We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last night of trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece (Thissio / Makriyanni)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 330 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last night of trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The athens gate hotel is in a terrific location and allows easy access to all tourist spots. However, it is very important that you pick which side of the hotel you want you bedrooms to because it makes all the difference as to whether you will get any sleep. In terms of the quality of service it was a terrific hotel with great staff. The owners do need to get out of the medieval ages and stop charging for internet access.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the end of our trip. The location, near the Acropolis Museum, is excellent! It was easy to walk anywhere in the old town from here. The rooms were clean and modern and comfortable, and we even had a great view of the Acropolis from our window/balcony. The staff was great, and breakfasts were good. Only downside: in-room internet was crazy expensive. You could use it for free in the upstairs restaurant, but that was inconvenient (and often slow or not working; it seems like maybe they turn it off during breakfast).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MogulManX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I haven't stayed here yet, but will definitely write a review after we get back. I wanted to let people know about their amazing help with pre-arrival stuff. We asked for directions from the metro station via email, and within 24 hours had a response in perfect English. Additionally, they let me know about the transfer they have which only costs 45euro from the airport to the hotel - you can pay directly with the hotel when you check in via credit card and the driver waits for you in the arrivals hall. Considering I've heard about how ripped off one can get by the taxi drivers in Athens, I was happy to hear about an adequately priced transfer option with the hotel. We booked it! Every time I have emailed them, they respond within 24 hours and that is something I love! We looked forward to staying there and I will be sure to give a review when we get back from our stay! -Rachael

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a group of 6 friends for 5 nights during the 2013 Athens Classic Marathon.

The location is excellent, close to metro and tram lines. Within 100m of the new Acropolis museum, Temple of Zues and other attractions. One caution on the location, the map on the hotel's website shows the correct location of the hotel, but when I visited, google maps had the hotel location about 6 blocks southwest of the correct location. The hotel is directly across the street from the Temple of Zues.

The rooftop bar and restaurant have fantastic views of the Acropolis and the Temple of Zues. In fact I'd say the view of the Acropolis is better even than the Acropolis museum. The breakfast buffet is good (better than most hotels), but the food I tried in the restaurant at other times is only average and quite expensive (as it tends to be in most hotels). Enjoy the views at breakfast or for drinks and snacks in the evenings but take your lunch and dinner somewhere else.

The rooms are a very good size for European hotels, including balconies. Bathrooms are spacious by European standards. My room had only a shower (which was fine for me) but other rooms had bathtubs. The housekeeping service was very efficient and thorough. Wifi was free in the lobby or in the restaurant but available for an extra charge in the rooms.

The friendliness of the staff is a major asset for this hotel, from the doorman to the reception staff to the servers in the restaurant to the housekeepers, everyone we encountered was professional, friendly and helpful. Really couldn't expect better service than we received here.

All in all, I have no trouble recommending this hotel to others and would stay here again on another trip to Athens.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side have views of the Acropolis, rooms on the South side have views of the Templ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Athens Gate one night after finishing our cruise in Athens. This was the best hotel we stayed in on our Europe Trip. We arrived too early to check in, but they happily held our luggage while we went sightseeing for the day.

It is a very modern and chic hotel, and very clean, which is a must for us when we travel. Our room had a great view of the Temple of Zeus as well. The bed was very comfortable.

Location-wise...it's very close to the main sites in Athens: Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Parthenon, Agora, Parliament Building, and Olympic Stadium.

The rooftop restaurant had a great balcony for pictures of the Acropolis. Make sure you go up there.

Hotel staff is awesome as very hospitable. Nice lounge area with couches and free wifi.

If you are arriving from the cruise port, caution! Taxis are expensive in Athens. Negotiate for a 20€ fare from Piraeus Port to the hotel. Don't pay a metered taxi. If you have trouble, consult with a Port Police Officer, and they will ensure you don't get ripped off.

You can take a train or bus from Piraeus too but we decided on a taxi because we've been on so many trains and buses already.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolinashorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just back from a 4 day stay at this lovely hotel. Great position, excellent quality food and very helpful staff. We were in room 707 - an executive room - all of which are on the floor below the roof-top restaurant. You have to be prepared there is some noise from scraping chairs - but this was less so than I expected from previous reviews. However, this room is directly below the restaurant kitchen and waitress station - so there is more noise. We had an issue with the kitchen door scuffing the floor all the time - and they start setting up breakfast at 5.30a.m. which was the noisiest time for the door and all the prep for the self-service breakfast at the waitress station!!! The measure of a good hotel is not the problem you have, but how they deal with it. Having brought the noisy early set up and the scuffing door to the attention of their staff - they sorted it out quickly. Costos was a star - although he works on the front door he made a temporary adjustment to the kitchen door by putting olive oil on it, and checked it whenever he was on duty to make sure it still worked okay. The hotel is in an excellent position and the views from our room and the roof top restaurant are unparallelled - I think. We had a rainy day and spent a few hours over an excellent lunch - would recommend anyone to have the cheese or meat/cheese platters. More than enough for two, unlimited bread served, excellent presentation and extremely enjoyable. No hesitation in recommending hotel but if you want view of Acropolis in executive room - perhaps try for room 708. Not interested in WiFi while I'm away, so no comments there. Will be back!!!

Room Tip: Go for Acropolis view as preference - quieter side of hotel. Executive rooms - suggest try for 708 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockdocUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

To see the sights of Athens, you cannot beat the location of this hotel. Everything is walkable, and the on off bus stop is very close. Breakfasts were good and the view from the rooftop is amazing. Had to pay daily for WIFI in the room which was not ideal. Hotel staff were very helpful with directions and dinner reservations.

Biggest drawback was the NOISE from the street. No joke...sounded like were we in the stands of the Indy 500 and we were on the 5th floor. Not a fault of the hotel, and we were in a major city, but just lots of really noisy motorcycles constantly passing at all hours on the busy street on the front of the hotel. Really hard to keep the balcony door open to sleep or just to relax after a long day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Konatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,476 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 330 in Athens
5.0 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Hotel - Athens
Syntagma
Amalia Hotel
Amalia Hotel
#14 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and EasyToBook so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing