We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...Great Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 324 Hotels in Athens
Bonnie Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel...Great Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nothing but good words for this hotel....
Friendly efficient staff...nice bedroom and bathroom.
Traffic noise can be problem... try for room at rear.
The roof-top bar/restaurant is fabulous...breakfast there was a treat.
The location is second to none...with stunning views of the Acropolis...and the Temple of Zeus.
We would recommend this hotel and next time we're in Athens...we shall return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    800
    131
    21
    11
See reviews for
309
1353
102
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the end of October. Perfect location next to the Plaka old town if you are on a quick visit and want to do the tourist stuff. The staff were friendly and professional. The room was clean and modern, not 5* luxury but perfectly decent. To note, a personal bugbear, they charge a lot for internet access unless in the lobby where it's free. If you pay the OTT amount for access it is not a great connection. I personally would rather hotels put an extra 10 Euros on the room cost and told me I had free WIFI. I can't remember what we paid but it was over 20 Euros each for 24 hours for high-speed access which really riles me.

The view from the rooftops was great as promised. Breakfast was chaos. Everyone arriving at once, too few staff trying their hardest to turn around the tables and re-lay. Breakfast food basis but okay. We didn't eat there in the evenings as it seemed expensive and the ads we saw in the lift were for pasta when we wanted to grab as many Greek food opportunities as we could.

I would recommend the hotel but would recommend to them that they sort the internet thing. It's a rip off that leaves a bad taste when otherwise we had a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I moved to this hotel after a bad experience at the Royal Olympic...... my only regret was that I didn't book here originally.
I could not fault anything about this hotel. Dave the manager is fantastic and makes sure you want for nothing and your stay is the best possible.
Food at the roof top restaurant is superb... I actually called the chef over to thank him.... have the steak!!!
The view from here surpasses anywhere else in Athens, really something.
The rooms are beautiful, cleanliness is tops and everything there that you may need.
What more can I say... I shall definately be booking for my next stay and can't wait.
Thank you Dave & all your lovely staff .... see you again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and although not a pool in hotel there is one close that is available for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited Athens in November with my wife and enjoyed both the city and this hotel. Had one of the small budget rooms but got if for for less than 200€ for two nights (in total) which I thought was a good price.
The breakfast is really good and the view from the restaurant is spectacular.
The Acropolis and the old part of the city is very close by.
Only downside - lived at the third floor and experienced a little traffic noice.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible to avoid traffic noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sep 13, the hotel is on a busy road but ask for a room at the back. Fantastic location, easy walking distance to the Paka area and Acropolis, and the best rooftop bar in Athens. The staff are extremely helpful in places to see and will explain and teach you any Greek words to help your stay. Just ask them - a little effort from a visitor and respect for their culture is greatly appreciated and goes a very long way.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Only stayed one night on the return trip - but I loved this hotel. Super great roof - lovely view of the Parthenon - and it's fairly private. A great place to have a cocktail with your love pal. Really close to the Acropolis Museum (a must see), and the ruins themselves. Ask for a quiet room - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The athens gate hotel is in a terrific location and allows easy access to all tourist spots. However, it is very important that you pick which side of the hotel you want you bedrooms to because it makes all the difference as to whether you will get any sleep. In terms of the quality of service it was a terrific hotel with great staff. The owners do need to get out of the medieval ages and stop charging for internet access.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Spa Hotel in Athens
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens, exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Athens Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.