We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and rooftop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Herodion Hotel to your Saves list
Herodion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 11742, Greece (Thissio / Makriyanni)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% on your stay
Ranked #18 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Staff and rooftop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were in athens for a few days and chose this hotel based on location. The lobby is lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The view of the acropolis from the rooftop restaurant is fantastic. The food in the restaurant is also fabulous. Veal and kebab recommended! However, the room had a bit of an old dingy feel about it. The soundproofing between rooms is not the best and the room is tiny. Hairdryer provided is what can only be described as a vacuum cleaner hose coming out of the wall. Takes me about half an hour to dry my hair but I had to keep taking intervals as I was scared I was going to blow the thing up. That and it was burning my hand. I had never come across one of these before but i am now in italy and this hotel has the same thing, so ladies, do not forget all essential hair appliances (even if you are told you are not allowed to use them). All in all a tad disappointed but I do not holiday for the hotel I do it for the location, a nice hotel just helps. Also, good wifi but it costs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Herodion and for sharing your feedback with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed the location, the views from the roof top restaurant, as well as the services offered from our staff.

We are interested for your personal view about the room acoustics since we have installed a contemporary French wall to wall system of specialized fabric soundproof material applied in different layers for acoustic correction , comfort and ambient soundproofing. Our repeating guests usually comment for the sleep quality and privacy they feel in our rooms.

I was disappointed and saddened to hear that your room was not as you expected it. Immediately after I read your review I went to this room with our maintenance personnel and we investigated the issues raised in your review. In our rooms we carefully apply strict hygienic standards. The hairdriers in our bathrooms are classic hotel equipment used in all professional establishments throughout Europe. As a follow up to this review, we are well prepared to take care of your request in your next visit, as we have extra home hairdriers available to our guests.

We would love the opportunity to remedy your impression for this technical issue and would give us the chance to have you back in our hotel soon. Please stay in touch via Facebook so we can offer you our best rates and packages for your next stay including a free of charge fully operating internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    487
    124
    30
    11
See reviews for
260
478
80
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location close to the metro and Acropolis and Temple of Zeus sites. Lots of restaurants in a slightly touristy area nearby. The rooftop restaurant, while being expensive, was great for our first night as we didn't arrive until after 10pm but they serve until 11pm. Breakfast had lots of options from scrambled and fried eggs and bacon to cereals and yoghurt. Only issue was the €5 a day for Internet and €5 to use the jacuzzi. The only mention of this came in the in-room folder, and while we paid the €5 we were joined by quite a few people who didn't pay. For that money you get your towels and 15 minutes of bubbles. I think the use of such facilities, if available, should be free. Also, found the staff to be a but rude. We had an early check out and apart from asking if we had used the minibar, there was no question of whether we enjoyed our stay etc

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Herodion Hotel on Tripadvisor. Any kind of feedback is always gratefully received, as it assists us in monitoring the service we provide and helps us seek to find improvement wherever necessary. Considering our pricing, we constantly encourage our guests to check our packages and offers from our site where several amenities and services, such as the internet and/or jaccuzi are free.

Secondly, we appreciate your visit to our rooftop restaurant and we would like to inform you that the price list of the rooftop menu has been carefully analyzed and planned according to costs and competition prices aiming to be affordable for guests of three and four star hotels in Athens.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused during your check out and be assured that I have taken on board your service comments and preferences and have reviewed each point with my team, looking to find any experience improvements wherever possible.
Thank you for sharing this with us and highlighting areas where improvement may be found.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

stayed 2 nights when visit Athens. Very good location to Acropolis and hop-on off tour bus. Room is small, old and AC is not strong enough in summer when temperature is over 90. Very friendly staff. I like the restaurant and service is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ended our tour of Greece at this hotel and while the lobby area was extremely beautiful, the rooms were filthy, with a foul odor coming from the carpet. I am assuming this was from years of allowing smokers to smoke in rooms, but there was also a faint smell of mildew. What I really didn't care for was the attitude of the evening staff AND that I was charged $5 a day for internet service. The cheapest hotels offer free wi-fi and I was shocked to find I had to pay this. Breakfast, which was included was not good, also a filthy environment. Overall, not a great experience I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Since it is a very rare incident to receive such a review, we checked thoroughly and we found no evidence, given the limited information provided to us, of your stay in our hotel. It will be very helpful if you could give us more information so we can truly understand your disappointment and anger.
More than 20 years we pride ourselves as a family run 4 star hotel in providing excellent hospitality and the highest level of kind, earnest customer service from a knowledgable and friendly staff. Hearing otherwise especially on issues as cleanliness and hygienic standards gives an opportunity to investigate the accuracy of your statement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Indeed, our first stay at the Herodion, in August 1998 (15 years ago !) was due to a sort of error. Our booking was for the hotel Philippos but the reception desk had a problem and was so sorry to move us to the Herodion. So sorry for us ? It was the luckiest thing which happened to us ! Since then we keep staying at the Herodion when we come to Athens, i.e. every summer. We love it and, every summer, the Herodion becomes the meeting point with my greek family. It is great. Thank you for this wonderful opportunity.

We have more to say: since then, the heavy traffic road up the street became the beautiful pedestrian area you enjoy now and.... the Acropolis museum has been built across the street !

And now, during our last stay on June 29th/July 4th, we discovered the new restaurant service on the roof !

Aren't we lucky ?
Marina Troyanov, Geneva

Room Tip: Ask for Acropolis view. The extra charge is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We cannot thank our loyal guests, becoming reviewers like yourself, enough. It is such a pleasure to read how our evolving effort for service quality and amenities, these past 15 years, may have helped make your trips to Athens a tiny bit more enjoyable and memorable for you and your family. Our team is going to love reading your comments about their service and can't wait to welcome you back. Your summer Athenian residence will be expecting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We chose the Herodion Hotel thanks to the reviews in Trip Advisor and the experience was great overall since we got out of the taxi. The service was excellent at all times and the location was perfect, just a walk from the Acropolis. It has a restaurant in the roof with an amazing view of the Acropolis. Shops and restaurants are close as well as the new acropolis museum. I recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a convenient location if you want to visit the Acropolis and its surrounding attractions! the hotel is first, around the corner from the metro station which makes for very easy travel from the airport. We simply bought a metro ticket at the airport for 8 euros each and took about 35 min. To reach the Acropolis station; then within a very short and pleasant walk, we reached the Herodion.

The complimentary breakfast is delicious with an array of traditional Greek sweets and North American standards. The service is unparalleled. the hotel staff go beyond their call of duty to ensure they meet all your needs: from planning your excursions (many that pick you up from the hotel), to booking exciting cruises and flights to islands and offering their local expertise when it comes to directing you in safe walking areas.

Very clean room, comfortable bed and a rooftop view of the Acropolis that will leave you breathless, especially at night time as it is all illuminated.

If we get to return, this will definitely be a place where we will return!

Room Tip: There is not a swimming pool, only a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for recommending Herodion and for your marvelous review on TripAdvisor! Thank you for your wonderfully informative description, we will do our very best to keep earning such wonderful reviews. We are especially pleased that our team had an impact on your stay and will share your kind comments with them! We appreciate you taking the time to share! We can't wait to welcome you back in Athens in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centraly located the hotel is next to the Acropolis Museum and a few minutes walk to Acropolis and Plaka (The old Athens city).Comfirtable and clean rooms with modern facilities and professional service from multilingual staff. Our roof garden offers the best viw of the Acropolis and the Acropolis museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herodion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.