We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bronx side of europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Hotel

Save Saved
You added Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Soho Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Menandrou 25, Athens 10552, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 325 hotels in Athens
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“bronx side of europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

soho was located in athens very strategic location. just minutes away from the city center, all the tourist sites, great restaurants, hip bars, mini market and all the best things you could find in athens. the room was clean, we got fresh towels, it has tv, big bathroom, free coffee/tea, just great!!!

Room Tip: just choose any room :D they have wife in every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    31
    10
    13
See reviews for
11
23
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA Hamlet
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Soho Hotel Athens, It is not one of the worst hotels we have stayed, but THE worst.

The rooms are not clean, or cleaned for that matter, we had to ask for new toilet paper and towels, not to mention clean sheets. They offer free coffee and tea, try it at your own risk.

True, there are many police officers is the area, but only because there are crime, illegal immigrants which are rounded up during the day next to the hotels entrance, and a general feeling of uneasy-ness in the area.

Do yourself a favour and pay a liitle extra for someplace better.

Athens backpackers en studios springs to mind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Bremen, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great price and the hotel staff are extremely helpful and polite. The hotel is only a few steps from the Omonia station, which is susposed to be an unsafe area. But it's a safe hotel in an unsafe area. You don't need to worry about the safety so much because the police are always arround.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum and sister during our trip to Athens. The hotel is on a back street only 5 min from the flea market and main tourist area. We felt safe and secure during our stay as the police depot is in the next building and there was always police around. The service was great with free tea and coffee all day and night. The area looks rougher than it is we never got botherd once. Hotel is just down the street from Omonia station so very handy metro links. Will be staying again hopefully in the near future

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Let's put it straight: the major drawback for most hotels in Omonia area is about safety. Or that's what people say. Keeping that in mind, we spent 4 nights there, and I was careful with not showing off much valuable and keeping my knife in the pocket.
The fact is: except for some deep looks from a few Indian guys (it's in their nature, can't be helped!), we were not bothered ONCE, even coming back after 12pm.
Police was there from morning till 10pm (see photos), lining up immigrants all day next to the hotel, to find the illegal ones. Not one prostitute seen at night, although drug addicts are not rare. The neighbourhood is not shiny, but the streets are clean of rubbish.
With free coffee, large sitting/eating common area, and two laptops available to use, this was one of the best quality/price hotels we got in Greece. We even got a discount at 20 euros/night for staying 3 days in a row. Staff is polite, some of them friendly and always available. Room cleanness was not top-notch, but bed sheets were clean. Rooms were large, with fridge, bathtub and balcony. Will go back.

Room Tip: Ask a room that doesn't face the street side. They are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Yes, it's basic hotel, area is not so nice, but price vs quality is good. We had air-condition and shower cabin with washbasin in the room. Shared WC on the floor. Free Wi-Fi in all building and free tea and coffee on the reception. Also on reception you can find information about tours or how to get on your own to some places. I think, it's hotel for backpackers and young people, who want save some money and see Athens. Will be there again. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After reading reviews I felt afraid that staying at Soho could be dangerous - not at all.
Facts are the following: neighborhood is not really good, but in the same building there is a police station or something (a lot of policemen all the time), I would not recommend to walk in the night, but during daytime everything was ok. Rooms are simple, but shared bathroom was clean and good. The real advantage is the lobby on the 1 floor, where anytime one can drink free coffee and tea. Staff was helpful, no cleaning the room during the stay.

Therefore, do not expect much, but price is low, beds are comfortable, wifi works. What else for several nights stay?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: Menandrou 25, Athens 10552, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 325 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Soho Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.