We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zafolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Zafolia Hotel to your Saves list
Zafolia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87-89 Alexandras Avenue, Athens 11474, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #74 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Southampton UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights because it was within budget for an exhibition I was attending at the Megaron about a mile away. Clean big rooms and friendly staff - that's good enough for me.

If I had to moan I would say that the bed was a bit hard and the aircon wasn't spectacular but these are minor issues - as I was ill I suspect I wouldn't have slept well anywhere!

Room Tip: I had a rook at the front which gives you a buzz of Athens but you might find it noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    80
    28
    9
    1
See reviews for
20
48
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Been there frequently since 2000, the staff is very welcoming and supportive. Rooms are spacious and clean but try to book the ones with front view as there nothing special to see at the back. Not to miss the rooftop garden, Gym and pool especially during hot summer evenings. The view from here is great; Likavitos and Acropolis are right in front of you.
The location is perfect, a few mins by taxi to get to the center and for those who prefer walking and some help of maps, 25mins.
I recommend this hotel either for business or vacations.

Room Tip: rooms on the back are quiter but nothing to see :-) rooms on the front and lower floors are noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Booked a room here? Bring earplugs if you want to get a good night's sleep.

Not really in Kolonaki either, but further north of the area.

Was very disappointed with our experience. The staff were the only positive part of the stay.

Room Tip: If you can get a room that doesn't face the street, you might be able to avoid the noise from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Zafolia Hotel in Athens to end our two week tour of Italy and Greece. It was a beautiful, modern facility with excellent service. And the view from its rooftop garden/pool area was magnificent, especially the view of the Acropolis at night!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Zafolia hotel has beautiful rooms with nice furniture, a very nice roof garden with pool and par - ideal for a swim, for chilling out, or for a romantic dinner, and most importantly - very good and friendly service. There are areas that could be improved: the gym was very small and really outdated, and some of the rooms are a little noisy due to the avenue in front of the hotel - although there are others, by the side, that are much better! The location is very convenient - and overall Zafolia has very good quality, which might well be improved to excellent in the future!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Hotel was clean and staff was MORE than helpful. They recommended eateries, tours, and arranged airport transfers and always had a smile for us.
I was concerned about the location being away from the action, but we discovered that the sights in Athens are spread out anyway and this hotel was a short walk to the Archaeological Museum, which was a highlight in Athens. We walked all over Athens from this hotel and it always felt safe. The metro was a few blocks away in either direction.
The bartender makes a terrific capuccino and told us she made a terrific marguerita but we never had a chance to try it--next time! There is a view of the acropolis from the casual outdoor rooftop bar and pool--just spending time up there was great--towels provided.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 6th or 7th floor away from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for 14 nights on our honeymoon in Greece and received the best service of any hotel we've ever stayed at.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable; nothing was too much trouble - they went above and beyond their duties to make sure our stay was enjoyable.

Rooms were more than adequate, with full air conditioning - a must at this time of year! Roof garden has spectacular views of Lycabettus Hill and the surrounding areas; pool really refreshing and much appreciated in the heat.

We stayed under half board and the food in the restaurant was simply excellent. The chef must be complimented on his ability to make stunning and interesting dishes that not only looked good but tasted great as well.

Thank you to Mrs Zafolia and her fantastic staff for making our honeymoon one to remember. We will definitely be returning :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zafolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafolia Hotel

Address: 87-89 Alexandras Avenue, Athens 11474, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#47 Family Hotel in Athens
#55 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafolia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zafolia Hotel offers 192 guestrooms, flexibly configured to meet the diverse needs of every guest, from Executive Rooms and Suites for the busy, yet demanding business executive to Classic or Family Rooms for the everyday traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zafolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zafolia Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zafolia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.