We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herodion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Herodion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 323 hotels in Athens
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was booked for the final night of my holiday, returning from the Greek Islands. I received a very polite, helpful and speedy response at Reception and was checked into my room within 5 minutes. I didn't at first think I'd like being on the ground floor immediately next to the bar area and was concerned about potential noise, but there was no problem with this. The corridor outside the room was carpeted, the room was well soundproofed, the bed very comfortable, and I slept well. I checked out the top floor dining option - and the view of the Acropolis is fabulous - but it was windy and cool that night, so I opted for the ground floor bar/restaurant instead where the menu choice was more limited but it was fine. There was only one person operating the bar service and taking the food orders at the dining tables, so this wasn't as speedy as you would expect, and after I'd been sitting in the bar area waiting to be acknowledged for a while I got up and went to the bar and requested service which was immediately provided. The staff at Reception, in the bar, and in the Breakfast Room were exceptionally polite, and overall the service was very good indeed. The bedroom and ensuite bathroom were spotlessly clean. The location was close to a central Metro stop and immediately next to the Acropolils Museum which was open until 8pm on Sunday night meaning that you could arrive on a ferry at 4pm, take the metro into Athens, and still have time to visit this amazing Museum. I would recommend The Herodion to felllow travellers looking for a smart hotel close to the Acropolis, with a spectacular rooftop view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    367
    97
    27
    9
See reviews for
190
330
60
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 non-consecutive nights in the first half of September. What we really like about the place is its location - it is almost next door to the new Acropolis Museum, and within walking distance to the Acropolis and the neighbourhood of Plaka. The hotel staff were also very friendly and helpful, and even accommodated our request for an early breakfast so that we could catch the morning ferry. And while we did not really sit down in the roof garden, we thought that it would be a good place to go to at night, since it had a great view of the acropolis. That said, we do have to mention that the rooms were a bit dated, and could be quite cram if you have huge luggages.

Room Tip: Do try to get a room on the higher floor that has a view of the acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Herodion team is happy for making your days in Athens enjoyable! We are looking forward to having you back with us soon.

This been said, do not hesitate to book through our website were you may choose the room that most suits your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for five nights early July. The hotel is in a great location close to the Acropolis, the new museum and Plaka. We had a room with a view of the Pathenon, which looked amazing when it was illuminated in the night. The room was a little dated and in need of some refurbishment , however it was clean and the bathroom was spacious and well equipped. Unfortunatley, we had a room with an inter connecting door to another room and one afternoon when we were in the room the inter connecting door flew open, we called reception and they advised could not explain why this had occurred and they locked the door. This left us a bit shaken as we wondered what would have happened if we had not been in the room at the time. In the hotels defence they did offer to move us to another room, however having only two more nights at the hotel, we decided to stay in the same room. We had dinner in the roof top restaurant on one night and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The buffet breakfast had a huge variety, including freshly squeezed orange juice, pastries, coffees, teas, cheeses, fruits, breads yogurt and a good range of cooked dishes. The waiter and waitress in the breakfast room, were extremely polite and friendly and no request was to much trouble, it was always a pleasure to have breakfast. Unfortunately could not say the same for the gentlemen on reception, they were not forthcoming with any assistance or advise and one in particular was outright rude. I'm not sure if we would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
It is our pleasure that you enjoyed the location, the view, the cleanliness of our hotel. We took note of your comment about the ambiance of your room, yet please note that most of our rooms are recently renovated – however there might always be room for some improvement. Concerning the rare incident of the connecting door we apologize and thank you for pointing out the efficiency of our front desk team when addressing the issue.

We will gladly pass on to our “dinning-room” team your enthusiasm about the breakfast hour, yet as far as our front-desk team is concerned I have to underline that in respect to being assistive and forthcoming, they get high marks straight through from almost all our visiting clients, yet we will investigate further.

