We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 324 hotels in Athens
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reviews and the location. We wanted something boutique and close to the Acropolis and nearby sites as we had only a full day before leaving on our cruise. The Acropolis gate was perfect! A good size, comfortable clean room, breakfast included, and the restaurant on the roof of the hotel has great food and an even better view. The staff was amazing! Very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The perfect location for seeing the sites and there are good local restaurants for lunch and dinner without having to take a cab. We didn't get to much other than the new Acropolis Museum and some sites nearby but I want to go back to Athens and stay longer and I would consider the Athens Gate again. It is not fancy or big, but it is comfortable, clean and a good bargain in a good location for touring and the staff is great.

Room Tip: If you are light sleepers, ask for a room on a higher floor on the quiet side, not facing the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,241
    748
    123
    20
    10
See reviews for
288
1289
96
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnie Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nothing but good words for this hotel....
Friendly efficient staff...nice bedroom and bathroom.
Traffic noise can be problem... try for room at rear.
The roof-top bar/restaurant is fabulous...breakfast there was a treat.
The location is second to none...with stunning views of the Acropolis...and the Temple of Zeus.
We would recommend this hotel and next time we're in Athens...we shall return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the end of October. Perfect location next to the Plaka old town if you are on a quick visit and want to do the tourist stuff. The staff were friendly and professional. The room was clean and modern, not 5* luxury but perfectly decent. To note, a personal bugbear, they charge a lot for internet access unless in the lobby where it's free. If you pay the OTT amount for access it is not a great connection. I personally would rather hotels put an extra 10 Euros on the room cost and told me I had free WIFI. I can't remember what we paid but it was over 20 Euros each for 24 hours for high-speed access which really riles me.

The view from the rooftops was great as promised. Breakfast was chaos. Everyone arriving at once, too few staff trying their hardest to turn around the tables and re-lay. Breakfast food basis but okay. We didn't eat there in the evenings as it seemed expensive and the ads we saw in the lift were for pasta when we wanted to grab as many Greek food opportunities as we could.

I would recommend the hotel but would recommend to them that they sort the internet thing. It's a rip off that leaves a bad taste when otherwise we had a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I moved to this hotel after a bad experience at the Royal Olympic...... my only regret was that I didn't book here originally.
I could not fault anything about this hotel. Dave the manager is fantastic and makes sure you want for nothing and your stay is the best possible.
Food at the roof top restaurant is superb... I actually called the chef over to thank him.... have the steak!!!
The view from here surpasses anywhere else in Athens, really something.
The rooms are beautiful, cleanliness is tops and everything there that you may need.
What more can I say... I shall definately be booking for my next stay and can't wait.
Thank you Dave & all your lovely staff .... see you again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and although not a pool in hotel there is one close that is available for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited Athens in November with my wife and enjoyed both the city and this hotel. Had one of the small budget rooms but got if for for less than 200€ for two nights (in total) which I thought was a good price.
The breakfast is really good and the view from the restaurant is spectacular.
The Acropolis and the old part of the city is very close by.
Only downside - lived at the third floor and experienced a little traffic noice.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible to avoid traffic noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sep 13, the hotel is on a busy road but ask for a room at the back. Fantastic location, easy walking distance to the Paka area and Acropolis, and the best rooftop bar in Athens. The staff are extremely helpful in places to see and will explain and teach you any Greek words to help your stay. Just ask them - a little effort from a visitor and respect for their culture is greatly appreciated and goes a very long way.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Only stayed one night on the return trip - but I loved this hotel. Super great roof - lovely view of the Parthenon - and it's fairly private. A great place to have a cocktail with your love pal. Really close to the Acropolis Museum (a must see), and the ruins themselves. Ask for a quiet room - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens, exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Athens Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.