We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent value and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Herodion Hotel to your Saves list
Herodion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 11742, Greece (Thissio / Makriyanni)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on your stay
Ranked #19 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excelent value and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and found the whole experience very enjoyable. The hotel is well set up and had all our needs on the one site. We had great breakfasts and meals and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had no trouble with communicating and they organized a pick up from the airport and our delivery to the ferry port as well as other advice to help our stay enjoyable. The location is perfect as we could walk to all the areas we need to and it is so close to the Acropolis that you can sit on the roof, in the spa if you like, and see the Acropolis and the spot lit Parthenon, at any time of the day or night. Perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Tony W

“Perfect” is an honourable adjective as perfection is what we are striving for. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor; it will be our honour to welcome you again at Herodion Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    481
    123
    30
    11
See reviews for
256
475
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Beautiful and tasteful interiors.. Very accommodating staff. Quiet location but near the Museum and Acropolis. Felt like an intimate space. Very pleased and have already recommended it to friends. We would stay here again on our next visit. Wish that we had had more time to explore the area as there is so much to see. We felt that the hotel was priced very reasonably. A small boutique feel and the view from the rooftop was wonderful although it was raining on our visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the tasteful character, intimacy, high quality and superior [in terms of opportunities] location of Herodion Hotel.

Hoping to welcome you again soon and have the chance to enjoy your stay even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here on our last day/night in Greece. We were there for our honeymoon. We arrived an hour before check-in and were told that there were no rooms available (thought we had watched several others check-in before us). We were told we could leave our luggage at the desk and check-in later. Since we had limited time, we decided to do this and asked if we could please use the wi-fi to look up what times places closed. We were informed that we would have to pay for that: 2 euros for 30 minutes and 3 euros for an hour. So we decided to wing it.

When we returned to the hotel we checked in and went up to our room. The room was okay, nothing fancy for being a 4 star hotel. Very cheap soaps in the bathrooms, only instant coffee, etc. We thought about going to the jacuzzi and called to the front desk to ask about a key. We were told that we would have to pay 5 euros in order to use it. Really??!! In a 5 star hotel where we have already payed for the stay we have to pay to use the jacuzzi??!! Needless to say we declined.

For being a four star hotel, we were not impressed by the service, place, or amenities. We would recommend looking for another hotel if you are wanting something with more of what you would expect with a four star rating!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are very sorry that your experience of a one day stay,was not a positive one, as that of others on this site, yet we thank you for sharing this with us and highlighting areas were improvement may be found. Our check-in time is at 14:00 and your acropolis view room was not ready one hour before that time, however as an early arrival we offered you a drink and free internet for the waiting time. The guests who were taking available rooms before 14:00 at that specific day had standard rooms which were already prepared.

We passionately believe that the ability to accommodate the early arrival and late departure times of our guests' travel schedules is so important and we welcome all requests from our guests for either of these requirements.

The charges that you are mentioning is general policy for the internet which is very flexible and under reevaluation in order to better meet our guests'needs. Additionally had we known that you were in your honeymoon trip, which was never mentioned by you nor your agent, we would have offered several additional services for free in order to have experienced our ideal welcome in such a unique occasion of your life. We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in late September. We had reservations at the Phillippos hotel (their sister hotel), and because of our honeymoon we were upgraded to their 4-star sister hotel around the block, the Herodion hotel.
The service was great – very helpful front desk staff who answered our many tourist questions about restaurants, walking distances to different sights, etc. They had a 24-hour check-in (we arrived around midnight after flying from the states), and even though we took a cab out around 6am to catch a ferry on our last day, they provided us with breakfast before the buffet breakfast officially began.
The location is perfect – just a few blocks from the Monastiraki metro stop, and a few minutes walk from the Acropolis and Acropolis Museum. Also about 5-10 minute walk to Plaka and just a little further to Psiri. Very central location which is why we chose to stay there. On a quiet street but nearby everything. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby as well.
Beautiful roof top bar with jacuzzi’s, overlooking the Acropolis.
The rooms were a bit small, but they had everything we needed, were very clean, quiet and we found the small room to be the case at most every hotel in Greece. If you're planning to spend a lot of time in the room, you may want to ask for one of the larger rooms (we just had the standard double room).
I would definitely recommend this hotel for the location and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are proud and happy that you trusted our hotel with such a celebration as your honeymoon; actual proof your upgrade! We are thank you for your lovely review and recommendation.

By visiting our web site one can choose among three different types of rooms, be informed of offers and travelling packages and book directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times. I really like the atmosphere of the hotel. The service level of the staff is of a very high standard. The lobby area is great if you just want to meet up with some friends or would like to have anything to eat at any time.
The breakfast is very good.
Another outstanding feature is the access to and the view from the roof terrace.
The location of the hotel is very convinient. It is walking distance to most things in central Athens. It is very close to the Akropoli metro station. You will find many restaurants and cafes in the neighbour hood.
I will be back.

Room Tip: This time I stayed on the fourth floor. My room had a big terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Your loyalty is both the biggest honour and a serious challenge for us! Such appreciation is the best support for us in our believes towards excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockburn Town, null, Turks and Caicos Islands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at the Herodion. All the staff my daughter and I met where extremely pleasant and very helpful. This hotel was also perfectly located with a 5min walk to the Plaza and acropolis. I absolutely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are very proud to have earned your recommendation. Thank you for doing us justice and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is in the best location in Athens. View of the Acropolis - magnificent.
Staff very friendly, rooms very good and clean. Breakfast - excellent. New Restaurant on roof - view magnificent and food OK.

Room Tip: Very nice hotel, friendly staff, nice breakfast, great location. Roof restaurant food could be finet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the high praise of Herodion and your positive comments for our roof top terrace/ restaurant. We certainly wish to have the chance to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centraly located the hotel is next to the Acropolis Museum and a few minutes walk to Acropolis and Plaka (The old Athens city).Comfirtable and clean rooms with modern facilities and professional service from multilingual staff. Our roof garden offers the best viw of the Acropolis and the Acropolis museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Fastbooking so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herodion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.