On our side we would be glad to welcome you again at Herodion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my husband at the outset of our 9-day Greece honeymoon. Arriving from the airport (taxi price fixed at €35 day/€50 night from Athens airport to anywhere in the city), we were greeted right away by friendly staff. We were checked into our room right away - the king size bed is a good size by North American standards. The decor and furnishings are a little dated however. The hotel is located right next to the New Acropolis Museum and within a 5-10 minute walking distance to the Acropolis area which was very convenient for us given that we were only in Athens for one and a half days. Rooftop restaurant/lounge offers an amazing view of the Acropolis, esp. at night when it is lit up. We recommend the chocolate soufflé for dessert. There are a couple of very reasonably priced family-run restaurants a few mins walking distance that we quite enjoyed -"To Kati Anno" and "Smile Cafe" - a huge plate of chicken gyros, fries, pita, salad, tzatiki for only €3.50! Given the only "complaint" I had were the dated decor and furnishings in the rooms, I would give this hotel a 4.5/5 given its location, service and rooftop patio. Taxi from hotel to Athens airport is €38 fixed (day).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A real pleasure to stay at the Herodion (Sept 2013). Very comfortable, well-equipped hotel. Friendly, helpful staff - not plastic smiles, but genuinely friendly, made us feel very welcome. Roof bar/restaurant is a perfect setting for an evening drink, looking up at the Parthenon. 5 mins walk into the Plaka restaurant area, with lots of choices. Sad to leave, will definitely return.
Only downside - WHY must you charge for WiFi access? limited time free in the roof bar, but otherwise 5 Euros for 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We certainly wish to welcoming you again soon with “genuine friendliness” and “comfortable accommodations”.

Thank you for sharing the impressions of your stay with the rest of the Trip Advisor traveling community. As for your comments regarding wi-fi, let me invite you to stay in touch via our web page or the face book, so as to be informed of our packages and offers including free of charge fully operating internet.

Hope of having the pleasure of seeing you again when traveling to Athens, take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Earlier this month my husband and I spent 2 nights at the Herodion Hotel. The location couldn't be better. It's within easy walking distance of the Acropolis and many excellent restaurants are nearby. The rooftop bar has a wonderful view of the Acropolis. Breakfast was included in the room charge and was very good with lots of choices. The room itself was adequate and the bed comfortable.

We did encounter a couple problems but I feel they were not ones that would recur. First, transportation was supposed to be provided by the hotel and we were to be picked up at the airport. After waiting for almost an hour with no car arriving, we called the hotel and they said to take a taxi. We asked who was paying for it since it was to be included in fees previously paid, and they quickly sent a car. Then we were told our room would be ready in an hour and it took 2 1/2 hours. Annoying issues but probably one time occurrences.

In summary, this is a very nice hotel in an excellent location, and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying a little extra, ask for an Acropolis view. Otherwise, just go to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your just description of many of our hotel’s offers and advantages. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you have enjoyed our team’s friendly and problem-solving attitude.

It is true that mishaps occur and it is our aim to try and solve them as efficiently as possible. Let me apologize to you once again for the delayed arrival of your airport transportation, yet I sincerely hope that we made it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great location,walking distance to Acropolis, great dining nearby. Views from rooftop breathtaking.
Very friendly staff. Metro 5 mins from front door. Highly recommended. Centrally located to centre of Athens.

Room Tip: All room are similar front room provide a limited view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your high recommendation of our Hotel and the Spartan –to-the-point description of its merits.
We urge you to visit our site for full information and description of our three different types of rooms, one of which has Acropolis view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#17 Business Hotel in Athens
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#18 Spa Hotel in Athens
#20 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centraly located the hotel is next to the Acropolis Museum and a few minutes walk to Acropolis and Plaka (The old Athens city).Comfirtable and clean rooms with modern facilities and professional service from multilingual staff. Our roof garden offers the best viw of the Acropolis and the Acropolis museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herodion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.