We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE THERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mono Restaurant

Mono Restaurant
Mpenizelou Palaiologou AC | Plaka, Athens, Greece
(+30) 210-322-6711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,823 restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Mytilene, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BE THERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The food is outstanding in presentation and taste. The service is attentive and prompt. The menu is interesting and pleasing. One of our favorite places to eat in Athens!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    134
    41
    5
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mono Restaurant - Magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

During a visit to Athens this past September, while vacationing with family and friends, we had the pleasure of enjoying an amazing lunch at Mono. Tucked away on a very quaint street, we were spoiled with very friendly and hospitable staff and ownership. We were all very impressed with food quality, scrumptious taste, presentation and attention to detail. Very glowing, yes, but well deserved. I personally strayed from tradition and was tempted and challenged to try the Watermelon Risotto. Two of my favorite foods but together? Amazing is all I can say. This is a must stop for lunch and/or dinner. Cheers!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Great food and great staff. Everything we have ordered there has been beyond great. The atmosphere was great. We can't wait to go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely time at Mono last night with incredible food and excellent service. We shared the mussels (in a bacon toffee broth -- I wanted to lick the bowl) and "forest" a selection of various mushrooms in a balsamic reduction, beautifully done! For our mains I had the pork neck glazed with a beer honey sauce and topped with caramelized onions. On the side was a sage mash, both were delicious, so well thought out because the favors complimented each other well. My husband had the beef cheeks which were remarkable tender and equally delicious. To finish the night off we shared the fondant served with pistachio ice cream - worth every calorie. We will be returning soon because there were so meany other items on the menu we want to try.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peristeri, Greece
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great and great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The atmosphere is cozy. Went there twice with my mother and my 6 months old daughter. Both of those experiences was excellent even though the menu is changing (I found out later they are changing the menu seasonally). Seafood and meat tartar are very tasty as well as beef steak and the risotto (I tried watermelon risotto). The dessert completed the enjoyable meal. In summary, it was great and great. Recommended to try if you are in Athens.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mono Restaurant also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Mono Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mono Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.