 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You Can't Go Wrong With This Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at thh Philippos for two nights in June 2013 with my two children, 13 and 10. The hotel was terrific in all respects.

The location was perfect, just off the main buzz of the Acropolis area and nestled in the backstreets so there was no street noise. We felt that we were in cozy little neighborhood.

The room was perfect. It had a large balcony. It was clean and the beds were just like all the other beds in Greece, hard! But Americans are used to soft beds and this was not a problem. Even the bathroom had an Acropolis view! At night, if I left the curtain open and lay my head on the pillow I could see the Acropolis all lit up. What a way to fall asleep!

Breakfast was terrific, with the usual breads, cheeses, yogurts and excellent coffee!

Our flight was very early on the morning of departure and the wonderful staff prepared a little something early for the kids so they would not be miserable. I've never had that before.

Spiros at the front desk was the best and very helpful getting the internet going for this family who can not be unplugged!

Stay at the Philippos, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    288
    74
    22
    12
See reviews for
156
232
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is well located and very clean. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is in the center of Athens, 5 minutes walk from the Acropolis Museum, 10 from the entrance to the Acropolis, and 10-15 minutes from the Plaka, a main shopping/walking/restaurant area in Athens. The Metro is close. Our room had a balcony from which we could see the Acropolis (but not the Parthenon. The breakfast served everyday was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After much research we chosetthe Philippos as our Athens base. The research paid off and the experience far exceeded our already high expectations. The hotel is beautiful and well appointed.It is a Greek hotel and not an American hotel in Greece. The service was outstanding, the desk staff knowledgable and helpful and enthusiastic.The room was clean and the bed and bedding very comfortable. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job and were unobtrusive. The breakfaast staff was so very helpful and pleasant.. A great way to start the day. The breakfast is not to be missed! Monda, the breakfast server was so sweet and accomodating. She greeted us with a smile every morning. I am of Greek descent and could appreciate the array of homemade pasteries, thick and creamy Greek yoghurt, fresh fruits,eggs,breads,olives and freshly made loukumades (Greek doughnuts just like my Yiayia used to make) and more.Delicious coffee too! The hotel is located on a quet tree lined street just steps away from the Acropolis museum and a short walk to the metro and the Acropolis. Even though we were in the center of all the action the street and hotel were quiet. Our room had a beautiful balcony with a view of the Acropolis. We left Athens for Santorini and the hotel held some bags for us. Upon our return we stayed two more nights and once again had a lovely room and a lovely experience. It is the service and staff that makes this place. It was an incredible value too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Well located, clean, comfortable and easy to find.
I would not hesitate to book and stay again at Philippos.
The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast included Greek "loukoumades". Yummy!!
I especially liked the diversity of cultures amongst the guests of the hotel.
My only complaint would be that the pillows were a little too hard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. It is so convenient, and it is less than a five minute walk to the Acropolis Museum and a ten minute walk to the markets. It is also close to the Metro and was very easy to find. I would suggest taking one of the maps with the hotel location that is provided at the front desk, as this was useful in identifying the hotel location to a taxi driver.
The hotel rooms are very clean and have everything that you could possibly need. The business center is very convenient, and they have a printer that you can use to print out any documents. (You have to pay for the wifi, but it is very reasonably priced.) The breakfast in the morning has a wide variety of foods and drinks that are sure to satisfy any taste preferences.
One of the best parts about this hotel is the friendly staff. They were eager to help with calling taxis or giving out perfect directions. Upon check-in, I realized that I had accidentally booked a single room for two people, and the receptionist was so kind and helpful. He moved us to a larger room with no issues at all.
My only complaint is that this hotel doesn't have a swimming pool, but it was my own fault for not verifying that beforehand. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiasso, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is an hotel in a wonderful location, near the Acropolis metro station, the Acropolis Museum and in the Plaka, an historical part of the city plenty of shops and typical restaurants. Just one station from Syntagma Square.
The bedroom is clean

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very well located just behind the Acropolis museum and only walking distance to the restaurants and the Plata area.
All the main sites are within walking distance of this place.
The room was ok with a large balcony and view of the Acropolis .

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Address: 3 Mitseon Street, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#34 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#36 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philippos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.